DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mukai et al. (WO2020/105735 (corresponding US PGPub 2022/0020989 used for citation purposes)).
Considering Claim 1, Mukai discloses an electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (electrode for non-aqueous electrolyte batteries [Abstract] that are secondary batteries [0139, 0186]), comprising:
a collector containing a porous metal (collector is preferably porous [0170] and made of aluminum [0059]); and
an organosulfur active material (sulfur-based active material [Abstract] that is sulfur modified polyacrylonitrile [0051]).
Considering Claim 2, Mukai discloses that the porous metal contains aluminum (collector is preferably porous [0170] and made of aluminum [0059]).
Considering Claim 5, Mukai discloses that the organosulfur active material is sulfur-modified polyacrylonitrile (sulfur-based active material [Abstract] that is sulfur modified polyacrylonitrile [0051]).
Considering Claim 7, Mukai discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery [Abstract, 0186, 0248]), comprising:
a positive electrode consisting of the electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1 (electrode used for positive electrode [0072, 0140], see claim 1);
a negative electrode containing a negative electrode active material (negative electrode contains lithium metal active material [0186, 0187, 0241]); and
a non-aqueous electrolyte (non-aqueous electrolyte [Abstract, 0202]).
Considering Claim 8, Mukai discloses that the negative electrode active material of the negative electrode contains a lithium-based metal (negative electrode contains lithium metal active material [0186, 0187, 0241]).
Considering Claim 9, Mukai discloses that the negative electrode consists of lithium-based metal foil (negative electrode is lithium metal foil [0186, 0187, 0241]).
Considering Claim 10, Mukai discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery [Abstract, 0186, 0248]), comprising:
a positive electrode containing a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material (positive electrode and active material [0189]);
a negative electrode consisting of the electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery of claim 1 (electrode is used for the negative electrode [0189], see claim 1); and
a non-aqueous electrolyte (non-aqueous electrolyte [Abstract, 0202]).
Considering Claim 11, Mukai discloses an organsulfur active material (sulfur-based active material [Abstract] that is sulfur modified polyacrylonitrile [0051]) for producing an electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (electrode for non-aqueous electrolyte batteries [Abstract] that are secondary batteries [0139, 0186]) comprising a collector containing a porous metal (collector is preferably porous [0170] and made of aluminum [0059]).
Considering Claim 12, Mukai discloses that the organosulfur active material is sulfur-modified polyacrylonitrile (sulfur-based active material [Abstract] that is sulfur modified polyacrylonitrile [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukai et al. (WO2020/105735 (corresponding US PGPub 2022/0020989 used for citation purposes)).
Considering Claim 3, Mukai discloses that the porosity of the porous current collector may be 1% or more and 95% or less [0170]. Mukai notes that the porosity provides an increased filling density and the coating material can easily permeate into the active material layer [0170]. Therefore, routinely experimenting with and choosing within this range to provide these expected results of 80% or more and 95% or less would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 4, Mukai discloses that the porous current collector can have different forms such as mesh, woven fabric, an embossed body, a punched body, an expanded body, and a foamed body [0170], which come with different pore types and sizes. Mukai notes that the proportional porosity, which ranges from 1% or more and 95% or less for the purposes of increasing the filling density and ensuring that the coating material can easily permeate into the active material layer [0170], so routinely experimenting with and coming up with an average inner diameter from 50 µm to 1,000 µm to achieve such results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 6, Mukai discloses that the loaded active material depends on the capacity per unit of the electrode [0174], and that the porosity of the current collector may be increase to increase the filling density [0170]. Therefore, routinely experimenting with and coming up with a mass per unit area of from 15 mg/cm2 to 50 mg/cm2 for capacity purposes would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725