DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “lead joint jigs” in claim 5 is used by the claim to mean “spacers,” while the accepted meaning for a “box joint jig” is defined as “a woodworking tool used to guide a table saw or router to cut precise, interlocking rectangular fingers and notches into the corners of boards.” Alternatively, a “jig” is defined as “a plate, box, or open frame for holding work and for guiding a machine tool to the work, used especially for locating and spacing drilled holes; fixture,” such that this definition also does not fit the description of what the “lead joint jig” does according to the disclosure in the instant specification. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bae (US 2017/0062780).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a battery module (10), comprising:
a cell assembly (500) including a plurality of battery cells (100) each having an electrode lead (114 and 115); and
a frame assembly (200 and 300) covering at least one side of the cell assembly (see Figure 4); and
configured to guide direct connection between the electrode leads of adjacent ones of the battery cells ([0051]; see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 2, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the electrode leads of the adjacent ones of the battery cells are directly joined to each other without an additional medium for connection in the frame assembly ([0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the frame assembly includes:
a main frame (200) covering the at least one side of the cell assembly (see Figure 3), the main frame having openings through which the electrode leads of the battery cells pass (221a); and
a cover frame (300) covering the main frame (see Figure 4); and
supporting the electrode leads that pass through the main frame ([0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the main frame includes:
a frame body covering the at least one side of the cell assembly (see Figure 4);
a plurality of lead slots (221a) disposed in the frame body, the plurality of lead slots being the openings through which the electrode leads pass (see Figure 4); and
a plurality of guide spacers disposed in between the plurality of lead slots (part of 221 that is between each bare cell 100; see vertical portion of 221 in Figure 4); and
forming a predetermined space in a heightwise direction of the frame body (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the plurality of guide spacers are spaced apart from one another (see Figure 4), thereby providing gaps for insertion of detachable lead joint jigs (400) to assist in forming the direct connection between the electrode leads of the adjacent ones of the battery cells, the lead joint jigs being configured to guide the direct connection of the electrode leads ([0059]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 6, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the cover frame includes:
a cover body covering the main frame (see Figure 4); and
a plurality of support ribs(312) protruding from an inner surface of the cover body (see Figure 5); and
supporting the electrode leads of the battery cells that pass through the lead slots ([0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the cover body is made of an insulation material ([0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses each of the plurality of support ribs includes:
a first support portion disposed on the inner surface of the cover body (312a); and
a second support portion bending away from two end portions of the first support portion and extending to a predetermined length away from the inner surface of the cover body (312b; see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Bae discloses a battery pack (see Figure 8), comprising:
at least one battery module each according to claim 1 (see Figure 8); and
a pack case accommodating the at least one battery module therein (it is disclosed the battery pack can be used as a power source for hybrid electric vehicle motors ([0005]), such that they would be accommodated in a pack case).
Regarding claim 13, Bae discloses a vehicle comprising at least one battery pack each according to claim 12 (as set forth above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closes prior art is Bae, as set forth above. Bae does not teach nor render obvious the cover frame including a plurality of protruding ribs inserted into corresponding end portions of the plurality of guide spacers or that the support ribs have surface contact with joined ones of the electrode leads of the adjacent ones of the battery cells.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722