Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagayama (JP 2000074327 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nagayama teaches a gas-air mixing structure (the assembly of FIG. 11), comprising an external supporting structure (FIG. 11, furnace 2) arranged in a housing (FIG. 11, the housing of the furnace 2) and a gas array pipe (FIG. 11, the gas injection assembly, further detailed in FIG. 7) connected thereto, wherein an air inlet (FIG. 11, the air inlet on the left side of the assembly) is connected to one end of the housing (FIG. 11, the left end of the housing of the furnace 2), a gas mixing channel (FIG. 11, the area of the furnace 2 surrounding the gas injection assembly) is arranged between the gas array pipe and a mixed gas outlet (FIG. 11, the point at which the mixed gas enters the pre-mix burner 5), the gas array pipe comprises a plurality of gas pipes (FIG. 7, gas pipes 11) arranged in an array manner (FIG. 7, the gas pipes 11 are arranged as an array), each of the plurality of gas pipes is provided with gas inlets (FIG. 7, the points where the gas header 19 contacts and leads to the gas pipes 11) and a plurality of gas output holes (FIG. 7, gas injection ports 14), and the plurality of gas output holes are provided on the leeward surface of each of the plurality of gas pipes (FIG. 11, the gas exits the gas pipes 11 in a leeward direction).
Regarding claim 2, Nagayama teaches that the plurality of gas output holes are provided on the leeward surface of each of the plurality of gas pipes (see above), and each of the plurality of gas output holes is circular hole or slit (FIG. 7, the ports 14 are circular).
Regarding claim 5, Nagayama teaches that at least one row of gas pipes arranged in an array manner is arranged (FIG. 7, the gas pipes 11 are arranged in a row).
Regarding claim 6, Nagayama teaches a gas-air mixing structure (the assembly of FIG. 11), comprising an external supporting structure (FIG. 11, furnace 2) arranged in a housing (FIG. 11, the housing of the furnace 2) and a gas array pipe (FIG. 11, the gas injection assembly, further detailed in FIG. 1) connected thereto, wherein an air inlet (FIG. 11, the air inlet on the left side of the assembly) is connected to one end of the housing (FIG. 11, the left end of the housing of the furnace 2), a gas mixing channel (FIG. 11, the area of the furnace 2 surrounding the gas injection assembly) is arranged between the gas array pipe and a mixed gas outlet (FIG. 11, the point at which the mixed gas enters the pre-mix burner 5), the gas array pipe comprises a plurality of gas pipes (FIG. 1, gas pipes 11) arranged in an array manner (FIG. 1, the gas pipes 11 are arranged as an array), each of the plurality of gas pipes is provided with gas inlets (FIG. 1, the points where the points where gas enters the gas pipes 11) and a plurality of gas output holes (FIG. 1, gas injection ports 13), and the plurality of gas output holes are provided on the leeward surface of each of the plurality of gas pipes (FIG. 11, the gas exits the gas pipes 11 in a leeward direction), that at least one row of gas pipes arranged in an array manner is arranged (FIG. 1, the gas pipes 11 are arranged in a row), and that the gas pipes are in multiple rows (FIG. 1, the row of the gas pipes 11 and the row of pipes 12), two adjacent rows are arranged in a staggered manner (FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Nagayama teaches that the external supporting structure and the housing form a gas distribution cavity (FIG. 11, the portion of the volume of furnace 2 downstream of the gas injectors), the housing of the gas distribution cavity is provided with a gas intake mains (FIG. 11, the vertical portion downstream of the gas inlet), one end of each gas pipe is connected to the gas distribution cavity (FIG. 7, the gas pipes 11 are each attached to the horizontal portion at the bottom), or both ends of each gas pipe are connected to the gas distribution cavity.
Regarding claim 8, Nagayama teaches that the gas distribution cavity has a gas intake structure of annular type, C-shaped type, hollow square type, and single-side type (FIG. 7, the horizontal pipe at the bottom is an intake that has a single interior surface (i.e., a single side)).
Regarding claim 9, Nagayama teaches a Burner (FIG. 11, the premix burner 5), comprising the gas air mixing structure according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagayama.
Regarding claim 3, Nagayama fails to teach that the sectional area of each of the plurality of gas output holes is 1/20 to 1/2 of the sectional area of the gas pipe.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the sectional area of each of the plurality of gas output holes 1/20 to 1/2 of the sectional area of the gas pipe, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (the holes 13 in FIG. 7 are smaller by some proportion than the cross section of the gas pipes 11), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that the size of outlet holes is a result effective variable because it affects the flow rate of the gas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the sectional area of each of the plurality of gas output holes 1/20 to 1/2 of the sectional area of the gas pipe, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 4, Nagayama teaches that several circular holes are evenly distributed at the center of the leeward surface of each of the bas pipes (FIG. 7).
Nagayama fails to teach that the arrangement manner of the plurality of gas output holes is that several circular holes with a sectional area of 1/10 of the sectional area of the gas pipe are evenly distributed at the center of the leeward surface of each of the gas pipe with a spacing of 5 times the diameter of the circular hole.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the arrangement manner of the plurality of gas output holes is that several circular holes with a sectional area of 1/10 of the sectional area of the gas pipe evenly distributed at the center of the leeward surface of each of the gas pipe with a spacing of 5 times the diameter of the circular hole, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (the holes 13 in FIG. 7 are smaller by some proportion than the cross section of the gas pipes 11), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that the size and spacing of outlet holes is a result effective variable because it affects the flow rate of the gas. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the arrangement manner of the plurality of gas output holes is that several circular holes with a sectional area of 1/10 of the sectional area of the gas pipe evenly distributed at the center of the leeward surface of each of the gas pipe with a spacing of 5 times the diameter of the circular hole, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C WEINERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762