DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 14, 20 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 14 and 20 lines 2 and 4 recites “determining during operation, based on monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter…” and “determining during operation, based on the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of…”, respectively.
However, it appears that it should recite “determining during operation, based on the monitoring of at least one electrical parameter of the power converter;…”. and “determining during operation, based on the monitoring of at least one electrical parameter of…”,.
Claims 26 lines 5 and 7 recites “determining during operation, based on monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter…” and “determining during operation, based on the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of…”, respectively.
However, it appears that it should recite “determining during operation, based on the monitoring of at least one electrical parameter of the power converter;…”. and “determining during operation, based on the monitoring of at least one electrical parameter of…”,.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 14, 16 - 20, 22 - 26 and 28 - 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 10,804,808 B1; (hereinafter Fu et al).
Regarding claim 14, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses a method for power control of a power converter [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 1A for direct-current-to-direct-current converter 11 --, a method for controlling converter 11], the method comprising: determining during operation [e.g., during third control mode 30], based on monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., controller 38 monitors primary voltage Vpri (607) via first voltage sensor (46)], a switching frequency of a first control signal [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 6 for operation of the DC-to-DC converter 11 in the third control mode 30 --, control signal 601 (S1, S3, S5 and S7) generated by controller 38 following the modulation mode selected col. 6 lines 5 - 13 recites “Accordingly, the electronic controller 38 can control the timing and operation of each switch, such as activation time, deactivation time, biasing and other aspects. In one embodiment, the electronic controller 38 or electronic data processor 32 uses a fixed switching frequency of fundamental frequency (e.g., within an operational range of switching frequencies) of the switches for multiple or all modulation modes, such as the first mode, the second mode and the third mode. Further, the switches can operate with a same or substantially similar fixed duty cycle (e.g., 50 percent duty cycle plus or minus ten percent tolerance) for multiple or all modulation modes, such as the first mode, the second mode and the third mode.”]; determining during operation [e.g., during third control mode 30], based on the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., controller 38 monitors primary voltage Vpri (607) via first voltage sensor (46)], a first phase angle of the first control signal [e.g., T1, T2 and T3 generated for corresponding control signals applied to switches (58, 60), col. 14 lines 42 - 48 recites “The relative phase shift ϕtrap (e.g., expressed in the time domain as T1+T2 or T2+T3) between the control signals of ones of the switches, such as: (a) between primary switches 58 and secondary switches 60, (b) between the first pair 50 and the second pair 52 within the primary switches 58, and (c) between the third pair 54 and the fourth pair 56 within the secondary switches 60, are illustrated in FIG. 6.”]; and iteratively adjusting the switching frequency and the first phase angle of the first control signal based on the determined switching frequency and the first phase angle [e.g., continuously adjust switching frequency (fs) and phase shift T1, T2 and T3 to adjust multiple control signals (601 - 604) following control mode selected, col. 18 lines 56 - 67 and col. 19 lines 1 - 3 recites “…, the electronic controller 38 or data processor 32 is configured to select a preferential operational mode for a time interval based on whether or not the DC-to-DC converter is at a transition power level threshold based on voltage sensor readings, by a first voltage sensor 46 (in FIG. 1A) and a second voltage sensor 48 (in FIG. 1A), associated with or proportional to the primary voltage ( 307 , 507 , 607 ) and the secondary voltage ( 308 , 508 , 608 ), respectively. The electronic controller 38 or data processor 32 is configured to provide soft switching (ZVS, ZCS, or both) of the primary switches 58 and the secondary switches 60 to reduce or minimize switching losses based on observed voltage sensor readings, by a first voltage sensor ( 46 or 146 ) and a second voltage sensor ( 48 or 148 ), for respective time intervals.”], determining the first phase angle being based on at least one modulation method [e.g., determines phase offset T1, T2 and T3 based on third control mode 30 (Trapezoidal Waveform Mode)], the at least one modulation method is selected based on the switching frequency and/or the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., control mode selected depending on estimated maximum power transferred based on observed primary and secondary voltage “For one or more control modes for each interval, the data processor 32 or electronic controller 38 determines the transferred power in accordance with the applicable transferred power equation based on the observed primary voltage ( 307 , 507 , 607 ) and the observed secondary voltage ( 308 , 508 , 608 ) for the interval and reference parameters of the DC-to-DC converter 11 , which may be stored or retrieved from the data storage device 40.”], the at least one modulation method comprises or is at least any one of a phase shift modulation, a trapezoidal current shape modulation, or a triangular current shape modulation [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 7 for an illustrative graph of operational modes --, modulation method selected based on the respective estimated transferred power range, first control mode 26 (Phase shift mode), second control mode 28 (triangular waveform mode) and third control mode 30 (Trapezoidal Waveform Mode)], the at least one modulation method is selected further based on power boundaries for the at least one modulation method [e.g., -- refer to Figure 7 --, modulation method selected based on respective estimated transferred power range, first control mode 26 (Phase shift mode), second control mode 28 (triangular waveform mode) and third control mode 30 (Trapezoidal Waveform Mode), col. 20 lines 1 - 8 recites “For example, in the third power range, if the transferred power falls between a first boundary (e.g., approximately 3600 Watts) and a second boundary (e.g., approximately 6900 Watts) or between a first transition power threshold 36 and second transition power threshold 136, the respective third region 703 (e.g., third operational zone) comprises the third control mode 30 (e.g., trapezoidal waveform control mode) as the preferential control mode.”], and the power boundaries are updated during operation according to the following formulations:
where PGPSmax, PTRAmax, and PTRImax denotes the maximum power boundaries for the phase shift modulation [e.g., maximum achievable power transfer during first control mode 26 (phase shift mode) by equation on col. 10 line 15,
],
the trapezoidal current shape modulation [e.g., maximum achievable power transfer during third control mode 30 (trapezoidal waveform control mode) equation shown in col. 16 line 60
],
and the triangular current shape modulation, respectively [e.g., for second control mode 28 (triangular waveform control mode) equation shown in col. 13 line 50 shows
].
Fu et al does not discloses the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter, being computed as
, Nmft, Uin, Uout denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter, an output voltage of the converter, and an input voltage of the converter, respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter, and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer.
However, Fu et al teaches the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter [e.g., as shown in col.16 lines 57 - 58 it can be seen that by rearranging the equation shown below as suggested by Fu et al one can derive the switching frequency required for maximum power transfer, col. 16 lines 57 - 58 recites “In the third control mode 30 the maximum power transferred is determined in accordance with the following equation:
],
being computed as
, Nmft [e.g., transformer winding ratio (n)], Uin [e.g., primary voltage V1], Uout [e.g., secondary voltage V2] denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter [e.g., (n) transformer winding ratio], an output voltage of the converter [e.g., secondary voltage V2 output of transformer 14], and an input voltage of the converter [e.g., primary voltage V1 input of transformer 14], respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter [e.g., equation on col. 16 line 60, based on transformer ration n, voltage V1, voltage V2 and power transferred Pmax], and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer [e.g., transformer inductance L].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fu et al with the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter, being computed as
, Nmft, Uin, Uout denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter, an output voltage of the converter, and an input voltage of the converter, respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter, and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer
as suggested by Fu et al for controlling efficient switching of the converter and generate less thermal energy.
Regarding claim 16, Fu et al [e.g., Fig. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the first phase angle is determined based on at least one further phase angle, which is determined based on the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., phase shifts T1, T2 and T3 calculated by equations shown below during third control mode 30 using phase shift ϕtrap (equation on col. 16 lines 40)
].
Regarding claim 17, Fu et al [e.g., Fig. 1A - 7] discloses comprising iteratively adjusting the first control signal [e.g., continuously adjust switching frequency (fs) and phase shift T1, T2 and T3 to adjust multiple control signals (601 - 604) following control mode selected, “…, the electronic controller 38 or data processor 32 is configured to select a preferential operational mode for a time interval based on whether or not the DC-to-DC converter is at a transition power level threshold based on voltage sensor readings, by a first voltage sensor 46 (in FIG. 1A) and a second voltage sensor 48 (in FIG. 1A), associated with or proportional to the primary voltage ( 307 , 507 , 607 ) and the secondary voltage ( 308 , 508 , 608 ), respectively. The electronic controller 38 or data processor 32 is configured to provide soft switching (ZVS, ZCS, or both) of the primary switches 58 and the secondary switches 60 to reduce or minimize switching losses based on observed voltage sensor readings, by a first voltage sensor ( 46 or 146 ) and a second voltage sensor ( 48 or 148 ), for respective time intervals.”].
Regarding claim 18, Fu et al [e.g., Fig. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the electrical parameter of the power converter comprises a current of the power converter [e.g., electrical parameters monitored include primary voltage (Vpri), secondary voltage (Vsec), inductor current (IL) and inductor voltage (VL), col. 9 lines 35 - 45 recites “The controller 38 can control the primary current and secondary current in accordance with various examples, which may be applied cumulatively or secondarily, to achieve soft-switching states, where possible,..”].
Regarding claim 19, Fu et al [e.g., Fig. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the power converter comprises or is at least one of an AC/AC, AC/DC, DC/DC, or DC/AC converter, in particular an active bridge converter, more particularly a dual active bridge converter [e.g., col. 3 lines 37 - 43 recites “In one embodiment, the DC-to-DC converter 11 comprises a single phase, dual-active bridge DC-to-DC converter with DC primary terminals 84 (e.g., DC input terminals) at the primary full bridge 10 and DC secondary terminals 86 (e.g., DC output terminals) at the secondary full bridge 12, where the DC-to-DC converter may operate unidirectionally or bidirectionally.”].
Regarding claim 20, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses a controller [e.g., controller 38] for power control of a power converter comprising a processor [e.g., electronic data processor 32], the processor being configured to: determine during operation [e.g., during third control mode 30], based on monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., controller 38 monitors primary voltage Vpri (607) via first voltage sensor (46)], a switching frequency of a first control signal [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 6 for operation of the DC-to-DC converter 11 in the third control mode 30 --, control signal 601 (S1, S3, S5 and S7) generated by controller 38 following the modulation mode selected col. 6 lines 5 - 13 recites “Accordingly, the electronic controller 38 can control the timing and operation of each switch, such as activation time, deactivation time, biasing and other aspects. In one embodiment, the electronic controller 38 or electronic data processor 32 uses a fixed switching frequency of fundamental frequency (e.g., within an operational range of switching frequencies) of the switches for multiple or all modulation modes, such as the first mode, the second mode and the third mode. Further, the switches can operate with a same or substantially similar fixed duty cycle (e.g., 50 percent duty cycle plus or minus ten percent tolerance) for multiple or all modulation modes, such as the first mode, the second mode and the third mode.”]; determine during operation [e.g., third control mode 30], based on the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., controller 38 monitors primary voltage Vpri (607) via first voltage sensor (46)], a first phase angle of the first control signal [e.g., T1, T2 and T3 generated for corresponding control signals applied to switches (58, 60), col. 14 lines 42 - 48 recites “The relative phase shift ϕtrap (e.g., expressed in the time domain as T1+T2 or T2+T3) between the control signals of ones of the switches, such as: (a) between primary switches 58 and secondary switches 60, (b) between the first pair 50 and the second pair 52 within the primary switches 58, and (c) between the third pair 54 and the fourth pair 56 within the secondary switches 60, are illustrated in FIG. 6.”]; and iteratively adjust the switching frequency and the first phase angle of the first control signal based on the determined switching frequency and the first phase angle [e.g., continuously adjust switching frequency (fs) and phase shifts T1, T2 and T3 to adjust multiple control signals (601 - 604) following control mode selected, col. 18 lines 56 - 67 and col. 19 lines 1 - 3 recites “…, the electronic controller 38 or data processor 32 is configured to select a preferential operational mode for a time interval based on whether or not the DC-to-DC converter is at a transition power level threshold based on voltage sensor readings, by a first voltage sensor 46 (in FIG. 1A) and a second voltage sensor 48 (in FIG. 1A), associated with or proportional to the primary voltage ( 307 , 507 , 607 ) and the secondary voltage ( 308 , 508 , 608 ), respectively. The electronic controller 38 or data processor 32 is configured to provide soft switching (ZVS, ZCS, or both) of the primary switches 58 and the secondary switches 60 to reduce or minimize switching losses based on observed voltage sensor readings, by a first voltage sensor ( 46 or 146 ) and a second voltage sensor ( 48 or 148 ), for respective time intervals.”], the processor being configured to determine the first phase angle based on at least one modulation method [e.g., electronic data processor 32 determines phase offset T1, T2 and T3 based on third control mode 30 (Trapezoidal Waveform Mode)], the at least one modulation method is selected based on the switching frequency and/or the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., control mode selected depending on estimated maximum power transferred based on observed primary and secondary voltage col. 19 lines 3 - 10 recites “For one or more control modes for each interval, the data processor 32 or electronic controller 38 determines the transferred power in accordance with the applicable transferred power equation based on the observed primary voltage (307, 507, 607) and the observed secondary voltage (308, 508, 608) for the interval and reference parameters of the DC-to-DC converter 11, which may be stored or retrieved from the data storage device 40.”], the at least one modulation method comprises or is at least any one of a phase shift modulation, a trapezoidal current shape modulation, or a triangular current shape modulation [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 7 for an illustrative graph of operational modes --, modulation method selected based on the respective estimated transferred power range, first control mode 26 (Phase shift mode), second control mode 28 (triangular waveform mode) and third control mode 30 (Trapezoidal Waveform Mode)], the at least one modulation method is selected further based on power boundaries for the at least one modulation method [e.g., -- refer to Figure 7 --, modulation method selected based on respective estimated transferred power range, first control mode 26 (Phase shift mode), second control mode 28 (triangular waveform mode) and third control mode 30 (Trapezoidal Waveform Mode), col. 20 lines 1 - 8 recites “For example, in the third power range, if the transferred power falls between a first boundary (e.g., approximately 3600 Watts) and a second boundary (e.g., approximately 6900 Watts) or between a first transition power threshold 36 and second transition power threshold 136, the respective third region 703 (e.g., third operational zone) comprises the third control mode 30 (e.g., trapezoidal waveform control mode) as the preferential control mode.”], and the power boundaries are updated during operation according to the following formulations: where PGPSmax, PTRAmax, and PTRImax denotes the maximum power boundaries for the phase shift modulation [e.g., maximum achievable power transfer during first control mode 26 (phase shift mode) by equation on col. 10 line 15,
],
the trapezoidal current shape modulation [e.g., maximum achievable power transfer during third control mode 30 (trapezoidal waveform control mode) equation shown in col. 16 line 60
],
and the triangular current shape modulation, respectively [e.g., for second control mode 28 (triangular waveform control mode) equation shown in col. 13 line 50 shows
].
Fu et al does not discloses the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter, being computed as
, Nmft, Uin, Uout denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter, an output voltage of the converter, and an input voltage of the converter, respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter, and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer.
However, Fu et al teaches the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter [e.g., as shown in col.16 lines 57 - 58 it can be seen that by rearranging the equation shown below as suggested by Fu et al one can derive the switching frequency required for maximum power transfer, col. 16 lines 57 - 58 recites “In the third control mode 30 the maximum power transferred is determined in accordance with the following equation:
],
being computed as
, Nmft [e.g., transformer winding ratio (n)], Uin [e.g., primary voltage V1], Uout [e.g., secondary voltage V2] denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter [e.g., (n) transformer winding ratio], an output voltage of the converter [e.g., secondary voltage V2 output of transformer 14], and an input voltage of the converter [e.g., primary voltage V1 input of transformer 14], respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter [e.g., equation on col. 16 line 60, based on transformer ration n, voltage V1, voltage V2 and power transferred Pmax], and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer [e.g., transformer inductance L].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fu et al with the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter, being computed as
, Nmft, Uin, Uout denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter, an output voltage of the converter, and an input voltage of the converter, respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter, and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer
as suggested by Fu et al for controlling efficient switching of the converter and generate less thermal energy.
Regarding claim 22, Fu et al [e.g., Fig. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the first phase angle is determined based on at least one further phase angle, which is determined based on the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., phase shifts T1, T2 and T3 calculated by equations shown below during third control mode 30 using phase shift ϕtrap (equation on col. 16 lines 40)
].
Regarding claim 23, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses comprising iteratively adjusting the first control signal [e.g., Figures 3, 5 - 7, adjust multiple control signals (601, 602, 603 and 604) according to control mode selected, col. 18 lines 22 - 39 recites “In FIG. 7, each control mode (26, 28, 30) is associated with a corresponding operational region (701, 702, 703) or respective transferred power range. For example, the second control mode 28 (e.g., triangular waveform control mode) is associated with a second region 702 (e.g., rectangular operational region) associated with a lowest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11; the third control mode 30 (e.g., trapezoidal waveform control mode) is associated with a third region 703 (e.g., rectangular operational region) with an intermediate range of transferred power that is greater than the lowest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11; the first control mode 26 (e.g., phase shift control mode) is associated with a first region 701 (e.g., rectangular operational region) with a highest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11. A transition power threshold (36, 136) defines a boundary (e.g., vertical line segment) between two adjacent regions in FIG. 7.”].
Regarding claim 24, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the electrical parameter of the power converter comprises a current of the power converter [e.g., electrical parameters monitored include primary voltage Vpri, secondary voltage (Vsec), inductor current (IL) and inductor voltage (VL), col. 9 lines 35 - 45 recites “The controller 38 can control the primary current and secondary current in accordance with various examples, which may be applied cumulatively or secondarily, to achieve soft-switching states, where possible,..”].
Regarding claim 25, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the power converter comprises or is at least one of an AC/AC, AC/DC, DC/DC, or DC/AC converter, in particular an active bridge converter, more particularly a dual active bridge converter [e.g., col. 3 lines 37 - 43 recites “In one embodiment, the DC-to-DC converter 11 comprises a single phase, dual-active bridge DC-to-DC converter with DC primary terminals 84 (e.g., DC input terminals) at the primary full bridge 10 and DC secondary terminals 86 (e.g., DC output terminals) at the secondary full bridge 12, where the DC-to-DC converter may operate unidirectionally or bidirectionally.”].
Regarding claim 26, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses a system comprising: a power converter; and a controller [e.g., controller 38] for power control of the power converter comprising a processor [e.g., electronic data processor 32], the processor being configured to: determine during operation [e.g., third control mode 30], based on monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter, a switching frequency of a first control signal [e.g., -- Fig. 6 illustrates operation of the DC-to-DC converter 11 in the third control mode 30 -- , switching frequency of control signal 601 (S1) determined during third control mode 30, during third control mode 30 determines on time of signal S1 based on at least primary voltage Vpri (607)]; determine, based on the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 6 for operation of the DC-to-DC converter 11 in the third control mode 30 --, primary voltage Vpri (607)], a first phase angle of the first control signal [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 6 -- , phase shift T1 of signal S1 determined during third control mode 30 based on at least primary voltage Vpri (607), col. 14 lines 42 - 48 recites “The relative phase shift ϕtrap (e.g., expressed in the time domain as T1+T2 or T2+T3) between the control signals of ones of the switches, such as: (a) between primary switches 58 and secondary switches 60, (b) between the first pair 50 and the second pair 52 within the primary switches 58, and (c) between the third pair 54 and the fourth pair 56 within the secondary switches 60, are illustrated in FIG. 6.”]; and iteratively adjust the switching frequency and the first phase angle of the first control signal based on the determined switching frequency and the first phase angle [e.g., adjust switching frequency (fs) and phase shifts T1, T2 and T3 to adjust multiple control signals (601 - 604) following transferred power equation on col. 16 line 60 during third control mode 30, col. 16 lines 35 - 50 recites “Further, the following conditions (e.g., boundary conditions) are required to operate in the third mode 30 (e.g., trapezoidal mode)
],
the processor being configured to determine the first phase angle based on at least one modulation method [e.g., determines a phase offset T1, T2 and T3 based on at least output DC voltage V2, during third control mode 30 (trapezoidal waveform control mode)], the at least one modulation method is selected based on the switching frequency and/or the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., control mode selected depending from estimated maximum power transferred based on observed primary and secondary voltage col. 7 lines 10 - 17 recites “Accordingly, the observed primary voltage and the observed secondary voltage can be or are applied to one or more transferred power equations that apply to the respective control mode to estimate the maximum transferred power for each control mode; hence, establish the limits (e.g., upper limit), corresponding operational ranges, or corresponding operating regions for each respective control mode.”], the at least one modulation method comprises or is at least any one of a phase shift modulation, a trapezoidal current shape modulation, or a triangular current shape modulation [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 7 for an illustrative graph of operational modes --, modulation method selected based on respective estimated transferred power range, first control mode 26 (Phase shift mode), second control mode 28 (triangular waveform mode) and third control mode 30 (Trapezoidal Waveform Mode), col. 18 lines 24 - 39 recites “For example, the second control mode 28 (e.g., triangular waveform control mode) is associated with a second region 702 (e.g., rectangular operational region) associated with a lowest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11; the third control mode 30 (e.g., trapezoidal waveform control mode) is associated with a third region 703 (e.g., rectangular operational region) with an intermediate range of transferred power that is greater than the lowest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11; the first control mode 26 (e.g., phase shift control mode) is associated with a first region 701 (e.g., rectangular operational region) with a highest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11. A transition power threshold (36, 136) defines a boundary (e.g., vertical line segment) between two adjacent regions in FIG. 7.”], the at least one modulation method is selected further based on power boundaries for the at least one modulation method [e.g., -- refer to Figure 7 --, modulation method selected based on respective estimated transferred power range, first control mode 26 (Phase shift mode), second control mode 28 (triangular waveform mode) and third control mode 30 (Trapezoidal Waveform Mode), col. 20 lines 1 - 8 recites “For example, in the third power range, if the transferred power falls between a first boundary (e.g., approximately 3600 Watts) and a second boundary (e.g., approximately 6900 Watts) or between a first transition power threshold 36 and second transition power threshold 136, the respective third region 703 (e.g., third operational zone) comprises the third control mode 30 (e.g., trapezoidal waveform control mode) as the preferential control mode.”], and the power boundaries are updated during operation according to the following formulations: where PGPSmax, PTRAmax, and PTRImax denotes the maximum power boundaries for the phase shift modulation [e.g., maximum achievable power transfer during first control mode 26 (phase shift mode) by equation on col. 10 line 15,
],
the trapezoidal current shape modulation [e.g., maximum achievable power transfer during third control mode 30 (trapezoidal waveform control mode) equation shown in col. 16 line 60
],
and the triangular current shape modulation, respectively [e.g., for second control mode 28 (triangular waveform control mode) equation shown in col. 13 line 50 shows
].
Fu et al does not discloses the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter, being computed as
, Nmft, Uin, Uout denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter, an output voltage of the converter, and an input voltage of the converter, respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter, and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer.
However, Fu et al teaches the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter [e.g., as shown in col.16 lines 57 - 58 it can be seen that by rearranging the equation shown below as suggested by Fu et al one can derive the switching frequency required for maximum power transfer, col. 16 lines 57 - 58 recites “In the third control mode 30 the maximum power transferred is determined in accordance with the following equation:
],
being computed as
, Nmft [e.g., transformer winding ratio (n)], Uin [e.g., primary voltage V1], Uout [e.g., secondary voltage V2] denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter [e.g., (n) transformer winding ratio], an output voltage of the converter [e.g., secondary voltage V2 output of transformer 14], and an input voltage of the converter [e.g., primary voltage V1 input of transformer 14], respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter [e.g., equation on col. 16 line 60, based on transformer ration n, voltage V1, voltage V2 and power transferred Pmax], and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer [e.g., transformer inductance L].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fu et al with the switching frequency fs of the power converter representing a maximum switching frequency up to which the converter delivers power with a highest efficiency, is determined based on:
d, denoting a voltage ratio of the converter, being computed as
, Nmft, Uin, Uout denoting a winding ratio of a secondary side and a primary side of a transformer of the converter, an output voltage of the converter, and an input voltage of the converter, respectively, P denotes a power transferred by the converter, and Lc denotes a total commutation inductance of the transformer
as suggested by Fu et al for controlling efficient switching of the converter and generate less thermal energy.
Regarding claim 28, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the first phase angle is determined based on at least one further phase angle, which is determined based on the monitoring at least one electrical parameter of the power converter [e.g., phase shifts T1, T2 and T3 calculated by equations shown below during third control mode 30 using phase shift ϕtrap (equation on col. 16 lines 40)
].
Regarding claim 29, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses comprising iteratively adjusting the first control signal [e.g., Figures 3, 5 - 7, adjust multiple control signals (601, 602, 603 and 604) according to control mode selected, col. 18 lines 22 - 39 recites “In FIG. 7, each control mode (26, 28, 30) is associated with a corresponding operational region (701, 702, 703) or respective transferred power range. For example, the second control mode 28 (e.g., triangular waveform control mode) is associated with a second region 702 (e.g., rectangular operational region) associated with a lowest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11; the third control mode 30 (e.g., trapezoidal waveform control mode) is associated with a third region 703 (e.g., rectangular operational region) with an intermediate range of transferred power that is greater than the lowest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11; the first control mode 26 (e.g., phase shift control mode) is associated with a first region 701 (e.g., rectangular operational region) with a highest range of transferred power of the DC-to-DC converter 11. A transition power threshold (36, 136) defines a boundary (e.g., vertical line segment) between two adjacent regions in FIG. 7.”].
Regarding claim 30, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the electrical parameter of the power converter comprises a current of the power converter [e.g., electrical parameters monitored include primary voltage Vpri, secondary voltage (Vsec), inductor current (IL) and inductor voltage (VL), col. 9 lines 35 - 45 recites “The controller 38 can control the primary current and secondary current in accordance with various examples, which may be applied cumulatively or secondarily, to achieve soft-switching states, where possible,..”].
Regarding claim 31, Fu et al [e.g., Figs. 1A - 7] discloses wherein the power converter comprises or is at least one of an AC/AC, AC/DC, DC/DC, or DC/AC converter, in particular an active bridge converter, more particularly a dual active bridge converter [e.g., col. 3 lines 37 - 43 recites “In one embodiment, the DC-to-DC converter 11 comprises a single phase, dual-active bridge DC-to-DC converter with DC primary terminals 84 (e.g., DC input terminals) at the primary full bridge 10 and DC secondary terminals 86 (e.g., DC output terminals) at the secondary full bridge 12, where the DC-to-DC converter may operate unidirectionally or bidirectionally.”].
11. Claim(s) 15, 21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al in view of CN 112117908A; (hereinafter Fu et al and Zhang), Zhang is cited in IDS.
Regarding claim 15, 21 and 27, Fu et al does not discloses wherein the switching frequency is limited by a minimum frequency.
Zhang teaches wherein the switching frequency is limited by a minimum frequency [e.g., Description recites “The method is to obtain the switching frequency and phase shift angle according to the principle of minimizing the effective value of the resonant current and minimizing the current stress.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fu et al with wherein the switching frequency is limited by a minimum frequency as suggested by Zhang to minimize current stress obtained during switching, thereby improving efficiency of the converter.
Examiner’s Note
12. Examiner has cited particular column, paragraphs and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figure may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
13. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/ULARISLAO CORDOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2838