DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eguchi (US 10151012).
With respect to Claim 1, teaches a seamless stainless steel pipe for oil industry components, in mass%, as follows (col. 1, ln. 15-47; col. 5, ln. 15 to col. 7, ln. 45):
Claim 1
Eguchi
C
≤ 0.015
0.005-0.05
Si
0.05-0.50
0.05-1.0
Mn
0.04-1.80
0.2-1.8
P
≤ 0.030
≤ 0.03
S
≤ 0.005
≤ 0.005
Cr
11.0-14.0
14-20
Ni
> 2.0 to 5.0
1.5-10
Mo
0.5 to < 1.8
1-5
Al
0.005-0.10
0.002-0.1
V
0.005-0.20
≤ 0.5
Nb
0.005-0.05
≤ 0.5
N
≤ 0.015
≤ 0.15
O
≤ 0.010
≤ 0.01
Fe
Balance and unavoidable impurities
Balance with unavoidable impurities
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements. Thus, Eguchi teaches a seamless stainless steel pipe with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly claimed ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding the composition-based formula(s) in the instant claim, the instantly claimed formula(s) fully depends on the composition of the alloy. It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art. In the instant case, as the stainless steel of the prior art is capable of falling within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition formulas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected any portion of the disclosed ranges which fall within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition-based formulas because the reference discloses utility throughout the disclosed ranges. See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Eguchi teaches wherein the seamless stainless steel pipe has a yield strength of 758 MPa or more, meeting the claim limitation. (col. 1, ln. 15-22). The reference further teaches that the stainless steel had excellent corrosion resistance (see, e.g., col. 9, ln. 53-65), in particular, a corrosion rate of 0.127 mm/y or less, including examples below 0.100 mm/y (col. 17, ln. 35-50; Table 2-2) and teaches an absorbed energy measurement at -10°C of 30J or more and examples exceeding 100 J. (col. 13, ln. 40 to col. 14, ln. 18; Table 2-2).
Thus, Eguchi teaches a stainless steel and a seamless pipe made thereof, wherein the steel has a strength and corrosion rate meeting or overlapping the claimed ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claim overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Eguchi teaches an absorbed/impact exceeding the claimed value but measured at a different temperature, and is silent as to the specific amount of precipitated Nb and V as required by claimed 1. However, as Eguchi teaches a seamless stainless steel pipe with substantially overlapping composition, the same or overlapping properties including yield strength and corrosion rate, made by a substantially similar method, and drawn to high absorbed energy at low temperatures, it would necessarily be expected to result in the same properties, including the claimed absorbed energy and precipitate content/properties.
"Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, the burden is shifted to the applicant to prove that the product of the prior art does not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics attributed to the claimed product. See In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."); MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the prima facie case can only be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.
Finally, with respect to the preamble limitation “for oil wells,” this limitation is drawn to the intended use of the seamless stainless steel pipe. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, as Eguchi teaches a seamless stainless steel pipe and further teaches its applicability for oil industry components (see above), it is deemed to meet the instant limitation.
With respect to Claim 2, Eguchi teaches the optional addition of Cu: 3.5 mass% or less, W: 3 mass%, B: 0.01 mass% or less, Ca: 0.01 mass% or less, REM: 0.01 mass% or less, Zr: 0.2 mass% or less, overlapping the claimed range. (col. 7, ln. 4-30; col. 7, ln. 54 to col. 8, ln. 17). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2023/0167522).
With respect to Claim 1, Zhang teaches a seamless stainless steel pipe for oil and gas production components, in mass%, as follows (para. 2, 7-42, 46-53):
Claim 1
Zhang
C
≤ 0.015
≤ 0.05
Si
0.05-0.50
0.1-0.2
Mn
0.04-1.80
0.2-1.0
P
≤ 0.030
≤ 0.03
S
≤ 0.005
≤ 0.01
Cr
11.0-14.0
11.0-14.0
Ni
> 2.0 to 5.0
4.0-6.0
Mo
0.5 to < 1.8
1.5-2.5
Al
0.005-0.10
0.01-0.04
V
0.005-0.20
0.03-0.2
Nb
0.005-0.05
0.01-0.1
N
≤ 0.015
0.001-0.10
O
≤ 0.010
≤ 0.004
Fe
Balance and unavoidable impurities
Balance with unavoidable impurities
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements. Thus, Zhang teaches a seamless stainless steel pipe with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly claimed ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding the composition-based formula(s) in the instant claim, the instantly claimed formula(s) fully depends on the composition of the alloy. It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art. In the instant case, as the stainless steel of the prior art is capable of falling within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition formulas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected any portion of the disclosed ranges which fall within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition-based formulas because the reference discloses utility throughout the disclosed ranges. See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Zhang further teaches wherein the stainless steel has a yield strength of 862 MPa or more at room temperature, a corrosion rate of 0.125 mm/a or less (equivalent to the claimed mm/y), and an impact energy at -20°C greater than 140 J, and teaches the precipitation of compounds containing vanadium and niobium. (para. 24, 41-43). Thus, Zhang teaches a stainless steel and a seamless pipe made thereof, wherein the steel has a strength and corrosion rate meeting or exceeding the claimed ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claim overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Zhang teaches an absorbed/impact energy exceeding the claimed value but measured at a different temperature, and is silent as to the specific amount of precipitated Nb and V as required by claimed 1. However, as Zhang teaches a seamless stainless steel pipe with substantially overlapping composition, the same or overlapping properties including yield strength and corrosion rate, comprising V and Nb containing precipitates, and drawn to high absorbed energy at low temperatures, it would necessarily be expected to result in the same properties, including the claimed absorbed energy and precipitate content/properties.
"Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, the burden is shifted to the applicant to prove that the product of the prior art does not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics attributed to the claimed product. See In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not."); MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the prima facie case can only be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.
Finally, with respect to the preamble limitation “for oil wells,” this limitation is drawn to the intended use of the seamless stainless steel pipe. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, as Zhang teaches a seamless stainless steel pipe and further teaches its applicability for oil industry components (see above), it is deemed to meet the instant limitation.
With respect to Claim 2, Zhang teaches the optional addition of 0.2 mass% of one or more of Ti, Zr, and rare earths, such that the total is 0.3 mass% or less, overlapping the claimed range. (para. 27). Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 10151012. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: as detailed in the 103 rejection above (incorporated here by reference), the related patent is drawn to a stainless steel pipe with substantially overlapping composition, and properties including absorbed energy and corrosion resistance. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claim overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05. "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0401722 drawn to stainless steel pipe having overlapping compositional ranges and yield strength.
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735