DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 12-23) in the reply filed on 12/10/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 24-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the motor and battery must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mechanism to rotate” in claims 12 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 16-17 and 22, the term “comprises at least a motor” is indefinite, as it is unclear how the rotating mechanism could function with only a motor. As best understood by the Examiner, the rotating mechanism would additionally need to comprise a power source, and/or gearing or transmission means. Further, it is unclear what additional components the rotating mechanism could also comprise which would be encompassed by the term “at least”. Additionally, claim 17 is a duplicate of claim 16 and should be deleted. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-13, 15, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 102028079 B1).
Regarding the above claims, Kim discloses a light curing unit (LCU) for dentistry (100), comprising: a baseplate (130) having a plurality of light sources (132/133/134135) disposed thereon and arranged to provide irradiation in generally a same direction (e.g. through tip 140); and a mechanism to rotate the baseplate during use (e.g. cavity 111 and opening 113 which allows/provides for manual rotation of the baseplate therein) whereby to spectrally blend light received from the light sources at any irradiated point (capable of being used as such; e.g. device can be rotated continuously and/or discreetly to blend light sources if desired); wherein the plurality of light sources have different emissions spectra (see Machine Translation, page 4, paragraph 3). The device of Kim is further capable of being rotated at a frequency of greater than 0.2 Hz (capable of being rotated as desired by the operator; per claims 12-13 and 19). Kim further discloses wherein the light sources are a plurality of LEDs (see MT, page 4, paragraph 3; per claims 15 and 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Ishii et al (JP 2004230122, as evidenced by its Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Kim discloses that the plurality of light sources comprise at least two LED each having a single emissions spectra peak (see above), including a first LED at 405 nm and a second at 460 nm (see citations above), but does not explicitly teach the second LED has a wavelength of 470 nm as required.
Ishii et al, however, teaches a similar dental curing light (see Fig. 2) with a rotatable element (3a) with a plurality of LEDS (10), wherein the peak emission wavelength of an LED can be 470 nm (see [0022]-[0023] and [0030], Machine Translation). Ishii et al further notes that the LED emission is matched to a common light cure initiator (see [0009]) and that the rotatable element can be electrically rotated (see above). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the 460 nm LED of Kim to include Ishii’s use of a 470nm wavelength, as such modification would make use of an old and well known curing wavelength, matching the light to a well-known light cure initiator (see Ishii, [0009]), improving efficiency of curing.
Claim(s) 16-18 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of LaRocque (US 2010/0190130 A1).
Regarding the above claims, Kim discloses that the base member is manually rotatable and wherein the light sources are powered by an internal battery (180), but does not teach wherein the rotating mechanism comprises at least a motor powered by an internal battery as required.
LaRocque, however, teaches a similar dental curing light with a rotatable member (202) which is rotated by a motor (200) and powered by an internal battery [0030]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the device of Kim to include LaRocque’s use of a motor to rotate a rotatable member, as such modification would improve ease of use of the device while improving treatment efficiency (see [0006] LaRocque). Further, the Examiner notes that such modification would merely involve the automation of a formerly manual activity, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (see MPEP 2144.04(III)).
Conclusion
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772