Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 10, The claim is generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. It appears to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and is replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. The claim is indefinite because it recites “according to the first aspect of the invention” which is unclear. Although claims are read in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not imported and the claim should be complete in and of itself. Furthermore, even in view of the specification, under the recitation “in the first aspect of the present invention” there are many recited “preferred” embodiments and it is not clear if any or all of these are required for the claimed method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to products of nature without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) sets of products wherein each element is derived from naturally occurring products, thus the claimed products are nature-based products. The markedly different characteristics analysis is used to determine if the nature-based products, are exceptions. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims encompasses combinations where all of the reagents are in separate containers as well as compositions containing components. There is no indication in the specification that the elements in the claimed combination take on any characteristics that are different from their naturally occurring counterparts. Thus, the mixture does not have markedly different characteristics from what occurs in nature, and is a “product of nature” exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not have any elements that are non-naturally occurring. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not have any elements that are non-naturally occurring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 1759012B1.
The reference teaches a set of reagents that includes Bsu polymerase (DNA polymerase) T4 gp32 (single chain binding protein), a recombinase (uvsX), a reverse transcriptase (MuMLV RT) and a ribonuclease inhibitor protein (RNase inhibitor). The mixture additionally includes the loading protein UvsY and creatine kinase. Regarding claim 9, there is no special definition for a “kit” and so the collection of reagents taught by the reference is a kit.
See at least ¶0471:
Thus, the reference anticipates claims 1, 3, and 5-9.
Furthermore, the reference teaches a method for reverse transcription amplification of RNA in a sample which includes preparing an amplification system including these reagents, and RNA template (MS2 RNA; ¶0469), and a primers (MS2UP and MS2DOWN) for amplifying a reverse transcription product of the RNA template, and carrying out amplification at an isothermal temperature (¶0413, ¶0011).
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN106521032A, as evidenced by the TwistAmp DNA Amplification Kits combined instruction manual and Millipore Sigma product I5907 description. Paragraph numbers are according to the translation included with this Office action.
The reference teaches a set of reagents in a kit that includes a DNA polymerase, a single chain binding protein, and a recombinase, see ¶0189. The TwistAmp instruction manual evidences that all TWIST RPA kits include these elements (see at least manual Figure 1). CN106521032A further teaches the kit includes a reverse transcriptase, and a ribonuclease inhibitor protein (¶0192).
With regard to claim 2, the reference teaches the kit includes a pyrophosphatase (¶0192) namely Sigma catalog number I5907 (¶0137), which is an inorganic pyrophosphatase, inherently, see attached product description.
Thus, the reference anticipates claims 1, 2, and 9.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deshields et al. (American Journal of Potato Research (2019) 96:617–624).
The reference teaches a set of reagents in a method that employs a set of reagents that that includes a DNA polymerase, a single chain binding protein, and a recombinase, see Figure 1. The reference teaches including reverse transcriptase and RNaseOUT into the master mix (p. 621, 1st column). Thus, the reference anticipates claim 1.
The set of reagents employed in the reference also includes an exonuclease, namely Exonuclease III, see at least figure 1.
Regarding claim 9, there is no special definition for a “kit” and so the collection of reagents taught by the reference is a kit.
The reference teaches combining the reagents with a primer set, an RNA target and amplifying under an isothermal condition (p. 621, 1st column).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 5 and 10 of copending Application No. 18713019 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application teaches each element of the copending claims see claims 3, 4, and 5. It does not teach them all in one claim, but it would have been obvious to have combined them in order to provide reagents for RPA, as suggested in claim 10. Furthermore, using the reagents to practice RPA for an RNA target, including adding primers and the RNA target would have been obvious in view of the teaching that these reagents are an “RPA” mixed enzyme system. The examiner takes Official notice that RPA is an isothermal amplification process, and that it requires primers to practice.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Juliet Switzer
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1682
/JULIET C SWITZER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682