DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claim 19 have been considered, but are not persuasive. The new ground of rejection cites Hayashi US 2021/0024754 as teaching the amended claim limitations in claim 19.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim limitation “the ultraviolet absorbent has either of a hydroxy group and a carbonyl group per molecule” should be “the ultraviolet absorbent has either hydroxy group or a carbonyl group per molecule” based on the original disclosure (para.66 and 75).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-22, 26, 28-31, 34, 36 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo WO 2020235610A1 (see document of 18713057_2026-02-27_WO_2020235610_A1_M.pdf) in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141 and Hayashi US 2021/0024754.
Regarding claim 19, Kubo discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1 and 5, comprising: a light-absorbing compound including a phosphonic acid; and a copper component (see abstract), wherein
the light-absorbing composition is capable of being cured into a light absorber (10)(see abstract), a first transmitted light incident on a film (1a) consisting of the light absorber at an incident angle of 0° has a first transmission spectrum (see fig.5 and table 2),
the first transmission spectrum has:
a maximum transmittance of 1% or less in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 370 nm (see fig.5).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose the light-absorbing composition comprising: the light-absorbing compound including the phosphonic acid; the copper component, and an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light, wherein the ultraviolet absorbent has either a hydroxy group or a carbonyl group per molecule, and an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm.
Shiono discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-5, an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Hayashi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in fig.1, the light-absorbing composition (A near-infrared ray absorbing composition) comprising: the light-absorbing compound including the phosphonic acid (phosphonic acid compound)(see at least claims 1, 7, 8 and para.35, 52, 148, 238-244 and 248); the copper component (copper ion)(see at least claims 1, 7, 8 and para.35, 52, 148, 238-240 and 248), and an ultraviolet absorbent (ultraviolet absorber, para.238-240) that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light (para.238), wherein the ultraviolet absorbent has either a hydroxy group or a carbonyl group per molecule (see para.239-244) for the purpose of improving spectroscopic characteristics and light resistance (para.238).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light-absorbing composition comprising: the light-absorbing compound including the phosphonic acid; the copper component, and an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light, wherein the ultraviolet absorbent has either a hydroxy group or a carbonyl group per molecule, and an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm as taught by Shiono and Hayashi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region and improving spectroscopic characteristics and light resistance.
Regarding claim 20, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v):
(i) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5);
(ii) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5);
(iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5);
(iv) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5);
(v) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 21, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vi): (vi) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 22, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vii): (vii) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 26, Kubo in view of Shiono does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component.
Hayashi discloses a light-absorbing composition, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component (para.4, 25 and 42) for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance (para.25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component as taught by Hayashi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Shiono for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance.
Regarding claim 28, Kubo discloses a light absorber made of a cured the light-absorbing composition according to claim 19 (see abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (I), (II), (III), (IV) and (V):
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5);
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5);
(III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5);
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5);
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 30, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VII): (VII) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5)
Regarding claim 31, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VIII): (VIII) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 34, Kubo in view of Shiono does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component.
Hayashi discloses a light absorber, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component (para.4, 25 and 42) for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance (para.25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component as taught by Hayashi in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Shiono for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance.
Regarding claim 36, Kubo discloses a laminate comprising: a dielectric multilayer film (bottom up 2nd paragraph of 14); and the light absorber according to claim 28 provided on the dielectric multilayer film (bottom up 2nd paragraph of 14).
Regarding claim 37, Kubo discloses a camera module (see fig.2) comprising:
a plurality of lenses (2);
the light absorber (10) according to claim 28 (see rejection of claim 28); and an image sensor (4).
Kubo in view of Shiono does not explicitly disclose the camera module comprising in sequence: the lenses; the light absorber; and the image sensor.
Hayashi discloses a camera module (1), in at least fig.1, comprising in sequence: the lenses (4); the light absorber (9); and the image sensor (image sensor, para.258 and 260) for the purpose of forming a camera module (para.259).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the camera module comprising in sequence: the lenses; the light absorber; and the image sensor as taught by Hayashi in the camera module of Kubo in view of Shiono for the purpose of forming a camera module.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo WO 2020235610A1 (see document of 18713057_2026-02-27_WO_2020235610_A1_M.pdf) in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141 and Hayashi US 2021/0024754 as applied to claim 20, and further in view of Kubo1 US 2020/0158930.
Regarding claim 23, Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi does not explicitly disclose a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less.
Kubo1 discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-2 and 7, a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm (see fig.7, transmission spectrum of 55 degree is between transmission spectrums of 50 degree and 60 degree shown in fig.7), and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less (see fig.7) for the purpose of having optical filer exhibit the desirable optical characteristics with a simple configuration (para.15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less as taught by Kubo1 in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi for the purpose of having optical filer exhibit the desirable optical characteristics with a simple configuration.
Regarding claim 24, Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi and Kubo1 does not explicitly disclose the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less.
Shiono discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-5, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Shiono in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi and Kubo1 in order to have the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less because Kubo1 discloses an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less at 50% mark shown in fig.7 as well for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Claim(s) 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo WO 2020235610A1 (see document of 18713057_2026-02-27_WO_2020235610_A1_M.pdf) in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141 and Hayashi US 2021/0024754 as applied to claim 29, and further in view of Kubo1 US 2020/0158930.
Regarding claim 32, Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi does not explicitly disclose a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less.
Kubo1 discloses a light absorber, in at least figs.1-2 and 7, a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm (see fig.7, transmission spectrum of 55 degree is between transmission spectrums of 50 degree and 60 degree shown in fig.7), and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less (see fig.7) for the purpose of having optical filer exhibit the desirable optical characteristics with a simple configuration (para.15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less as taught by Kubo1 in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi for the purpose of having optical filer exhibit the desirable optical characteristics with a simple configuration.
Regarding claim 33, Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi and Kubo1 does not explicitly disclose the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less.
Shiono discloses a light absorber, in at least figs.1-5, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Shiono in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi and Kubo1 in order to have the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less because Kubo1 discloses an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less at 50% mark shown in fig.7 as well for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Claim(s) 19-22, 26, 28-31, 34, 36 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo WO 2020235610A1 (see document of 18713057_2026-02-27_WO_2020235610_A1_M.pdf) in view of Oi JP 2019012121A (see document 18713057_2026-06-20_JP_2019012121_A_M.pdf) and Hayashi US 2021/0024754.
Regarding claim 19, Kubo discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1 and 5, comprising: a light-absorbing compound including a phosphonic acid; and a copper component (see abstract), wherein
the light-absorbing composition is capable of being cured into a light absorber (10)(see abstract), a first transmitted light incident on a film (1a) consisting of the light absorber at an incident angle of 0° has a first transmission spectrum (see fig.5 and table 2),
the first transmission spectrum has:
a maximum transmittance of 1% or less in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 370 nm (see fig.5).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose the light-absorbing composition comprising: the light-absorbing compound including the phosphonic acid; the copper component, and an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light, wherein the ultraviolet absorbent has either a hydroxy group or a carbonyl group per molecule, and an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm.
Oi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1A-5C, an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm (see fig.5C) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Hayashi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in fig.1, the light-absorbing composition (A near-infrared ray absorbing composition) comprising: the light-absorbing compound including the phosphonic acid (phosphonic acid compound)(see at least claims 1, 7, 8 and para.35, 52, 148, 238-244 and 248); the copper component (copper ion)(see at least claims 1, 7, 8 and para.35, 52, 148, 238-240 and 248), and an ultraviolet absorbent (ultraviolet absorber, para.238-240) that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light (para.238), wherein the ultraviolet absorbent has either a hydroxy group or a carbonyl group per molecule (see para.239-244) for the purpose of improving spectroscopic characteristics and light resistance (para.238).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light-absorbing composition comprising: the light-absorbing compound including the phosphonic acid; the copper component, and an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light, wherein the ultraviolet absorbent has either a hydroxy group or a carbonyl group per molecule, and an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm as taught by Oi and Hayashi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range, and improving spectroscopic characteristics and light resistance.
Regarding claim 20, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v):
(i) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5);
(ii) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5);
(iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5);
(iv) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5);
(v) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 21, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vi): (vi) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 22, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vii): (vii) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 26, Kubo in view of Oi does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component.
Hayashi discloses a light-absorbing composition, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component (para.4, 25 and 42) for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance (para.25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component as taught by Hayashi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Oi for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance.
Regarding claim 28, Kubo discloses a light absorber made of a cured the light-absorbing composition according to claim 19 (see abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (I), (II), (III), (IV) and (V):
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5);
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5);
(III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5);
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5);
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 30, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VII): (VII) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5)
Regarding claim 31, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VIII): (VIII) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 34, Kubo in view of Oi does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component.
Hayashi discloses a light absorber, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component (para.4, 25 and 42) for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance (para.25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component as taught by Hayashi in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Oi for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance.
Regarding claim 36, Kubo discloses a laminate comprising: a dielectric multilayer film (bottom up 2nd paragraph of 14); and the light absorber according to claim 28 provided on the dielectric multilayer film (bottom up 2nd paragraph of 14).
Regarding claim 37, Kubo discloses a camera module (see fig.2) comprising:
a plurality of lenses (2);
the light absorber (10) according to claim 28 (see rejection of claim 28); and an image sensor (4).
Kubo in view of Oi does not explicitly disclose the camera module comprising in sequence: the lenses; the light absorber; and the image sensor.
Hayashi discloses a camera module (1), in at least fig.1, comprising in sequence: the lenses (4); the light absorber (9); and the image sensor (image sensor, para.258 and 260) for the purpose of forming a camera module (para.259).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the camera module comprising in sequence: the lenses; the light absorber; and the image sensor as taught by Hayashi in the camera module of Kubo in view of Oi for the purpose of forming a camera module.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo WO 2020235610A1 in view of Oi JP 2019012121A and Hayashi US 2021/0024754 as applied to claim 20, and further in view of Kubo1 US 2020/0158930.
Regarding claim 23, Kubo in view of Oi and Hayashi does not explicitly disclose a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less.
Kubo1 discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-2 and 7, a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm (see fig.7, transmission spectrum of 55 degree is between transmission spectrums of 50 degree and 60 degree shown in fig.7), and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less (see fig.7) for the purpose of having optical filer exhibit the desirable optical characteristics with a simple configuration (para.15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less as taught by Kubo1 in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Oi and Hayashi for the purpose of having optical filer exhibit the desirable optical characteristics with a simple configuration.
Regarding claim 24, Kubo in view of Oi and Hayashi and Kubo1 does not explicitly disclose the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less.
Oi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1A-5C, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5A) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Oi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi and Kubo1 in order to have the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less because Kubo1 discloses an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less at 50% mark shown in fig.7 as well for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range.
Claim(s) 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo WO 2020235610A1 in view of Oi JP 2019012121A and Hayashi US 2021/0024754 as applied to claim 29, and further in view of Kubo1 US 2020/0158930.
Regarding claim 32, Kubo in view of Oi and Hayashi does not explicitly disclose a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less.
Kubo1 discloses a light absorber, in at least figs.1-2 and 7, a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm (see fig.7, transmission spectrum of 55 degree is between transmission spectrums of 50 degree and 60 degree shown in fig.7), and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less (see fig.7) for the purpose of having optical filer exhibit the desirable optical characteristics with a simple configuration (para.15).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less as taught by Kubo1 in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Oi and Hayashi for the purpose of having optical filer exhibit the desirable optical characteristics with a simple configuration.
Regarding claim 33, Kubo in view of Oi and Hayashi and Kubo1 does not explicitly disclose the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less.
Oi discloses a light absorber, in at least figs.1A-5C, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5A) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Oi in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Shiono and Hayashi and Kubo1 in order to have the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less because Kubo1 discloses an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less at 50% mark shown in fig.7 as well for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range.
Contact Information
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871