DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 23 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-24 and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 13 and 23 recite the limitation “a plurality of second grooves”. However, neither of these claims recite “a first groove” or “a plurality of first grooves”, such that there is no antecedent basis for the phrase “a plurality of second grooves” in claims 13 and 23. If Applicant wishes to maintain the limitation “a plurality of second grooves” in claims 13 and 23, Applicant must make it clear on the record that the term “second” is merely a designation for the groove and does not imply that a first groove is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the DC power source" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the DC power source" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the DC power source" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 15-17, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 20200126836 A1, hereinafter ‘Yoon’).
Regarding claim 13, Yoon teaches an electrostatic chuck 100 configured to absorb a plurality of wafers 10 comprising: a chuck body 124; a plurality of adsorption members 170 including an insulation layer 174, an electrode layer 172, and a dielectric layer 259 arranged sequentially in a direction away from the chuck body (Figs 5-6), and electrode layers of the plurality of adsorption members being in the same layer (Fig 6); and a voltage feed member 200 arranged between the adsorption members and the chuck body (Fig 2), electrically connected to electrode layers of the plurality of adsorption members ([0062]), and configured to feed direct current (DC) voltage into the electrode layer of each adsorption member ([0062]) of the plurality of adsorption members to allow the plurality of adsorption members to absorb the plurality of wafers in a one-to-one correspondence ([0062], Fig 6), wherein the chuck body includes a plurality of second grooves 124a arranged at intervals (Fig 2), shapes of the second grooves matching shapes of the adsorption members (Fig 2), and the plurality of adsorption members being arranged in the plurality of second grooves in a one-to-one correspondence ([0065], Fig 2).
Regarding claim 15, Yoon teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 13, wherein: through holes are formed at the insulation layers of the adsorption members and pass through the insulation layers to the electrode layers (Fig 6); the voltage feed member 200 includes a wire structure including: an introduction end 240 configured to be electrically connected to the DC power source 114 ([0062]); a plurality of feed ends 253, a quantity of the plurality of feed ends being same as a quantity of the adsorption members (Figs 2-3), and the plurality of feed end being electrically connected to the electrode layers (Fig 2) via the through holes.
Regarding claim 16, Yoon teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 15, wherein the wire structure includes: a ring-shaped wire 252 with an opening (Figs 2-3); an introduction wire 240a, one end of the introduction wire being electrically connected to one end of the ring-shaped wire at the opening (Fig 3), and the other end of the introduction wire being used as the introduction end (Fig 4), and a plurality of feed wires 260 arranged along a circumference of the ring-shaped wire at intervals (Figs 2-3), one end of each feed wire of the plurality of feed wires being electrically connected to the ring-shaped wire (Figs 2-3), and the other end of each feed wire of the plurality of feed wires being used as a corresponding feed end of the plurality of feed ends (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 17, Yoon teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 16, wherein the voltage feed member further includes: an insulation sleeve sleeved at an outer side of the introduction wire ([0083]), the plurality of feed wires ([0087]), and the ring-shaped wire ([0084]); and a plurality of elastic conductive elements arranged at the plurality of feed ends in a one-to-one correspondence and electrically contacting the electrode layers of the plurality of adsorption members in a one-to-one correspondence ([0087]).
Regarding claim 35, Yoon teaches wherein through holes are formed at the insulation layers 174 of the adsorption members 170 and pass through the insulation layers to the electrode layers 172 (Fig 6); the voltage feed member 200 includes a wire structure 250 and a plurality of elastic conductive elements ([0087]), the plurality of elastic conductive elements electrically connecting the wire structure to the electrode layers of the plurality of adsorption members in a one-to-one correspondence (Fig 3); and each elastic conductive element of the plurality of elastic conductive elements passes through a through hole (Fig 6) of a corresponding adsorption member of the plurality of adsorption members to electrically contact the electrode layer of the corresponding adsorption member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guang et al. (CN 112133664 A, hereinafter ‘Guang’), and further in view of Kellerman et al. (US 20040212946 A1, hereinafter ‘Kellerman’).
Regarding claim 13, Guang teaches an electrostatic chuck (Figs 1-7, [0033]) configured to absorb a plurality of wafers 700 comprising: a chuck body (Fig 6); a plurality of adsorption members 300 including an insulation layer ([0026]), an electrode layer 310, and electrode layers of the plurality of adsorption members being in the same layer (Fig 6), and a voltage feed member (Fig 6, wire structure including 410,510) arranged between the adsorption members 300 and the chuck body (Fig 6), electrically connected to electrode layers 310 of the plurality of adsorption members, and configured to feed direct current (DC) voltage (Fig 6, [0061]) into the electrode layer of each adsorption member of the plurality of adsorption members to absorb the plurality of wafers 700 in a one-to-one correspondence ([0039] [0048]), wherein the chuck body (Fig 6, including 100 and 200) includes a plurality of second grooves 210 arranged at intervals, shapes of the second grooves match shapes of the adsorption members (Figs 1-3), and the plurality of adsorption members being arranged in the plurality of second grooves in a one-to-one correspondence (Figs 1-3).
Guang does not explicitly disclose a dielectric layer arranged sequentially in a direction away from the chuck body.
However, Kellerman teaches an insulation layer 4, an electrode layer 5, and a dielectric layer 6 arranged sequentially ([0017]) in a direction away from the chuck body (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guang to incorporate the dielectric layer on the adsorption member as disclosed by Kellerman in order to create the desired electric field and pressure distribution for the electrostatic chuck (Kellerman, [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Guang in view of Kellerman teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 13. Guang also teaches a positioning member 200 arranged at the chuck body and including: a plurality of positioning holes 210 arranged at intervals (Figs 1-2), the plurality of adsorption members 300 being arranged in the plurality of positioning holes 210 in a one-to-one correspondence (Figs 2-3, 5-6).
Regarding claim 15, Guang in view of Kellerman teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 13. Guang also teaches through holes are formed at the insulation layers of the adsorption members and pass through the insulation layers to the electrode layers (Figs 4-5); the voltage feed member includes a wire structure including: an introduction end (shown in the annotated figure below) to be electrically connected to the DC power source (Fig 6); and a plurality of feed ends 410, a quantity of the plurality of feed ends 410 being same as a quantity of adsorption members 300, and the plurality of feed ends 410 being electrically connected to the electrode layers 310 via the through holes (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 16, Guang in view of Kellerman teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 15. Guang also teaches the wire structure includes: an introduction wire 510, one end of the introduction wire being electrically connected to the ring-shaped wired (shown in the annotated figure above), and the other end of the introduction wire being used as the introduction end (Fig 6); and a plurality of feed wires 410 arranged along a circumference of the ring-shaped wire at intervals (Fig 6), on end of each feed wire of the plurality of feed wires being electrically connected to the ring-shaped wire (Fig 6), and the other end of each feed wire of the plurality of feed wires being used as a corresponding feed end the plurality of feed ends (Fig 6).
Guang does not explicitly disclose a ring-shaped wire with an opening. However, Guang teaches a ring-shaped wire with “sufficient specificity” that one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the claimed combination. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention would have found it “obvious to try” shaping the ring-shaped wire with an opening as the teaching represents a finite number of identified, predictable combinations of shapes of the wire structure that are able to complete the circuit and provide charge to each of the adsorption members. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 17, Guang in view of Kellerman teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 16. Guang also teaches the voltage feed member further includes: a plurality of elastic conductive elements 420 arranged at the plurality of feed ends 410 in a one-to-one correspondence ([0062]) and electrically contacting the electrode layers 310 of the plurality of adsorption members in a one-to-one correspondence (Fig 6, [0062]).
Guang does not explicitly disclose an insulation sleeve sleeved at an outer side of the introduction wire, the plurality of feed wires, and the ring shaped wire. While the elements above are not disclosed by Guang, all of these elements are well known within the art of electrical wiring. Therefore, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention to have incorporated each of these elements into the invention of Guang.
Regarding claim 22, Guang in view of Kellerman teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 13. Guang also teaches a material of the chuck body includes a metal ([0042]).
Guang does not explicitly disclose a material of the insulation layer includes ceramic.
However, Kellerman teaches a material of the insulation layer includes ceramic ([0017]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guang as previously modified to utilize glass as the material for the insulation layer as disclosed by Kellerman because it is a non-conductive material that can be produced by standard methods (Kellerman, [0017]).
Regarding claim 23, Guang teaches a base comprising: a chuck (Figs 1-7); and an electrostatic chuck ( [0033]) arranged on the chuck, configured to absorb a plurality of wafers 700 and including: a chuck body (Fig 6); a plurality of adsorption members 300 including an insulation layer ([0026]), an electrode layer 310, and electrode layers of the plurality of adsorption members being in the same layer (Fig 6), and a voltage feed member (Fig 6, wire structure including 410,510) arranged between the adsorption members 300 and the chuck body (Fig 6), electrically connected to electrode layers 310 of the plurality of adsorption members, and configured to feed direct current (DC) voltage (Fig 6, [0061]) into the electrode layer of each adsorption member of the plurality of adsorption members to absorb the plurality of wafers 700 in a one-to-one correspondence ([0039] [0048]), wherein the chuck body (Fig 6, including 100 and 200) includes a plurality of second grooves 210 arranged at intervals, shapes of the second grooves match shapes of the adsorption members (Figs 1-3), and the plurality of adsorption members being arranged in the plurality of second grooves in a one-to-one correspondence (Figs 1-3).
Guang does not explicitly disclose a dielectric layer arranged sequentially in a direction away from the chuck body.
However, Kellerman teaches an insulation layer 4, an electrode layer 5, and a dielectric layer 6 arranged sequentially ([0017]) in a direction away from the chuck body (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guang to incorporate the dielectric layer on the adsorption member as disclosed by Kellerman in order to create the desired electric field and pressure distribution for the electrostatic chuck (Kellerman, [0036]).
Regarding claim 24, Guang in view of Kellerman teaches the base according to claim 23. Guang also teaches an electrical feed assembly 510 electrically connected to the voltage feed member and configured to be electrically connected to the DC power source (Fig 6) and feed the DC voltage provided by the DC power source to the voltage feed member ([0061]), and an RF feed assembly 520 electrically connected to the chuck and configured to feed RF to the electrostatic chuck through the chuck (Fig 6, [0061]).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guang further in view of Kellerman as applied to claims 13 and 15 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN 112670142 A, hereinafter ‘Chen’).
Regarding claim 18, Guang in view of Kellerman teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 15. Guang also teaches a first groove 110, a shaped of the first groove matches a shape of the voltage feed member (at 410), and the voltage feed member is embedded in the first groove (Fig 6). Guang does not explicitly disclose an introduction channel provided at the chuck body, and the introduction channel communicates with the first groove, passes through the chuck body, and is configured for the introduction end to be electrically connected to the DC power source.
However, Chen teaches an introduction channel (Fig 7, where the DC supply lines run through 620) are provided at the chuck body, and the introduction channel communicates with the first groove (Fig 7), and is configured for the introduction end to be electrically connected to the DC power source (Fig 7).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guang as previously modified to incorporate the internal passages for the wire structure as disclosed by Chen in order to better protect the wire structure inside the body of the chuck.
Regarding claim 19, Guang in view of Kellerman and Chen teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 18. Guang also teaches the plurality of second grooves 210 communicates with a part of the first groove 110 embedded with the plurality of feed ends 410.
Regarding claim 20, Guang in view of Kellerman and Chen teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 19. Guang does not explicitly disclose the adsorption members are adhered to the second grooves.
However, Kellerman teaches the adsorption members are adhered to the base ([0017]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guang as previously modified to use an epoxy adhesive as disclosed by Kellerman to ensure the adsorption member does not separate from the base when it is not desired.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guang further in view of Kellerman as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Shamouilian et al. (US 5592358 A, hereinafter ‘Shamouilian’).
Regarding claim 21, Guang in view of Kellerman teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 13. Guang does not explicitly disclose a thickness of the insulation layer is greater than or equal to 0.6 mm and smaller than or equal to 0.8 mm; a thickness of the electrode layer is greater than or equal to 0.03 mm and smaller than or equal to 0.04 mm; and a thickness of the dielectric layer is greater than or equal to 0.25 mm and smaller than or equal to 0.35 mm.
However, Kellerman teaches a thickness of the dielectric layer is about 200 µm, which is substantially close to that of the instant claim. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art do not overlap but are close enough that one in ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 f.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05.
Additionally, Shamouilian teaches a thickness of the insulation layer is up to about 500 µm (Col 5 lines 31-35); and a thickness of the electrode layer is about 1 µm to 100 µm (Col 4 lines 59-61).
Shamouilian teaches a thickness of the insulation layer that is substantially close to that of the instant claim. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art do not overlap but are close enough that one in ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 f.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05.
Shamouilian and the claims regarding the thickness of the electrode layer differ in that Shamouilian does not teach the exact same proportions as recited in the instant claims. However, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional proportions taught by Shamouilian overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34 and 36-37 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-13, filed 23 July 2026, with respect to claim 34 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 34 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 26 August 2026