DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending and under examination: claims 1-15
Rejected: claims 1-15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “A use of a particulate material Z according to claim 1, or prepared according to a method of[…]as an additive for the antimicrobial treatment of materials or objects to be rendered antimicrobial.” The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear if the underlined portion is limiting the material only if it is prepared according the method described in claim 14, or if it is also limiting the “use” in the preamble.
Claim 15 is rejected as being dependent from claim 14.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 14 recites “A use of a particulate material Z according to claim 1, or prepared according to a method of[…]as an additive for the antimicrobial treatment of materials or objects to be rendered antimicrobial.” Thus, claim 14 fails to further limit claim 1 because it does not explicitly include/require all of the limitations of claim 1, due to the use of the “or” language.
Claim 15 is rejected as being dependent from claim 14.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gock et al. (US 20230392263 A1; available as prior art under § 102(a)(2)) in view of Atarashi et al. (US 5985466 A).
In the interest of clarity of the record and compact prosecution, the examiner notes that Gock et al. (US 20230392263 A) may qualify as an exception under § 102(b)(2) due to the common inventor Michael Gock; however, per MPEP 2154.01(d)), a provisional rejection is being made due to the instant application having a different inventive entity (see MPEP 2154.01(d)-2154.02).
Regarding claim 1, Gock teaches a composition with a cellulose powder (meeting the claimed water-insoluble support material T) with 18.3 wt.% elemental silver 0.2 wt.% elemental ruthenium (see Exemplary embodiment 1 in [0062]-[0063].
However, Gock is silent regarding 50-85% of solid Y.
Atarashi teaches a powder having metal oxide films on its surface is obtained in which the films have a heightened refractive index and which hence shows a high reflectance and has a bright color (Abstract).
Atarashi further teaches making an elemental silver film (col. 19, lines 7-27), then forming a titanium dioxide film on top by using titanium ethoxide (a C2 alkoxide of titanium) (col. 19, lines 28-50).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gock by using the technique of Atarashi of forming a titanium dioxide layer on top of the elemental silver, as doing so allows for having an even brighter and more reflective surface than elemental silver/elemental metal alone (Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 4-8, Gock and Atarashi teach the particulate material of claim 1 above, and as discussed above, the composition meets the limitations of claims 2 and 4-8. In claim 2, it is prima facie expected that the resulting combination meets the claimed L* value, because the materials are the same as that in the instant invention, and because the resultant color of Atarashi’s material is a yellow-ish white color with a peak reflectance of 88%, which is prima facie expected to result in a color having a brightness L* in the range of 50 to 85, or close to the range so as to render the range obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (MPEP 2112 V).
In claim 4, the sum of Ag and Ru is 18.5 wt.%, and the ratio is 91.5 which, which are both within the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.).
Cellulose is swellable with water, and is a modified or unmodified polymer of natural origin, and therefore meets claims 5-7.
In claim 8, cellulose (support material T) is different from titanium ethoxide.
Regarding claim 3, Gock and Atarashi teach the particulate material of claim 1 above, and Atarashi teaches that when a titanium or aluminum alkoxide is used, metal oxide particles may be generated from the alkoxide (col. 8, lines 38-41).
Regarding claim 9, Gock teaches making a composition with a cellulose powder (meeting the claimed water-insoluble support material T) with 18.3 wt.% elemental silver 0.2 wt.% elemental ruthenium (see Exemplary embodiment 1 in [0062]-[0063].
However, Gock is silent regarding bringing the above material in contact with at least one C1-C4 alkoxide of the claimed list of elements in the presence of a quantity of water that is at least sufficient for complete hydrolysis of the at least one C1-C4 alkoxide.
Atarashi teaches a powder having metal oxide films on its surface is obtained in which the films have a heightened refractive index and which hence shows a high reflectance and has a bright color (Abstract).
Atarashi further teaches making an elemental silver film (col. 19, lines 7-27), then forming a titanium dioxide film on top by using titanium ethoxide (a C2 alkoxide of titanium) and water (col. 19, lines 28-50).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gock by using the technique of Atarashi of forming a titanium dioxide layer on top of the elemental silver, as doing so allows for having an even brighter and more reflective surface than elemental silver/elemental metal alone (Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Gock and Atarashi teach the method of claim 9 above, and although Atarashi does not explicitly teach using a titanium tetraalkoxide teaches using species such as titanium isopropoxide (col. 13, lines 48-50), which is a titanium tetraalkoxide.
Regarding claim 11, Gock and Atarashi teach the method of claim 9 above, and as discussed above and in (col. 19, lines 28-50) of Atarashi, Atarashi teaches using water in liquid form.
Regarding claim 12, Gock and Atarashi teach the method of claim 9 above, and Atarashi further teaches performing washing and drying (col. 19, lines 28-50).
Regarding claim 13, Gock and Atarashi teach the method of claim 9 above, and teaches mixing titanium ethoxide with a mixture of water and ethanol (water-dilutable organic solvent) (col. 19, lines 28-50).
Regarding claim 14, Gock teaches making a composition with a cellulose powder (meeting the claimed water-insoluble support material T) with 18.3 wt.% elemental silver 0.2 wt.% elemental ruthenium (see Exemplary embodiment 1 in [0062]-[0063].
However, Gock is silent regarding bringing the above material in contact with at least one C1-C4 alkoxide of the claimed list of elements in the presence of a quantity of water that is at least sufficient for complete hydrolysis of the at least one C1-C4 alkoxide.
Atarashi teaches a powder having metal oxide films on its surface is obtained in which the films have a heightened refractive index and which hence shows a high reflectance and has a bright color (Abstract).
Atarashi further teaches making an elemental silver film (col. 19, lines 7-27), then forming a titanium dioxide film on top by using titanium ethoxide (a C2 alkoxide of titanium) and water (col. 19, lines 28-50).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gock by using the technique of Atarashi of forming a titanium dioxide layer on top of the elemental silver, as doing so allows for having an even brighter and more reflective surface than elemental silver/elemental metal alone (Abstract).
With regard to the claimed “…as an additive for the antimicrobial treatment of materials or objects to be rendered antimicrobial”, Atarashi teaches that the material may be used as a magnetic coloring material in magnetic color toners, magnetic color inks, etc. (col. 1, lines 6-14). However, because the claim only requires that the use of the claimed material is as a treatment of materials, the limitation is understood under BRI as meeting the claimed “treatment” being the material of Atarashi is being “applied”. Furthermore, because being “antimicrobial” is a contingent limitation in that the material must only be capable of killing microbes (or preventing growth) after being treated (see MPEP 2111.04 II.), rather than the claim explicitly requiring that microbes are killed/prevented from growing, the material of Gock in view of Atarashi meets the claim.
Regarding claim 15, Gock in view of Atarashi teach the use of claim 14 above, and it is prima facie expected that the resulting combination meets the claimed L* value range, because the materials are the same as that in the instant invention, and because the resultant color of Atarashi’s material is a yellow-ish white color with a peak reflectance of 88%, which is prima facie expected to result in a color having a brightness L* in the range of 50 to 90, or close to the range so as to render the range obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05 I.). Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. (MPEP 2112 V).
Conclusion
/ADIL A. SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735