DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “the first connection pad is joined to the outer wall and the inner wall to seal the insulator” is unclear as to whether the first connection pad itself is required to provide a seal between the inner and outer walls or whether the first connection pad is merely joined to the outer wall and the junction between the inner and outer wall forms a junction that seals the insulator. The scope of the claimed connection pad arrangement cannot be determined with reasonable clarity from the claim as presented.
For the purposes of compact persecution and this office action the claim is interpreted to require the connection pad is joined to the inner and outer wall and that the junction between the outer wall and inner wall seal the insulator.
Claims 2-11 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I corresponding to claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 8-19-2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction requirement fails to show how Kim teaches or suggests the other limitations of the independent claim 1 and because claims 12-15 depend from claim 1. (see Remarks filed with restriction filed 8-19-2026). This is not found persuasive because restriction practice under PCT rules for restriction only requires a showing of lack of unity of invention under PCT rule 13.1 to make restriction proper. As explained in the restriction requirement mailed 7-22-2026:
Therefore as this identified shared technical feature of the claims in question is not a special technical feature as shown by Kim (emphasis added for clarity), the claims show a lack of unity of invention under PCT Rule 13.1 in view of Kim and the restriction is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7-22-2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20220354184A1) in view of Courbat (US20220039470A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim (US20220354184A1) teaches a heating apparatus (5) for an aerosol generating device (See [0068] and FIG 14), comprising:
an insulator (20v, [0057] and FIG 11), comprising an inner wall (heat transfer pipe 10 wall forming inner wall, see [0036]) and an outer wall (cover 20 having a sidewall 22 forming the outer wall, [0044], see FIG 11, see also FIG 5) that are separated from one another;
a cavity (receiving passage 10v, e.g., cavity inside 10, [0038]) configured to receive an aerosol forming substance (7, see FIG 14), positioned adjacent the inner wall of the insulator (e.g., see aerosol forming substrate containing rod 7 illustrated in FIG 14, that is received in the receiving passage 10v [0038], which is adjacent to the inner wall of the insulator 20v [0057];
a heater (40c, see FIG 14) provided inside the insulator (20v) on the inner wall (see FIG 14), configured to heat an aerosol forming substance (7, see FIG 14) received in the cavity by thermal conduction to generate an aerosol (See FIG 14, heat would be conducted through heat transfer pipe 10 to cigarette 7, [0090], an ordinary artisan would appreciate at least some heat is received by thermal conduction to generate an aerosol by the aerosol forming substance 7); and
a first connection pad (50p) provided to electrically connect the heater to a power source, the connection pad 50p is connected to heater and electrically connected via wire 40g [0086], connected electrically via lower electrode 50r to controller connection pad 70r [0088] to electrically connect to power source.
the outer wall and inner wall to seal the insulator (Kim’s sealing stopper 50 seals the insulating space 20v between heat transfer pipe 10 and cover 20 [0057]-[0059], [0063], the upper electrode 50p incorporated into the sealing stopper 50 [0086]-[0089], and
Courbat (US20220039470A1) teaches a heating assembly for an aerosol generating article and teaches the heater assembly may comprise first and second electrically conductive pads for connecting a heater to a power supply and teaches the electrically conductive contact portions can be deposited directly onto a heater to provide electrical connections [0034]-[0035]
It would have been obvious to modify Kim to provide the conductive track and contact pad portions as taught by Courbat [0035]-[0036] on Kim’s heater 40c supported by pipe 10 as taught by Courbat, to provide a reliable electrical connection while reducing contact resistance and associated power losses [0035]-[0036].
the heater is spaced apart from the outer wall; (Kim heater 40c arranged on heat transfer pipe 10 and separated from the cover sidewall 22 by space 20v, see Kim [0044], [0053]-[0054] and
the first connection pad at least partially covers the heater to provide a protective layer over the heater. (Courbat electrically conductive portions deposited directly onto portions of the heater, including a conductive layer overlying the heater in the contact portions [0034]-[0035])
Kim separately teaches a protective layer arranged over heater 40c [0054]. In the proposed combined arrangement, Courbat’s conductive pad would physically cover a portion of Kim’s heater 40c.
Kim is silent to providing the electrode 50p or Courbat’s proposed contact pad joined to both heat transfer pipe 10 and cover 20.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange or extend the conductive contact pad into the existing joint between the heat transfer pipe 10 and cover 20 such that the pad is joined to both walls, while retaining Kims sealing stopper 50 to seal insulating space 20v. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Additionally, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s electrical heater connection using Courbat’s conductive contact portions because Courbat teaches reliable electrical connection and reduced contact resistance [0035]-[0036].
Kim already teaches conductive electrodes associated with sealing stopper 50 [0086]-[0089]. The proposed modification is to extend the conductive pad onto the wall adjoining region so that it is joined to both walls.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Kim teaches the inner wall and the outer wall are separated by a vacuum such that the insulator is a vacuum insulator (see Kim [0057]-[0059], [0063], vacuum insulated space 20v, see FIG 11 and FIG 13B which discloses extracting air and sealing the vacuum insulator), and
the first connection pad is joined to the outer wall and the inner wall to seal the vacuum inside the vacuum insulator. (see Kim [0057]-[0059], [0063], vacuum insulated space 20v, see FIG 11 and FIG 13B, the outer wall and inner wall are sealed to keep out the extracted air), and
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim’s electrical heater connection using Courbat’s conductive contact portion (e.g., taught in [0034]-[0035] because Courbat teaches reliable electrical connection and reduced contact resistance [0035]-[0036].
Kim already teaches conductive electrodes associated with sealing stopper 50 [0086]-[0089]. The proposed modification is to extend the conductive pad onto the wall adjoining region so that the first conductive pad is joined to both walls. Rearrangement of parts where both arrangements are known equivalents is a design choice that gives predicable results. See MPEP § 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kim teaches the claim limitation as set forth above. Courbat teaches the heater comprises an electrically resistive track that is printed or coated on the inner wall. (e.g., [0032]-[0033] the electrically conductive heater track comprises electrically conductive material comprising metal particles suspending in an adhesive agent and may be printed or coated onto a supporting surface using techniques including screen printing, inkjet printing, and vapor deposition.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, modified Kim fails to explicitly disclose the first connection pad covers a substantially full amount of the heater.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to change the size of the first connection pad such that it covers a substantially full amount of the heater because changing the size or proportion of a known components is within the level of routine skill in the art. Such a modification would increase the physical coverage of the heater by the connection pad, consistent with the protective layer function recited in claim 1. A change in size or proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Courbat teaches the first connection pad has an electrical resistance that is less than an electrical resistance of the heater.(preferably, by two orders of magnitude, [0036]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Courbat teaches the heater and the first connection pad comprise different materials (e.g., Courbat teaches the heater comprises a first electrically conductive layer formed from a resistive material such as tungsten or NiCr alloy [0018] and that the connection pad (second layer) comprises a higher conductivity material such as gold, silver, aluminum or copper [0026], see also [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Courbat teaches a second connection pad provided on the inner wall, (in the modification of claim 1, Courbat teaches the first and second electrically conductive portions deposited directly onto the resistive heater (Courbat [0034]), and in the modification the second contact portion is provided on Kim’s heat transfer pipe 10 (inner wall).
Kim in view of Courbat as modified in claim 1 teaches the second connection pad is joined to the inner wall and the outer wall to seal the insulator.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above.
Additionally, Courbat teaches the first connection pad and the second connection pad are connected to different parts of the heater [0034]-[0035], e.g., first and second electrically conductive contact portions fixed directly to different contact regions (parts) of the heater
and respectively configured to connect to opposite terminals of a power source to enable an electric current to flow through the heater. (e.g., Courbat [0034]-[0036], first and second electrically conductive contact portions configured to connect the heater to a power supply, being connected to the power source enables electric current to flow through the heater).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally Kim teaches an aerosol generating device comprising the heating apparatus of claim 1, see FIG 14 and [0067]-[0072].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally modified Kim teaches a controller (70) configured to control operation of the heater [0068] and [0074, controller 70 configured to control the heater 40c,
the first connection pad is electrically coupled to the controller (e.g., the upper electrode 50p is electrically connected to lower electrode 50r through a circuit pattern within sealing stopper 50 and lower electrode 50r contacts controller pad 70r which electrically couples the heater 40c to the controller 70 through wire 40g, [0086]-[0089].
See also Courbat [0034]-[0035] as applied in the modification in claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US20220354184A1) and Courbat (US20220039470A1) and in view of Howell (US5743251).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kim teaches the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Kim and Courbat are silent to mechanical robustness suitable to the heater and the connection pads in aerosol generating devices.
Howell (US5743251) teaches aerosol generating devices and electrical connections suitable for use and teaches electrically conductive contact posts 27B” provided on tube 23 and electrically connected to resistive heater layer 27B”, and teaches the contact posts are provided to improve the mechanical strength of the assembly with low electrical resistance. (see FIG 2B and column 4 lines 57-67 to column 5 lines 1-7).
Howell further teaches forming these connection pads/posts made from copper or copper alloys and bonding them to the tube for the purpose of provide a strong connection which an ordinary artisan would understand would have an increased mechanical robustness of the pad with respect to the heater.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive contact pad of modifed Kim/Courbat with the connection pads made from copper or copper alloy as taught by Howell to provide these connection pads of modified Kim with increased mechanical strength of the pads in addition to low resistance as taught by Howell. (see FIG 2B and column 4 lines 57-67 to column 5 lines 1-7).
Conclusion
/M.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747