DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-13 of U.S. Application 18/712893 filed on May 18, 2026 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed May 18, 2026, with respect to amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in further view of Hawkins (US 20140191604) in which Hawkins teaches (see fig. 2 below) the two bearings (242, 244) are arranged directly next to one another (¶ 18 to ¶ 23) in order to eliminate free play between bearings and provide a stable configuration with optimal axial stiffness (Hawkins, ¶ 21; ¶ 22) (see below for complete rejection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-5, 8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler (US 20130270945) in view of Hawkins (US 20140191604).
Regarding claim 1, Ziegler teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 below) an electronically commutated motor (Abstract, ¶ 1; ¶ 33), comprising:
a disc-shaped rotor (38) including a magnetization component (36) and a rotor shaft (22) (Abstract; ¶ 28; ¶ 29);
at least two bearings (14, 16) mounted on the rotor shaft (22) and arranged next to one another in an axial direction of the rotor shaft (22) (fig. 2; ¶ 27; ¶ 28; ¶ 31); and
an annular stator (12, 30, 20) on which a plurality of stator teeth (102) is provided, each of the plurality of stator teeth (102) including a respective stator tooth winding (168), each of which is configured to interact magnetically with the magnetization component of the disc-shaped rotor (38) (Abstract; ¶ 27; ¶ 30; ¶ 42; ¶ 48),
wherein the rotor shaft (22) extends through the annular stator (12, 30, 20) in the axial direction (fig. 2; ¶ 28; ¶ 31), and
wherein the rotor shaft (22) is rotatably supported by the at least two bearings (14, 16) (¶ 27; ¶ 28; ¶ 31).
Ziegler does not explicitly teach the two bearings are arranged directly next to one another.
However, Hawkins teaches (see fig. 2 below) the two bearings (242, 244) are arranged directly next to one another (¶ 18 to ¶ 23) in order to eliminate free play between bearings and provide a stable configuration with optimal axial stiffness (Hawkins, ¶ 21; ¶ 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Ziegler and provide the two bearings are arranged directly next to one another as taught by Hawkins in order to eliminate free play between bearings and provide a stable configuration with optimal axial stiffness (Hawkins, ¶ 21; ¶ 22).
Regarding claim 2/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 1, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) the at least two bearings (14, 16) are arranged axially within the annular stator (12, 30, 20) (fig. 2; ¶ 27; ¶ 28; ¶ 31).
Regarding claim 3/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 1, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) the magnetization component (36) of the disc-shaped rotor (38) is formed at least in some regions on a first end face of a rotor base body (39) (¶ 27 to ¶ 30), and
the first end face faces the plurality of stator teeth (102) and an axial air gap (48) is formed between the first end face and the plurality of stator teeth (102) (¶ 30).
Regarding claim 4/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 1, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) wherein each of the at least two bearings (14, 16) is configured as one of ball bearings (14, 16) and roller bearings (¶ 27; ¶ 28; ¶ 31).
Regarding claim 5/4/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 4, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) the rotor shaft (22) has a radially outwardly directed collar section (52, 54) for one-sided axial positional locking of at least two inner rings of the at least two bearings (14, 16) (¶ 31; ¶ 32).
Regarding claim 8/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 1, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) a fan wheel (40) is arranged at a first end of the rotor shaft (22), and the fan wheel bears axially against a second end face, which is directed away from the first end face of the disc-shaped rotor (38), at least in some regions (fig. 2; ¶ 31).
Regarding claim 10/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 1, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) the electronically commutated motor is configured without a housing (fig. 2; Abstract, ¶ 1; ¶ 33).
Regarding claim 11/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 1, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) a hand-held power tool (intended use limitation not given patentable weight), comprising an electronically commutated motor (fig. 2; Abstract, ¶ 1; ¶ 33).
Regarding claim 12/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 1, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) the at least two bearings (14, 16) are arranged axially between the disc-shaped rotor (38) and the annular stator (12, 30, 20) (¶ 27; ¶ 28; ¶ 31).
Regarding claim 13/5/4/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 5, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) the radially outwardly directed collar section (52, 54) is integral with the rotor shaft (22) (¶ 31; ¶ 32).
6. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler in view of Hawkins as applied to claims 5 and 1 respectively above, and further in view of Sahara (FR 2925239, see English Machine Translation previously attached).
Regarding claim 6/5/4/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 5, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) the annular stator (12, 30, 20) has an annular stator base body (20) with a central opening; the annular stator base body (20) forms a magnetic stator return (¶ 27 to ¶ 30; ¶ 46).
Ziegler in view of Hawkins do not explicitly teach a sleeve-like bearing bracket is accommodated in the central opening and at least two outer rings of the at least two bearings are accommodated in a through-opening of the sleeve-like bearing bracket.
However, Sahara teaches (see figs. 4 and 5 below) a sleeve-like bearing bracket (36) is accommodated in the central opening (76) (of stator 18) and at least two outer rings (44B, 46B) of the at least two bearings (44, 46) are accommodated in a through-opening (38) of the sleeve-like bearing bracket (Abstract; page 5) in order to improve assembly efficiency and thereby reduce costs (Sahara, page 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Ziegler in view of Hawkins and provide a sleeve-like bearing bracket is accommodated in the central opening and at least two outer rings of the at least two bearings are accommodated in a through-opening of the sleeve-like bearing bracket as taught by Sahara in order to improve assembly efficiency and thereby reduce costs (Sahara, page 6).
Regarding claim 7/6/5/4/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins and Sahara teaches the device of claim 6, Ziegler further teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 9 and 11 above) a rotor base body (39) of the disc-shaped rotor (38) forms a magnetic rotor return for the magnetization component of the disc-shaped rotor (38) (¶ 27 to ¶ 30).
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegler in view of Hawkins as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Byram (US 20030227362).
Regarding claim 9/8/1, Ziegler in view of Hawkins teaches the device of claim 8 but does not explicitly teach a second end of the rotor shaft has at least one signal transmitter configured to detect a position of the rotor in relation to the stator.
However, Byram teaches (see fig. 2 below) a second end of the rotor shaft (86) has at least one signal transmitter (90) configured to detect a position of the rotor (80) in relation to the stator (60) (¶ 18; ¶ 21) in order to provide rotor position with improved accuracy and in a cost-effective manner (Byram, ¶ 5, ¶ 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Ziegler in view of Hawkins and provide a second end of the rotor shaft has at least one signal transmitter configured to detect a position of the rotor in relation to the stator as taught by Byram in order to provide rotor position with improved accuracy and in a cost-effective manner (Byram, ¶ 5, ¶ 21).
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834