Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 1/30/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 1-8 withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 1/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high solar reflectance” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high solar reflectance” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “high thermal emittance” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term” high thermal emittance ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination the Examiner interprets this as greater than about 0.9.
The term “strong molecular” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “strong molecular” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear why this is being claimed as the independent claim already states that the paper is made of HAP and therefore necessarily has the same types of bonds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2017/0022668 ZHU et al., hereinafter ZHU.
As for claim 9, ZHU discloses hydroxyapatite paper [abstract, Figure 3 and 4] that has been formed by the calcium oleate solvothermal process [0009-0012]. The fibers (nanowires/microwires) are washed [0012] and then added and dispersed in a solvent followed by forming, pressing and drying to obtain a paper [0018-0020].
The Examiner interprets “for radiative cooling and heat dissipation” as an intended use of the paper formed.
As for claims 10 and 17, the paper sheet is flexible [0018]
As for claims 11-15, 18, and 20, ZHU discloses a substantially the same product hydroxyapatite paper made in substantially the same way. Th instant invention example makes the fibers by combining oleic acid, alcohol, calcium chloride, NaOH, and monosodium phosphate and reacting for 24 hours at 190 degrees C followed by dispersing in denatured alcohol and washing [Instant specification 0025-0026]. The instant invention then vacuum filters the product, dries the formed sheet at 60 degrees C and presses the paper sheet produced [instant specification 0026]. ZHU discloses mixing oleic acid, calcium chloride, ethanol alcohol, sodium hydroxide and monobasic sodium phosphate together and heating at 180 degrees C or 200 degrees C for 23 hours [Examples 1-3]. ZHU discloses separating and washing the produced reaction product with ethanol and water. This is followed by vacuum filtering drying at 60 degrees C and pressing [Examples 1-3]. It follows that it will have substantially the same properties as claimed.
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties."
In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.
In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)
As for claim 19, paper is a layered staggered structure and this can be seen in Figure 3 of ZHU.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2017/0022668 ZHU et al., hereinafter ZHU, in view of, if necessary, CN109082942A ZHU et al., hereinafter ZHU II.
*The Examiner refers to the English machine translation of ZHU II.
As for claim 16, ZHU disclose a hydroxyapatite paper as per supra. ZHU does not disclose the sheet thickness. However, changes in size are typically prima facie obvious [MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)]. Paper is well known to come in different thicknesses (caliper) from thin tissue paper to thick carboards.
In the alternative, if necessary, ZHU discloses that the paper can be used for printing, patterns, and images [0055]. In the same art of ZHU of hydroxyapatite paper ZHU II discloses that hydroxyapatite paper can be 30-500 microns [0018, 0039] which overlaps/abuts the instant claimed range. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known thicknesses of ZHU II to the paper of ZHU such that the paper was suitable for artwork. The person of ordinary skill in the art would expect success as both ZHU and ZHU II discloses hydroxyapatite paper and ZHU states that the paper can be used for printing and images.
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748