Detailed Action
Priority
This application filed November 23rd, 2022, is a national stage application of PCT/US2022/080429, which claims the benefit of provisional applications 63/283,140 and 63/416,745 filed November 24th, 2021 and October 17th, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure statements submitted on September 10th 2024, September 25th 2025, and January 15th 2026 were considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are in gray ink, and it is difficult to see the Figures.
Claim Status
Claims examined: 1-31
Claims rejected: 1-31
Claims objected to: 26 and 27
Claim objections
Claims 26 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
States “a Compound 1”, should be rewritten as “the Compound 1”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
The omitted elements are: The structure of compound 1 should be included in Claim 1, it is only referenced in the specification, see below. Compound 1 is interpreted as (1R,5R)-1-(3-Methyl-1,2,4-oxadiazol-5-yl)-3-azabicyclo[3.1.0]hexane, without the addition of the hydrochloride salt.
Claim 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 29 is dependent on Claim 1, a method for treating schizophrenia or Alzheimer’s disease psychosis in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of Compound 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and a therapeutically effective amount of fesoterodine, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Claim 29 claims the method of claim 1, wherein the Compound 1 comprises the hydrochloride salt, see below.
Claim 29 uses the open-ended claim language, “comprises” to describe compound 1 as having additional components of the hydrochloride salt. Claim 29 does not further limit claim 1, because of the addition of the hydrochloride salt that is not mentioned in Claim 1. The additional element in Claim 29, of the hydrochloride salt to Compound 1, does not further limit the scope of Claim 1 that it is dependent on.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 21-23, and 26-30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (Brent Abraham, Richard Copp, et al. “Cognition enhancing compounds and compositions, methods of making, and methods of treating”, WO 2012/033956 A1, Pub. Date 03-15-2012) and further in view of Li (Z. Lane Li et al. “Relationship Between Physical Properties and Crystal Structures of Chiral Drugs”, Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Volume 86, Number 10, Pub. Date October 1997, Pgs. 1073-1078).
Regarding claims 1-3, 29, and 30, Abraham teaches "embodiments include administering to a subject suffering from psychosis, a therapeutically effective amount of the compounds and compositions described above", and in some instances, the psychosis accompanies or results from schizophrenia or Alzheimer's disease” (pg. 65, [00142]). In Claim 64, Abraham teaches a pharmaceutical composition for administration to a subject in need comprising a selective muscarinic agonist compound of claims 1-13 to achieve anti-psychotic behavior, and a muscarinic antagonist.
Abraham teaches fesoterodine fumarate as a muscarinic antagonist (Pg 60, [00129]).
Claim 12 in Abraham teaches 5-(3-azabicyclo [3.1.0, hexane,1(-3-methyl-1,2,4 oxadiazol-5-yl)-hydrochloride), compound 56 in the specification (Pg. 172, [00414]), see below.
Abraham teaches “Stereoisomers {also known as optical isomers) of the compounds described herein include all chiral, diastereomeric, and racemic forms of a structure, unless the specific stereochemistry is expressly indicated” (Pg. 57, [00122]).
Abraham does not teach the 1R,5R enantiomer of Compound 1 in the instant claims, left or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt in instant Claim 29, right.
Li teaches pharmaceutical applications of enantiomers of chiral drugs, and that different enantiomers produce different pharmacological and toxicological effects when they interact with biological macromolecules.
Regarding Claims 1-3, 29 and 30, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize compound 56 disclosed in Abraham, to arrive at the specific stereochemistry disclosed in Compound 1 in the present claims because, both methods disclose a pharmaceutical composition for treating schizophrenia and psychosis associated Alzheimers disease with fesoterodine fumarate and 5-(3-azabicyclo [3.1.0, hexane,1(-3-methyl-1,2,4 oxadiazol-5-yl)-hydrochloride). Although Abraham does not disclose the 1R,5R enantiomer form of Compound 1 in the present claims, Li teaches different enantiomers produce different pharmacological and toxicological effects. It would have been obvious to try a finite number of enantiomers and through routine optimization, determine which one produces the least toxicological effects with the greatest pharmacological effects, to arrive at the claimed compound 1 because Abraham teaches the same method as the instant claims and discloses Compound 56 as including all racemic forms.
See rejection above regarding Claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Abraham teaches a method of co-administration with separate administration of agonist and antagonist and the compounds/compositions described herein can be formulated, into pharmaceutically acceptable compositions (Pg. 59 and 70, [00126] and [00153]).
Regarding claim 22, Abraham teaches “The instant compositions can be formulated for various routes of administration, for example, by oral, transdermal, parenteral, rectal, nasal, vaginal administration, or via implanted reservoir or other device such as a stent” (Pg. 70, [00153]).
Regrading claim 23, Abraham teaches “the period over which the extended release is observed is for about three, four, five, or six hours” (Pg. 4, [0021]).
Regarding claim 28, Abraham teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising one selective muscarinic agonist compound and one muscarinic antagonist in Claim 86.
Regarding claim 31, Abraham discloses “combinations of a subtype selective, muscarinic agonist and a peripherally selective muscarinic antagonist can he delivered efficiently and simultaneously from a single, iontophoretic device, and that the combination: can reduce or prevent unwanted side effects” (Pg. 145, [00351]).
Regarding Claims 21-23, 28, and 31, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to administer the muscarinic agonist and antagonist in separate formulations, orally, in extended release form, and in a pharmaceutical composition to reduce unwanted side effects, because the same method of treatment, used with the same muscarinic agonist (Compound 1 in instant claims), and muscarinic antagonist (fesoterodine fumarate) would produce the same results if administered the same way.
Claims 26 and 27 in the present application, recites the intended biological test results of the method of claim 1, “desfesoterodine plasma concentration ratio”, but do not provide further limitations. The court noted that a “‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). Therefore, if the method of claim 1 is rejected under anticipation, the limitations of Claims 26 and 27 that recite the intended results of the method of Claim 1 are also rejected under anticipation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-20, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (Brent Abraham, Richard Copp, et al. “Cognition enhancing compounds and compositions, methods of making, and methods of treating”, WO 2012/033956 A1, Pub. Date 03-15-2012) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Elenko (Eric Elenko, Andrew Miller, “Methods and Compositions for Treatment of Disorders Ameliorated by Muscarinic Receptor Activation”, WO2011011060 A1 Pub. Date: 01-27-2011).
Regarding Claims 15-20, and 24 Abraham does not teach administration of the muscarinic inhibitor more than once during a 24-hour period, or the administration of the muscarinic inhibitor within one hour of the muscarinic activator.
Regarding Claims 15-20, and 24, Elenko teaches a method of treating central nervous system disorders using combinations of muscarinic activators and inhibitors (Abstract). Schizophrenia, psychosis, and psychosis associated Alzheimer’s disease are diseases/disorders disclosed as embodiments for the method (Pg. 9, [0040]).
Regarding claims 15-20, Elenko teaches, the muscarinic Activator and Muscarinic Inhibitor are administered to a patient 1, 2, or 3 times during a 24-hour period, in preferred embodiments (Pg. 16-17, [0066]).
Regarding claim 24, Elenko teaches the muscarinic Inhibitor is administered within one hour of administration of the muscarinic Activator (Pg. 16, [0064]).
Regarding claims 15-20, and 24, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute compound 56 disclosed in Abraham for use in the method disclosed in Elenko because Elenko and Abraham both teach a method for treating Schizophrenia and psychosis associated Alzheimer’s by administering a muscarinic inhibitor and muscarinic activator and compound 56 is taught in Abraham as a muscarinic activator. It would have been obvious to substitute one muscarinic activator for another when they both apply to the same patient population and mechanism of action.
Regarding claims 4-6, Abraham does not teach dosage for the muscarinic activator in composition with the muscarinic inhibitor.
Elenko teaches from 10 micrograms to 10 grams of Activator is used in the combination with the Inhibitor (Pg. 16, [0065]).
The dosage for Compound 1 disclosed in Claims 4-6, falls within the range value disclosed in Elenko for muscarinic activators. The courts found that, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.
Regarding claim 4, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the dosage range of 10 micrograms to 10 grams for muscarinic activators disclosed in Elenko, to arrive at the claimed dosage range of 5 mg to 800 mg in Claim 4 because the range of the claimed invention lies inside the range disclosed in the prior art. Claim 5 and 6 also fall within the dosage range disclosed in Elenko and are rendered obvious.
Regarding claims 7-9, Abraham teaches “embodiments of the disclosure herein provide testing a subject to determine the concentration, of a composition described herein in the subject's serum or plasma at a predetermined time following administration of a predetermined dose of that composition, and/or testing a patient to determine the amount of cholinergic side effects, if any” (Pg. 105, [00271]).
Abraham also teaches, “Skilled artisans, however, will appreciate that the current may be adjusted to deliver drug at a lower rate to maintain a steady plasma concentration above the therapeutic level and below the level, at which side effects such as diaphoresis or salivation are triggered” (Pg. 133, [00324]).
Regarding claims 7-9, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try and optimize the steady state plasma concentrations disclosed in claims 7-9 because steady state-plasma concentrations are calculated based on dosage and if the dosage ranges of Claims 4-6 fall into the range disclosed in Elenko for muscarinic activators, it would be obvious that the steady state plasma concentrations would also fall into the range disclosed.
Regarding Claims 10-12, Abraham does not teach dosage amounts for fesoterodine.
Regarding Claims 10-12, Elenko teaches two milligrams to 56 milligrams of fesoterodine administered daily (Pg. 35, [0093]).
Claims 11 and 12 fall within the range value disclosed in Elenko, while Claim 10 has an overlapping range value.
The courts found that, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of “about 1-5%” while the claim was limited to “more than 5%.” The court held that “about 1-5%” allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to optimize the dosage range of 2 mg to 56 mg for fesoterodine disclosed in Elenko, to arrive at the claimed dosage range of 1 mg to 50 mg in Claim 10 because the range of the claimed invention overlaps with the range disclosed in the prior art. Claim 11 and 12 also fall inside the dosage range disclosed in Elenko and are rendered obvious.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Abraham teaches “embodiments of the disclosure herein provide testing a subject to determine the concentration, of a composition described herein in the subject's serum or plasma at a predetermined time following administration of a predetermined dose of that composition, and/or testing a patient to determine the amount of cholinergic side effects, if any” (Pg. 105, [00271]).
Abraham also teaches, “Skilled artisans, however, will appreciate that the current may be adjusted to deliver drug at a lower rate to maintain a steady plasma concentration above the therapeutic level and below the level, at which side effects such as diaphoresis or salivation are triggered” (Pg. 133, [00324]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try and optimize the steady state plasma concentrations disclosed in claims 13 and 14 because steady state-plasma concentrations are calculated based on dosage and if the dosage ranges of Claims 10-12 fall into the range disclosed in Elenko for muscarinic inhibitor fesoterodine, it would be obvious that the steady state plasma concentrations would also fall into the range disclosed in the present invention.
Regarding claim 25, Abraham does not teach treatment optimization for the composition containing the muscarinic activator and inhibitor.
Regarding claim 25, Elenko discloses “Treatment, including composition, amounts, times of administration and formulation, may be optimized according to the results of such monitoring” (Pg. 36, [0095]).
Regarding claim 25, It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the disclosed method of administering the muscarinic activator 1 hour after the inhibitor and optimize the dosage to include administering the activator four hours after the inhibitor. Four hours and 1 hour are relatively close values, and with dose optimization, it would be obvious to try administration after four hours, rendering claims obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, 19, 22, 23, 28, 29, provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 66, 67, 68, 69, 22, of copending Application No. US 19/487,423 (reference application).
Regarding Claims 1-6, and 10-12 in the present application, claim 1 in the copending application claims a composition comprising about 10 mg to about 500 mg of Compound 1, shown below,
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salty thereof; and about 1 mg to about 20 mg of fesoterodine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; wherein the oral administration of the composition to a patient in need thereof provides a tmax of Compound 1 of about 0.1 h to about 10 h and a tmax of desfesoterodine of about 0.1 h to about 10 h following administration of the composition.
Claim 66 in the copending application claims a method of treating schizophrenia in a patient in need thereof, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of the composition of any one of claims 1-19 and 58-61, or the tablet of any one of claims 20-57.
Claim 67 in the coepnding application claims a method of treating Alzheimer's disease in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of the composition of any one of claims 1-19 and 58-61, or the tablet of any one of claims 20-57.
Although Claim 1-6, 10-12, 22 and 28 in the present application, and claims 1, 66, and 67 in the copending application are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, claims 1, 66, and 67 in the copending application discloses the same patient population, Schizophrenia and Alzheimer’s patients, administration of Compound 1 and fesoterodine in a oral composition, and dosage ranges for Compound 1 and fesoterodine in therapeutically effective amounts that overlap with the instant claims. It can be assumed that administering the same composition, to the same patient population, with the same dosage, would produce the same results. Therefore Claims 1, 66, and 67 in the copending application are not patentably distinct from Claim 1-6, 10-12, 22 and 28 in the present application.
Regarding Claims 15, 16, 18 and 19 in the present application, claim 68 in the copending application claims the method of any of claims 62-66, wherein the composition is administered once per day. Claim 69 in the copending application claims the method of any of claims 62-66, wherein the composition is administered twice per day.
Although claims 15, 16, 18, and 19 in the present application, and claims 68 and 69 in the copending application are not identical, they are not patentablty distinct from each other because, they both claim administering a composition of Compound 1 and fesoterodine once or twice a day, to the same patient population, Schizophrenia and Alzheimer’s patients.
Regarding claim 23 in the present application, claim 22 in the copending application claims the tablet of claim 20 or 21, wherein the tablet comprises an extended-release (ER) portion comprising fesoterodine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Although claim 23 in the present application and claim 22 in the copending application are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim the method of administering Fesoterodine in an extended-release composition with Compound 1, to treat Alzheimer’s psychosis or schizophrenia.
Regarding Claims 26 and 27 in the present application, it recites the intended biological test results of the method of Claim 1, but does not provide further limitations. The court noted that a “‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). Therefore, if the method of Claim 1 is rejected under nonstatutory double patenting over Claims 1, 66, and 67 in copending Application No. 19/487,423, the limitations of Claims 26 and 27 that recite the intended results of the method of claim 1 in the present application are also rejected as obvious over copending claims 1, 66, and 67.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/C.M.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627