DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to Applicant’s submission dated 05/23/2024 & 09/01/2026. Claim(s) 23–44 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 23, 27, 29–37, 40, & 42–44 in the reply filed on 09/01/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 23 recites a technical feature that makes a contribution over the cited prior art. This is not found persuasive because, as discussed in detail below, Park anticipates the entirety of claim 23, which means that it does not recite a technical feature that makes a contribution over the prior art. Applicant is reminded that since claim 23 is generic to both groups of claims, should claim 23 be determined to be allowable, the restriction requirement will be withdrawn and non-elected claims will be rejoined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a measurement unit…configured to measure the moisture content of the clothes” in claim 36, which has been interpreted to mean “a moisture sensor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, it is unclear how a maintenance RPM can be greater than a peak RPM, when, by definition, a peak RPM should be the highest possible RPM since a peak is defined as being “the highest level or greatest degree” (source: Merriam-Webster.com (2026)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23, 29–35, & 42–44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0000033 to Park et al.
With regard to claims 23 & 42, Park discloses a laundry treatment apparatus and its associated method of use (abstract) comprising: a cabinet (2) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0005); a tub (4) disposed in the cabinet (2) and configured to accommodate water (Fig. 1; ¶ 0005); a drum (6) rotatably disposed in the tub (4) and configured to accommodate clothes (Fig. 1; ¶ 0005), the drum (6) having a plurality of through-holes (6a) configured to communicate the water in the tub (4) with an inner space of the drum (6) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0005); and a control unit configured to control rotation of the drum (6) and to perform a dehydration cycle including a first dehydration cycle (A40) and a second dehydration cycle (B) (¶ 0060), wherein the control unit is configured to: in the first dehydration cycle, perform a peak motion of the drum by increasing revolutions per minute (RPM) of the drum to a peak RPM and then decreasing the RPM of the drum from the peak RPM (¶ 0063), and in the second dehydration cycle, perform a maintenance motion of the drum by increasing the RPM of the drum to a maintenance RPM, maintaining the RPM of the drum at the maintenance RPM for a predetermined time, and then decreasing the RPM of the drum from the maintenance RPM (¶¶ 0068, 0079).
With regard to claim 27, Park further discloses the maintenance RPM is greater than the peak RPM (Figs. 7–10).
With regard to claim 29, Park further discloses the first dehydration cycle includes a [first] dehydration cycle (C70) and a [second] dehydration cycle (C80) (Figs. 7–10), and wherein the control unit is configured to: in the [first] dehydration cycle (C70), perform a first peak motion of the drum (6) by decreasing the RPM of the drum (6) after rising to a first peak RPM (Figs. 7–10); and in the [second] dehydration cycle (C80), perform a second peak motion of the drum (6) by decreasing the RPM of the drum (6) after rising to a second peak RPM different from the first peak RPM (Figs. 7–10).
With regard to claim 30, Park further discloses the second peak RPM is greater than the first peak RPM (Figs. 7–10).
With regard to claim 31, Park further discloses the maintenance RPM is greater than the second peak RPM (Figs. 7–10).
With regard to claim 32, Park further discloses the control unit is configured to, in the [first] dehydration cycle, control rotation of the drum to repeatedly perform a fabric untangling motion after completion of the first peak motion (Figs. 7–10; ¶¶ 0040, 0074–0077, 0080–0086), wherein the control unit is configured to perform the fabric untangling motion by (i) rotating the drum at a fabric untangling RPM that is less than the first peak RPM (Figs. 7–10; ¶¶ 0040, 0074–0077, 0080–0086) and then (ii) stopping rotation of the drum (6) (Figs. 7–10; ¶¶ 0040, 0074–0077, 0080–0086).
With regard to claims 33 & 44, Park further discloses the control unit is configured to control rotation of the drum to perform the fabric untangling motion after performing each of the first peak motion, the second peak motion, and the maintenance motion (Figs. 7–10; ¶¶ 0040, 0074–0077, 0080–0086).
With regard to claim 34, Park further discloses the control unit is configured to, in the [first] dehydration cycle, rotate the drum (6) at the first peak RPM to thereby reduce a moisture content of the clothes to be within a predetermined first range (¶¶ 0063, 0082, 0089).
With regard to claim 35, Park further discloses the control unit is configured to, in the [second] dehydration cycle, rotate the drum at the second peak RPM to thereby reduce the moisture content of the clothes to be within a second range that is lower than the predetermined first range (Figs. 7–10; ¶¶ 0063, 0082, 0089).
With regard to claim 43, Park further discloses the first dehydration cycle includes a [first] dehydration cycle (C85) and a [second] dehydration cycle (C70) (Figs. 7–10), and wherein the method further comprises: in the [first] dehydration cycle (C85), performing a first peak motion of the drum by decreasing the RPM of the drum after rising to a first peak RPM (Figs. 7–10); and in the [second] dehydration cycle (C70), performing a second peak motion of the drum by decreasing the RPM of the drum after rising to a second peak RPM greater than the first peak RPM (Figs. 7–10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of US 2021/0269964 to Shin et al.
Park fails to disclose a measurement unit disposed in the cabinet and configured to measure the moisture content of the clothes, wherein the control unit is configured to determine the moisture content of the clothes based on a value measured by the measurement unit. Shin teaches a measurement unit (95) disposed in the cabinet and configured to measure the moisture content of the clothes (¶¶ 0073–0074), wherein the control unit is configured to determine the moisture content of the clothes based on a value measured by the measurement unit (95) (¶¶ 0073–0074). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the laundry treatment apparatus of Park with the moisture sensor of Shin because such a combination would have had the added benefit of allowing the apparatus to determine when the drying cycle is complete.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
Park fails to disclose the control unit is configured to: in the [first] dehydration cycle, increase the RPM of the drum to reach the first peak RPM within a first time; and in the [second] dehydration cycle, increase the RPM of the drum to reach the second peak RPM within a second time that is longer than the first time. The ramp up time is a known results-effective variable because the longer the ramp up time, the less stress on the motor to get the drum up to speed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ramp up time be longer for the second time than the first time, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 37 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892. Applicant is encouraged to review the cited references prior to submitting a response to this office action.
/DAVID J LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
September 24, 2026