DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the phrase “(0 ≤ x ≤ 2)” is in parentheses, generating confusion as to whether the limitation is optional or not. To correct, the Examiner suggests deleting the parentheses. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the claim to necessitate that 0 ≤ x ≤ 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detrie et al. (US-20140370247-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Detrie”).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Detrie teaches a slurry composition (coating agent, regarding claim 6) (see Detrie at para. 0012 and 0020, teaching a marking composition comprising particles of one or more laser absorbers and a vehicle or a solvent; the marking composition of Detrie corresponds to the claimed “slurry” and the claimed “coating agent”) comprising:
• particles of a complex oxide containing La and at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mo and W (see Detrie at para. 0020, teaching the marking composition as comprising particles of one or more laser absorbers; also see Detrie at para. 0034, teaching lanthanum molybdate as a suitable laser absorber; lanthanum molybdate necessarily is a complex oxide containing lanthanum and molybdenum); and
• a dispersion medium (see Detrie at para. 0025-0026, teaching the marking composition as containing a vehicle and a solvent);
• wherein a central particle diameter of the particles is not greater than 800 nm (see Detrie at para. 0047, teaching the particles may have an average particle size of from about 0.1 microns to about 55 microns, or about 100 nm to about 55,000 nm; this range overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05); and
• a content of the particles is 0.1 to 10 mass% (see Detrie at para. 0063, teaching that in metal marking applications, the content of the laser absorber particles may range from about 5 wt% to about 60 wt%; this range overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claims 3-4, see Detrie at para. 0031 and 0051, teaching the marking composition may contain a resin binder and a dispersant.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detrie, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Colmont et al. (Colmont, Marie, et al. “Origin of luminescence in La2MoO6 and La2Mo2O9 and their bi-doped variants.” Inorganic Chemistry, vol. 59, no. 5, 20 Feb. 2020, pp. 3215–3220, https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.inorgchem.9b03580) (hereinafter referred to as “Colmont”).
Regarding claim 2, while Detrie teaches the composition according to claim 1 outlined above, Detrie fails to explicitly teach the complex oxide to be La2MoxW(2-x)O9 (0 ≤ x ≤ 2).
However, Colmont teaches that among all inorganic phases reported in the La2O3-MoO3 binary system, La2Mo2O9 remains “without a doubt the most famous” (see Colmont at pg. 3215, right column, last paragraph – pg. 3216, left column, para. 1). Colmont further teaches La2Mo2O9 to demonstrate absorption properties in the UV-Vis specrum (see Fig. 3 of Colmont at pg. 3217).
Detrie teaches lanthanum molybdate as a suitable laser particle (see Detrie at para. 0034). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably look to a lanthanum molybdenate complex like that taught by Colmont, i.e., La2Mo2O9, given it is among one of the most common lanthanum molybdate complexes and further given it demonstrates absorption properties in the UV-Vis spectrum (see Colmont at pg. 3215, right column, last paragraph – pg. 3216, left column, para. 1; see Fig. 3 of Colmont at pg. 3217).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the La2Mo2O9 like that taught by Colmont as the lanthanum molybdate in the composition of Detrie, as La2Mo2O9 is one of the most well-known lanthanum molybdenates and is further known to demonstrate absorption properties in the UV-Vis spectrum (see Colmont at pg. 3215, right column, last paragraph – pg. 3216, left column, para. 1; see Fig. 3 of Colmont at pg. 3217). Further, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
La2Mo2O9 reads on the claimed formula, where x is equal to 2.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Detrie, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uehara (JP-2019199517-A), with reference to the included machine translation (hereinafter referred to as “Uehara”), and Iwamoto et al. (JP-H09263048-A), with reference to the included machine translation (hereinafter referred to as “Iwamoto”).
Regarding claim 5, while Detrie teaches the composition according to claim 1 outlined above, Detrie fails to explicitly teach the composition as further comprising an ultraviolet-curable resin.
However, it is well-known that laser marking compositions may suitably contain UV-curable resin binders (see Uehara at pg. 1, para. 1; pg. 6, para. 4-5; also see Iwamoto at pg. 1, para. 1; and pg. 5, last paragraph; and pg. 6, para. 1). Further, Detrie teaches their composition may contain a resin binder, including some binders that are commonly UV-curable, e.g., acrylics and epoxies (see Detrie at para. 0031).
In this case, UV-curable resins are well-known materials suitable for use as resin binders in a laser marking composition (as exemplified by Uehara at pg. 1, para. 1; pg. 6, para. 4-5; and Iwamoto at pg. 1, para. 1; pg. 5, last paragraph; and pg. 6, para. 1), and thus its use in the composition of Detrie would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a UV-curable resin like that taught by Uehara or Iwamoto as the resin binder in the composition of Detrie, as the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. Further. combining known elements to obtain predictable results is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP § 2143.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Okimura et al. (JP-2022043763-A) teach a spray composition (see Okimura at Abstract).
/JEFFREY EUGENE BARZACH/Examiner, Art Unit 1731