DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0087820 to Suzuki et al. (“Suzuki”) in view of International Patent Application Publication WO 2019/142718 to Kano et al. (the English equivalent, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0054536 is referenced herein) (“Kano”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 7, Suzuki discloses a conjugated fiber, useful in fiber products such as clothing, having both stretchability and wear resistance comprising an eccentric core-sheath structure, wherein an A-component core portion is completely covered by a B-component sheath portion. See, e.g., Abstract, paragraph [0003], entire document. Suzuki discloses that the A-component core portion comprises a high molecular weight polymer and the B-component sheath portion comprises a low molecular weight polymer, paragraph [0056], and that the core and sheath portions can be formed from polyester. Paragraphs [0058] and [0059]. Suzuki discloses the claimed parameter of the molecular weight difference being 5,000 or more because Suzuki teaches that the two polymers used in to form the A-component and the B-component differ in melt viscosity by 50 Pa*s or more, paragraph [0095], and Suzuki provides an example wherein a polyethylene terephthalate core having a melt viscosity of 160 Pa*s is combined with a polyethylene terephthalate sheath having a melt viscosity of 70 Pa*s, Table 1, Example 3, to form a conjugate fiber. Suzuki does not disclose that the high molecular weight polyester has a crystallinity of 0% to 40%. However, Suzuki does suggest the crystalline nature of the polyester to fall within this quantified parameter, noting that the material has an oriented amorphous component and a crystal precursor. Paragraph [0171]. Moreover, the person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to seek out suitability crystallinity values in the same field of endeavor. Kano is also related to multicomponent fiber material used to form stretchable yarn materials. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Kano teaches that the interior component of the fiber, which is formed using polyester, has a crystallinity that is easily adjustable and provided with a range of 1 to 40%. Paragraph [0034]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide the crystallinity of the interior polyester component disclosed by Suzuki with a crystallinity within the range of 0 to 40% because Kano teaches that such a range of crystallinity is well known and easy to provide for polyester materials in the manufacture of multicomponent fibers, and that such a crystallinity range is useful in forming the multicomponent fibers in the field of providing yarns used in clothing materials. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955). With regard to the A-component of the fiber having an orientation parameter of 1.5 to 3.0, even though the combination of Suzuki with Kano does not specifically address this property parameter, it is reasonable to presume that such a feature would be inherent to the material taught by the combination of references. Support for the presumption is found because the combination of Suzuki with Kano teaches using similar materials, i.e. a conjugated fiber comprising two kinds of polyesters having a molecular weight difference of 5,000 or more with the low molecular component completely covering the high molecular weight component, and wherein the high molecular weight component possess a crystallinity in the range of 0% to 40%. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. Moreover, even if not inherent, Suzuki teaches “[t]he range of spinning speed in the high-speed fiber formation process is not particularly limited and the process may hence include steps in which the ejected filaments are wound up as semi-stretched filaments and thereafter stretched. Fiber processing such as false twisting may be conducted according to need.” Paragraph [0122]. As such, the person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that spinning speed in Suzuki is an easily adjustable parameter. Furthermore, Kano teaches that spinning speed can vary from 500 m/min. to 6,000 m/min., and can be done in one or two steps, depending on the desired breakage and stress to be imparted upon the fiber. Paragraphs [0051] and [0052]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing invention to provide an orientation parameter in the range of 1.5 to 3.0 simply by adjusting the spinning speed to provide the oriented amorphous nature sought by Suzuki, and because Kano establishes that adjustment to spinning speed is a result effective variable, and because it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272 (CCPA 1980). With regard to Claim 3, Kano teaches that the multicomponent fiber can be drawn down in a second stage process, paragraphs [0051] and [0052], which would increase the orientation parameter and crystallinity of the polyester component when the fiber is formed into a yarn. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide an orientation parameter of the yarn taught by Suzuki in combination with Kano in the range of 5.0 to 15.0 simply by adjusting the spinning speed to provide the multifilament yarn taught by the combination of Suzuki with Kano, since Kano establishes that adjustment to spinning speed is a result effective variable, and because it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272 (CCPA 1980). With regard to Claim 4, Suzuki discloses “a minimum thickness S of a thickness of the ingredient B, which covers the ingredient A, to a fiber diameter D is from 0.01 to 0.1; and a portion where the ingredient B has a thickness up to 1.05 times the minimum thickness S has a peripheral length of at least one-third entire circumferential length of the fiber.” Paragraph [0032]. With regard to Claim 5, Suzuki discloses that “[t]he composite fibers in the mixed-filament yarn preferably have a crimpiness ratio of 20 to 80%.” Paragraph [0115]. With regard to Claim 6, Suzuki discloses that high elasticity polymers are suitable for use in their invention. Paragraph [0125]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide an elastic modulus of 30 cN/dtex or more in the multifilament yarn disclosed by the combination of Suzuki with Kano in order to provide highly stretchable and recoverable fabric useful for clothing, as taught to be generally desired by Suzuki, and given the fact that Suzuki teaches a similar fiber material having similar crimpiness.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Kano as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0038028 to Tanaka et al. (“Tanaka”).
With regard to Claim 2, Suzuki with Kano does not disclose the high molecular weight component contains a third component having a copolymerization rate less than 5 mol%. Tanaka is also related to multicomponent conjugate fiber used in the manufacture of fiber products. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Tanaka discloses that a polyethylene terephthalate core component can be copolymerized with a third component in an amount of 0.5 to 5 mol% to improve dyeability of the fiber. Paragraph [0041]; see also Table 3. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide the polyethylene terephthalate core component of the fibers taught by the combination of Suzuki with Kano with a third component having a copolymerization rate less than 5 mol% in order to improve dyeability of the fiber, as shown to be known by Tanaka.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/269,808 (“the ‘808 Application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘808 Application also claims a composite fiber formed of polyester resin A and polyester resin B, wherein the difference in molecular weight falls within the range that is presently claimed, along with a multifilament formed from the composite fiber and a fiber product containing the multifilament.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/993,640 (“the ‘640 Application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘640 Application also claims a composite fiber formed of polyester resin A and polyester resin B, wherein the difference in molecular weight falls within the range that is presently claimed, along with a multifilament formed from the composite fiber and a fiber product containing the multifilament.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/881,335 (“the ‘335 Application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘335 Application also claims a composite fiber formed of polyester resin A and polyester resin B, wherein the difference in molecular weight falls within the range that is presently claimed, along with a multifilament formed from the composite fiber and a fiber product containing the multifilament.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KR 100650885 B1 to Oh Sung Jin et al. (English translation from PE2E database is provided).
JEREMY R. PIERCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/JEREMY R PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789