DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smaldone et al. (US 20180118417 A1) in view of Balison et al. (US 1447117 A) and Collins (US 5037015).
Claim 1, Smaldone discloses a body (102, 104),
a drive assembly (115) and
a fluid passageway arrangement (FIG 7),
wherein the drive assembly is configured to restrict or allow the fluid flow from a container into the flow control device ([0024]);
wherein the body is configured in a substantially cylindrical shape (FIG 3) and houses the fluid passageway arrangement (FIG 7);
wherein the fluid passageway arrangement communicates the inner side of the flow control device with the outside environment (FIG 7);
characterized in that the fluid passageway arrangement comprises, contiguously, a pressure equalization chamber (130; [0027]) and an output duct (105),
wherein the pressure equalization chamber (130) is configured to accumulate fluid, in order to allow pressure homogenization thereof ([0027]), the pressure equalization chamber having a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the output duct (FIG 5-7 shows cross-section of chamber 130 greater than the cross-section of duct 105).
But is silent on the output duct presents a substantially circular cross section, wherein the output duct presents a curve to direct the flow to the outer opening of the flow control device.
Balison teaches the output duct presents a substantially circular cross section (FIG 1-3, 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Smaldone with circular cross section as taught by Balison in order to provide a simple of substitution of one known element for another.
Collins teaches wherein the output duct presents a curve to direct the flow to the outer opening of the flow control device (40; FIG 3a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Smaldone with curve as taught by Collins in order to provide a spout that has the resiliency to be used in commercial or institutional settings.
Claim 2, the modified apparatus of Smaldone teaches near its terminal end, the output duct has a conical section, whose cross section decreases towards the output end of the output duct (Balison: Page 1, line 96-99; FIG 1-3, 5).
Claims 3 and 11, Smaldone discloses the fluid passageway arrangement further comprises a vent tube (170; FIG 5; [0040]).
Claims 4 and 12-13, Smaldone discloses the body has a threaded section, whose thread corresponds to the inner thread of the container opening, enabling the flow control device to be threaded onto the container opening (110; FIG 3).
Claims 5, 8-10, Smaldone discloses the drive assembly (125) comprises: a valve assembly, which internally crosses the flow control device, and is configured to restrict the fluid flow from the container into the device; a drive mechanism (115), which is configured, upon actuation, to move the valve assembly to allow the fluid to flow into the device; and an elastic element, wherein the elastic element is a spring ([0036]), which is arranged concentrically around a portion of the valve assembly, wherein the elastic element is configured to assist the valve assembly return to its original position.
Claim 6, Smaldone discloses the valve assembly comprises a valve element (125) and at least one gasket (120) for sealing purposes.
Claim 7, Smaldone discloses the drive mechanism comprises at least one pin (145) and one drive element, wherein the drive element is a button (115) or lever.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the new amendments are not persuasive and have been addressed in the rejection above.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JEREMY W CARROLL whose telephone number is (571)272-4988. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 AM - 5 PM.
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754