Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues regarding the motivation behind Sun's teaching stating that Sun is about selecting a method to deliver a PUCCH transmission as opposed to selecting a PDSCH for transmission. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assessment. Even if Sun is selecting a resource for PUCCH transmission, it still fulfills the requirements to meet Applicant's claims. Claim only requires "an indication of a pair of TCI states" and "select, based at least in part on the indication, a default beam for receiving information via the PDSCH." These two limitations are met with Sun. It makes no difference if Sun is teaching that a PUCCH beam will be transmitted on a default PDSCH. Nothing in the claim language requires anything other than a default PDSCH beam is selected based on TCI parameters. Sun teaches each and every limitation of the independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 21, 22, 34, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Sun, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0311545.
Sun teaches:
1. (Original) An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (see Fig. 9); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive an indication of a pair of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states associated
with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH activated TCI with the lowest index having
two states, [0039]); and
select, based at least in part on the indication, a default beam for receiving information via the
PDSCH (default beam is provided, [0039]).
2. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to use only one default beam (by definition, a default beam is one specific beam), and wherein the indication indicates to use the pair of TCI states after a specified time (under a broadest reasonable interpretation, even the time it would take to indicate the states would constitute a specified time).
21. (Original) A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of a pair of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states associated
with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH (PDSCH activated TCI with the lowest index having
two states, [0039])); and
selecting, based at least in part on the indication, a default beam for receiving information via
the PDSCH (default beam is provided, [0039]).
22. (Original) The method of claim 21, wherein the UE is configured to use only one default beam (by definition, a default beam is one specific beam), and wherein the indication indicates to use the pair of TCI states after a specified time (under a broadest reasonable interpretation, even the time it would take to indicate the states would constitute a specified time).
34. (Original) A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless
communication, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment
(UE), cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a pair of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states associated
with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH activated TCI with the lowest index having
two states, [0039]); and
select, based at least in part on the indication, a default beam for receiving information via the
PDSCH (default beam is provided, [0039]).
35. An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for receiving an indication of a pair of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states
associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH activated TCI with the lowest
index having two states, [0039]); and
means for selecting, based at least in part on the indication, a default beam for receiving
information via the PDSCH (default beam is provided, [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 - 6 and 23 - 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun as
applied to claims 2 and 22 above, and further in view of Zhang, U.S. Patent Publication No.
2023/0083208.
Sun teaches a method of activating TCI states in a wireless communications network. Sun does
not teach basing a default beam on a first TCI state. However, Zhang teaches basing a default beam on a
first TCI state. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing to modify the
teachings of Sun to incorporate the known technique of selecting a default beam based on a first TCI
state as taught by Zhang in order to obtain the predictable result of less overhead messaging.
The combination teaches:
3. (Original) The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to select the default beam, are configured to select a beam associated with a first TCI state, of the pair of TCI states, as the default
beam for receiving information via the PDSCH (default beam is based on the first TCI state, [0069],
Zhang).
4. (Original) The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to select the default beam, are configured to select a beam associated with a TCI state identifier, of a pair of TCI state identifiers
associated with the pair of TCI states, having a lowest value, as the default beam for receiving
information via the PDSCH (default beam is based on the first TCI state, [0069], Zhang, it is inherent
that some identifier would exist to select between two options).
5. (Original) The apparatus of claim 2, wherein selecting the default beam is based at least in part on radio resource control configuration information, medium access control information, or downlink control information (default beam is applied when TCI state is configured by RRC, [0073], Zhang).
6. (Original) The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to select the default beam, are configured to select a beam associated with a control resource set, of a plurality of control resource sets of a most recently monitored slot, with a lowest control resource set identifier, as the default beam for receiving information via the PDSCH (default beam based on applied CORESET with the lowest ID,
[0069], Zhang).
23. (Original) The method of claim 22, wherein selecting the default beam comprises selecting a beam associated with a first TCI state, of the pair of TCI states, as the default beam for receiving information via the PDSCH (default beam is based on the first TCI state, [0069], Zhang).
24. (Original) The method of claim 22, wherein selecting the default beam comprises selecting a beam associated with a TCI state identifier, of a pair of TCI state identifiers associated with the pair of TCI states, having a lowest value, as the default beam for receiving information via the PDSCH (default beam is based on the first TCI state, [0069], Zhang, it is inherent that some identifier would exist to select between two options).
25. (Original) The method of claim 22, wherein selecting the default beam is based at least in part on radio resource control configuration information, medium access control information, or downlink control information (default beam is applied when TCI state is configured by RRC, [0073], Zhang).
26. (Original) The method of claim 22, wherein selecting the default beam comprises selecting a beam associated with a control resource set, of a plurality of control resource sets of a most recently monitored slot, with a lowest control resource set identifier, as the default beam for receiving information via the PDSCH (default beam based on applied CORESET with the lowest ID, [0069], Zhang).
Claim(s) 7 - 18 and 27 - 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun as
applied to claims 2 and 22 above, and further in view of Khoshnevisan, U.S. Patent Publication No.
2021/0112560.
Sun teaches a method of activating TCI states in a wireless communications method. Sun does
not teach utilizing two default beams. However, Khoshnevisan teaches utilizing two default beams. It
would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Sun to
incorporate the known technique of utilizing two default beams as taught by Khoshnevisan in order to
obtain the predictable result of ensuring a beam is available for use.
The combination teaches:
7. (Original) The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to select the default beam, are configured to select a beam having a first TCI state, of the pair of TCI states, and a beam having a second TCI state, of the pair of TCI states, for receiving information via the PDSCH in accordance with a pattern (TCI states indicating a pattern associated with the TCI states, [0193], Khoshnevisan).
8. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the pattern is a time division multiplexing pattern (scheme includes TDM scheme, Khoshnevisan, [0019]).
9. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the pattern is a slot-level pattern, a symbol-level pattern, or a mini-slot level pattern (one or more periods may relate to symbols, slots, or mini-slots [0163],
Khoshnevisan).
10. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the information via the PDSCH, in accordance with the pattern, regardless of a scheduling offset (TCI states pattern associated with a duration, [0163], Khoshnevisan).
11.(Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive the information via the PDSCH, in accordance with the pattern, only if a scheduling offset is less than a threshold (temporal offset is less than the threshold, [0140], Khoshnevisan).
12. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the pattern is a fixed pattern (TCI states pattern associated with a duration, [0163], Khoshnevisan, a duration is a fixed item).
13. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the pattern is configured via radio resource control information (control signaling includes RRC signaling, [0064], Khoshnevisan).
14. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the pattern is indicated in a medium access control message (control signaling includes MAC-CE signaling, [0065], Khoshnevisan), that activates the pair of TCI states and that corresponds to a plurality of TCI codepoints.
15. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the pattern is associated with a TCI codepoint, and is indicated in downlink control information (TCI code point with the lowest ID, [0039], Sun).
16. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to use two default beams (first and second default beam, [0162], Khoshnevisan).
17. (Original) The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the indication of the pair of TCI states indicates to use the pair of TCI states after a specified time (TCI states related to one or more periods, [0163], Khoshnevisan), and wherein selecting the default beam for receiving the information via the PDSCH comprises selecting a pair of beams indicated by the pair of TCI states (first and second default beam, [0162], Khoshnevisan).
18. (Original) The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the indication of the pair of TCI states indicates to use a single TCI state after a specified time (TCI states related to one or more periods, [0163], Khoshnevisan), and
wherein selecting the default beam for receiving the information via the PDSCH comprises selecting the beam indicated by the single TCI state (beam selection based on single TCI state, [0162],
Khoshnevisan).
27. (Original) The method of claim 22, wherein selecting the default beam comprises selecting a beam having a first TCI state, of the pair of TCI states, and a beam having a second TCI state, of the pair of TCI states, for receiving information via the PDSCH in accordance with a pattern (TCI states indicating a pattern associated with the TCI states, [0193], Khoshnevisan).
28. (Original) The method of claim 27, wherein the pattern is a time division multiplexing pattern (scheme includes TDM scheme, Khoshnevisan, [0019]).
29. (Original) The method of claim 27, wherein the pattern is a slot-level pattern, a symbol-level pattern, or a mini-slot level pattern (one or more periods may relate to symbols, slots, or mini-slots [0163],
Khoshnevisan).
30. (Original) The method of claim 21, wherein the UE is configured to use two default beams (first and second default beam, [0162], Khoshnevisan).
31. (Original) The method of claim 30, wherein the indication of the pair of TCI states indicates to use the pair of TCI states after a specified time (TCI states related to one or more periods, [0163], Khoshnevisan), and
wherein selecting the default beam for receiving the information via the PDSCH comprises selecting a pair of beams indicated by the pair of TCI states (first and second default beam, [0162],
Khoshnevisan).
32. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 30, wherein the indication of the pair of TCI states indicates to use a single TCI state after a specified time (TCI states related to one or more periods, [0163], Khoshnevisan), and
wherein selecting the default beam for receiving the information via the PDSCH comprises selecting the beam indicated by the single TCI state (beam selection based on single TCI state, [0162],
Khoshnevisan).
Claim(s) 19 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun as applied to claims 2 and 21 above, and further in view of Xu, U.S. Patent No. 11,728,870.
Sun teaches a method of activating TCI states in a wireless communications method. Sun does
not teach utilizing a plurality of TCI states. However, Xu teaches utilizing a plurality of TCI states. It would
have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Sun to
incorporate the known technique of utilizing a plurality of TCI states as taught by Xu in order to obtain
the predictable result of more transmission opportunities.
The combination teaches:
19. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a plurality of TCI codepoints, each of the TCI codepoints indicating a pair of TCI states, of a plurality of TCI states (plurality of TCI states mapped to multiple codepoints indicates a TCI state pair, claim 1, Xu).
33. (Original) The method of claim 21, further comprising receiving a plurality of TCI codepoints, each of the TCI codepoints indicating a pair of TCI states, of a plurality of TCI states (plurality of TCI states mapped to multiple codepoints indicates a TCI state pair, claim 1, Xu).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Xu as
applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Zhu, U.S. Patent No. 12,628,229.
Sun in view of Xu teaches utilizing a plurality of TCI states in a wireless communications system.
The combination does not teach specific types of TCI states. However, Zhu teaches using specific types
of TCI states. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the
combination of Sun in view of Xu to incorporate the known technique of specific TCI states as taught by
Zhu in order to obtain the predictable result of standardizing TCI signaling.
The combination teaches:
20. (Original) The apparatus of claim 19, wherein:
a first TCI codepoint indicates a pair of joint downlink and uplink TCI states;
a second TCI codepoint indicates a pair of downlink TCI states and a pair of uplink TCI states;
a third TCI codepoint indicates a pair of downlink TCI states; and
a fourth TCI codepoint indicates a pair of uplink TCI states (see Zhu, col. 12, line 46 - col. 13, line 59, illustrates multiple codepoints for TCI states including uplink, downlink, and joint states).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PETER G. SOLINSKY
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/Peter G Solinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463