Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 6, “that comprising” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4, “each another” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3, “the two fastening members at least partially be located facing” is grammatically incorrect. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first and second fastening members". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5 has “return means” as a claim limitation.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: fastening device, fastening member, fastening component, actuating mechanism, rotational-locking member, rotational-locking component, rotational-locking device, coupling member, coupling component, coupling in claims 1-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6, 7, 11, 12, 18, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chau et al. (2008/0164357).
Regarding claims 1 and 23, the Chau et al. reference discloses a kitchen appliance (Fig. 2), comprising: a work unit comprising a bowl (1), a lid (4) configured to close the bowl and a rotary accessory (3) arranged in the bowl and rotatably mounted around a rotational axis (see Fig. 4); a pull string drive device (6) comprising a main body (61), a drive wheel (63) housed in the main body and configured to be arranged coaxially relative to the rotational axis a string (634) configured to be wound around the drive wheel and that comprising a first end fastened to the drive wheel and a second end opposite the first end, and a handle (635) connected to the second end of the string (634) and configured to pull on the string so as to rotate the drive wheel in one direction of rotation, the pull string drive device (6) being configured to manually cause the rotary accessory to rotate around the rotational axis by pulling the string (15) transversely to the rotational axis; wherein the pull string drive device (6) is self-contained and is configured to be removable relative to the lid (4), and in that the kitchen appliance comprises a locking system (42, 611) configured to fasten the main body (91) of the pull string drive device (6) temporarily and reversibly to the lid, the locking system being further configured to prevent rotational movement of the main body relative to the lid and along the rotational axis when the main body is fastened to the lid (see paragraphs [0023 – 0031]; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, the Chau et al. reference further discloses the locking system (42, 611) is configured to prevent, when the main body (61) is fastened to the lid (4), translational movement of the main body relative to the lid in a direction of travel that is parallel to the rotational axis, and translational movement of the main body relative to the lid in a plane of travel that is orthogonal to the rotational axis. See Figures 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 3, the Chau et al. reference further discloses the locking system (42, 611) comprises a fastening device configured to fasten the main body (61) of the pull string drive device (6) temporarily and reversibly to the lid (4), the fastening device comprising at least one fastening member (611) provided on the main body (61) and at least one fastening component (42) provided on the lid (4), the at least one fastening member being configured to occupy a fastening position in which the at least one fastening member is configured to cooperate with the at least one fastening component so as to fasten the main body to the lid, and a release position in which the at least one fastening member is configured to release the at least one fastening component so that the pull string drive device can be removed from the lid. (see paragraphs [0023 – 0031]; see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, the Chau et al. reference further discloses wherein the at least one fastening member (i.e., bolts) is mounted so as to be movable relative to the main body (61) between the fastening position and the release position. See paragraph [0025].
Regarding claims 6 and 7, inasmuch structure that is defined by an “actuating mechanism” the defined bolts meet the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 11, the fastening members are defined by the bolts (see para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, absent further defined structure of a rotation-locking member and rotation-locking device, components (42, 611; Figures 2 and 3) of the Chau et al. reference meet the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 18, the Chau et al. reference further discloses wherein the rotary accessory (3) comprises a coupling member (31) and the drive wheel (63)
comprises a coupling component (633) configured to be mechanically coupled to the coupling member (31) when the main body (61) is fastened to the lid (4), so as to transmit rotational movement from the drive wheel (63) to the rotary accessory (3).
Regarding claim 22, the locking system (42, 611) prevents movement of the main body (61) relative to the lid (4) when fastened to the lid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-10, 13-17, 19-21 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Plichon et al. reference (US 20230313783 A1) discloses another kitchen appliance with detachable pull string drive device (Figure 5).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753