DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/16/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claim 19 have been considered, but are not persuasive. The new ground of rejection cites Shiono US 2022/0179141 or Oi JP 2019012121A as teaching the amended claim limitations in claim 19.
Claim Objections
Claims 29-33 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim limitations of claim 29 should be “first and (V)
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm;
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less;
(III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less;
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm;
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm” because claim 19 already cited deleted claim limitations and claim limitations of claim 29 matched with claim limitations of claim 20.
Claim limitation of claim 30 should be “wherein the first (VI): (VI) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm” because claim limitations of claim 30 matched with claim limitations of claim 21.
Claim limitation of claim 31 should be “wherein the first (VII): (VII) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm” because claim limitations of claim 31 matched with claim limitations of claim 22.
Claim limitation of claim 32 should be “wherein a second second second 12 nm or less” because claim limitations of claim 32 matched with claim limitations of claim 23.
Claim limitation of claim 33 should be “wherein the second .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-22, 25, 28-31 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo WO 2020235610A1 (see document of 18713057_2026-02-27_WO_2020235610_A1_M.pdf) in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141.
Regarding claim 19, Kubo discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1, 2 and 5, comprising: a light-absorbing compound including a phosphonic acid; and a copper component (see abstract), wherein
the light-absorbing composition is capable of being cured into a light absorber (10)(see abstract), a first transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 0° has a first transmission spectrum (see fig.5 and table 2),
the first transmission spectrum has:
a maximum transmittance of 1% or less in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 370 nm (see fig.5).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm.
Shiono discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-5, an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm as taught by Shiono in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 20, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v):
(i) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5);
(ii) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5);
(iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5);
(iv) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5);
(v) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 21, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vi): (vi) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 22, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vii): (vii) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 25, Kubo discloses an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light (para.51 and fig.5).
Regarding claim 28, Kubo discloses a light absorber made of a cured the light-absorbing composition according to claim 19 (see abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (I), (II), (III), (IV) and (V):
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5);
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5);
(III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5);
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5);
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 30, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VII): (VII) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5)
Regarding claim 31, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VIII): (VIII) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 36, Kubo discloses a laminate comprising: a dielectric multilayer film (bottom up 2nd paragraph of 14); and the light absorber according to claim 28 provided on the dielectric multilayer film (bottom up 2nd paragraph of 14).
Claim(s) 19, 20, 28, 29, 36 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv CN 206804911U (see document of 18713057_2026-02-26_CN_206804911_U_M.pdf) in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141.
Regarding claim 19, Lv discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-4 and 5B, comprising: a light-absorbing compound including a phosphonic acid; and a copper component (see 4th-5th paragraphs of page 5), wherein
the light-absorbing composition is capable of being cured into a light absorber (see 4th-5th paragraphs of page 5), a first transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 0° has a first transmission spectrum (see fig.5B),
the first transmission spectrum has:
a maximum transmittance of 1% or less in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 370 nm (see fig.5B).
Lv does not explicitly disclose an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm.
Shiono discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-5, an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm as taught by Shiono in the light-absorbing composition of Lv for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 20, Lv discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v):
(i) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5B);
(ii) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5B);
(iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5B);
(iv) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5B);
(v) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5B).
Regarding claim 28, Lv discloses a light absorber made of a cured the light-absorbing composition according to claim 19 (see 4th-5th paragraphs of page 5).
Regarding claim 29, Lv discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (I), (II), (III), (IV) and (V):
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5B);
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5B);
(III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5B);
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5B);
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5B).
Regarding claim 36, Lv discloses a laminate (2) comprising: a dielectric multilayer film (14 or 16); and the light absorber according to claim 28 provided on the dielectric multilayer film (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 37, Lv discloses a camera module (4) comprising, in sequence: a plurality of lenses (411); the light absorber according to claim 28 (see claim 28); and an image sensor (42).
Claim(s) 19-25, 27-33, 35 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo US 2020/0158930 in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141.
Regarding claim 19, Kubo discloses a light-absorbing composition (UV-IR-absorbing composition), in at least figs.1-2 and 7 comprising: a light-absorbing compound including a phosphonic acid; and a copper component (para.67-68), wherein
the light-absorbing composition is capable of being cured into a light absorber (10)(para.88), a first transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 0° has a first transmission spectrum (see fig.7), the first transmission spectrum has:
a maximum transmittance of 1% or less in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 370 nm (see fig.7).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm.
Shiono discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-5, an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm as taught by Shiono in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 20, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v):
(i) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.7);
(ii) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.7);
(iv) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.7);
(v) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.7).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less.
Shiono discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-5, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Shiono in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 21, Shiono discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vi): (vi) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5 it’s about 7.8%) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1). The reason for combining is the same as claim 20.
Regarding claim 22, Shiono discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vii): (vii) a transmittance of about 2% at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1). The reason for combining is the same as claim 20.
Kubo in view of Shiono does not explicitly disclose the transmittance of 3% or more at the wavelength of 780 nm.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the transmittance of 3% or more at the wavelength of 780 nm through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmittance of 3% or more at the wavelength of 780 nm in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Shiono for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 23, Kubo discloses a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm (see fig.7, transmission spectrum of 55 degree is between transmission spectrums of 50 degree and 60 degree shown in fig.7), and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less (see fig.7).
Regarding claim 24, Kubo does not explicitly disclose the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less.
Shiono discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-5, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Shiono in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in order to have the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less because Kubo discloses an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less at 50% mark shown in fig.7 as well for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 25, Kubo discloses an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light (para.67 and 68).
Regarding claim 27, Kubo discloses the ultraviolet absorbent having either of a hydroxy group and a carbonyl group per molecule (para.98 and 99).
Regarding claim 28, Kubo discloses a light absorber (10) made of a cured the light-absorbing composition (para.88) according to claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19).
Regarding claim 29, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (I), (II), (III), (IV), and (V):
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.7);
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.7);
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.7);
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.7).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose (III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less.
Shiono discloses a light absorber, in at least figs.1-5, (III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Shiono in the light absorber of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 30, Shiono discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VI): (VI) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5 it’s about 7.8%) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1). The reason for combining is the same as claim 29.
Regarding claim 31, Shiono discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VII): (VII) a transmittance of about 2% at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1). The reason for combining is the same as claim 29.
Kubo in view of Shiono does not explicitly disclose the transmittance of 3% or more at the wavelength of 780 nm.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the transmittance of 3% or more at the wavelength of 780 nm through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmittance of 3% or more at the wavelength of 780 nm in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Shiono for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 32, Kubo discloses a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm (see fig.7, transmission spectrum of 55 degree is between transmission spectrums of 50 degree and 60 degree shown in fig.7), and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less (see fig.7).
Regarding claim 33, Kubo does not explicitly disclose the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less.
Shiono discloses a light absorber, in at least figs.1-5, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see figs.4 and 5) for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region (para.1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Shiono in the light absorber of Kubo in order to have the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less because Kubo discloses an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less at 50% mark shown in fig.7 as well for the purpose of forming an optical filter transmits light in a visible wavelength region.
Regarding claim 35, Kubo discloses the light-absorbing composition further including an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light (para.67 and 68), the ultraviolet absorbent having either of a hydroxy group and a carbonyl group per molecule (para.98 and 99).
Regarding claim 36, Kubo discloses a laminate (1c, 1e or 1f) comprising: a dielectric multilayer film (30, para.93 or 40, para.96); and the light absorber (10) according to claim 28 provided on the dielectric multilayer film (see figs.1C, 1E and 1F).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo US 2020/0158930 in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141 as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Hayashi US 2021/0024754.
Regarding claim 26, Kubo in view of Shiono does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component.
Hayashi discloses a light-absorbing composition, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component (para.4, 25 and 42) for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance (para.25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component as taught by Hayashi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Shiono for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo US 2020/0158930 in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141 as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Hayashi US 2021/0024754.
Regarding claim 34, Kubo in view of Shiono does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component.
Hayashi discloses a light absorber, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component (para.4, 25 and 42) for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance (para.25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component as taught by Hayashi in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Shiono for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo US 2020/0158930 in view of Shiono US 2022/0179141 as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Hayashi US 2021/0024754.
Regarding claim 37, Kubo discloses a camera module (see fig.2) comprising:
a plurality of lenses (2);
the light absorber (10) according to claim 28 (see rejection of claim 28); and an image sensor (4).
Kubo in view of Shiono does not explicitly disclose the camera module comprising in sequence: the lenses; the light absorber; and the image sensor.
Hayashi discloses a camera module (100), in at least fig.5, comprising in sequence: the lenses (3); the light absorber (10); and the image sensor (2) for the purpose of forming an imaging optical system (para.106).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the camera module comprising in sequence: the lenses; the light absorber; and the image sensor as taught by Hayashi in the camera module of Kubo in view of Shiono for the purpose of forming an imaging optical system.
Claim(s) 19-22, 25, 28-31 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo WO 2020235610A1 (see document of 18713057_2026-02-27_WO_2020235610_A1_M.pdf) in view of Oi JP 2019012121A (see document 18713057_2026-06-20_JP_2019012121_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 19, Kubo discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1, 2 and 5, comprising: a light-absorbing compound including a phosphonic acid; and a copper component (see abstract), wherein
the light-absorbing composition is capable of being cured into a light absorber (10)(see abstract), a first transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 0° has a first transmission spectrum (see fig.5 and table 2),
the first transmission spectrum has:
a maximum transmittance of 1% or less in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 370 nm (see fig.5).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm.
Oi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1A-5C, an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm (see fig.5C) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm as taught by Oi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range.
Regarding claim 20, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v):
(i) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5);
(ii) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5);
(iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5);
(iv) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5);
(v) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 21, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vi): (vi) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 22, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (vii): (vii) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 25, Kubo discloses an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light (para.51 and fig.5).
Regarding claim 28, Kubo discloses a light absorber made of a cured the light-absorbing composition according to claim 19 (see abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (I), (II), (III), (IV) and (V):
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5);
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5);
(III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5);
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5);
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 30, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VII): (VII) a transmittance of 7% or more at a wavelength of 750 nm (see fig.5)
Regarding claim 31, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (VIII): (VIII) a transmittance of 3% or more at a wavelength of 780 nm (see fig.5).
Regarding claim 36, Kubo discloses a laminate comprising: a dielectric multilayer film (bottom up 2nd paragraph of 14); and the light absorber according to claim 28 provided on the dielectric multilayer film (bottom up 2nd paragraph of 14).
Claim(s) 19, 20, 28, 29, 36 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv CN 206804911U (see document of 18713057_2026-02-26_CN_206804911_U_M.pdf) in view of Oi JP 2019012121A (see document 18713057_2026-06-20_JP_2019012121_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 19, Lv discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1-4 and 5B, comprising: a light-absorbing compound including a phosphonic acid; and a copper component (see 4th-5th paragraphs of page 5), wherein
the light-absorbing composition is capable of being cured into a light absorber (see 4th-5th paragraphs of page 5), a first transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 0° has a first transmission spectrum (see fig.5B),
the first transmission spectrum has:
a maximum transmittance of 1% or less in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 370 nm (see fig.5B).
Lv does not explicitly disclose an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm.
Oi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1A-5C, an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm (see fig.5C) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm as taught by Oi in the light-absorbing composition of Lv for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range.
Regarding claim 20, Lv discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v):
(i) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5B);
(ii) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5B);
(iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5B);
(iv) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5B);
(v) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5B).
Regarding claim 28, Lv discloses a light absorber made of a cured the light-absorbing composition according to claim 19 (see 4th-5th paragraphs of page 5).
Regarding claim 29, Lv discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (I), (II), (III), (IV) and (V):
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.5B);
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.5B);
(III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5B);
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.5B);
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.5B).
Regarding claim 36, Lv discloses a laminate (2) comprising: a dielectric multilayer film (14 or 16); and the light absorber according to claim 28 provided on the dielectric multilayer film (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 37, Lv discloses a camera module (4) comprising, in sequence: a plurality of lenses (411); the light absorber according to claim 28 (see claim 28); and an image sensor (42).
Claim(s) 19-20, 23-25, 27-29, 32-33, 35 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo US 2020/0158930 in view of Oi JP 2019012121A (see document 18713057_2026-06-20_JP_2019012121_A_M.pdf).
Regarding claim 19, Kubo discloses a light-absorbing composition (UV-IR-absorbing composition), in at least figs.1-2 and 7 comprising: a light-absorbing compound including a phosphonic acid; and a copper component (para.67-68), wherein
the light-absorbing composition is capable of being cured into a light absorber (10)(para.88), a first transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 0° has a first transmission spectrum (see fig.7), the first transmission spectrum has:
a maximum transmittance of 1% or less in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 370 nm (see fig.7).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm.
Oi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1A-5C, an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm (see fig.5C) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an average transmittance of 70% or more in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 670 nm as taught by Oi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range.
Regarding claim 20, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (i), (ii), (iii), (iv) and (v):
(i) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.7);
(ii) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.7);
(iv) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.7);
(v) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.7).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less.
Oi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1A-5C, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5A) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Oi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range.
Regarding claim 23, Kubo discloses a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm (see fig.7, transmission spectrum of 55 degree is between transmission spectrums of 50 degree and 60 degree shown in fig.7), and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less (see fig.7).
Regarding claim 24, Kubo does not explicitly disclose the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less.
Oi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1A-5C, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5A) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Oi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in order to have the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less because Kubo discloses an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less at 50% mark shown in fig.7 as well for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range.
Regarding claim 25, Kubo discloses an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light (para.67 and 68).
Regarding claim 27, Kubo discloses the ultraviolet absorbent having either of a hydroxy group and a carbonyl group per molecule (para.98 and 99).
Regarding claim 28, Kubo discloses a light absorber (10) made of a cured the light-absorbing composition (para.88) according to claim 19 (see rejection of claim 19).
Regarding claim 29, Kubo discloses the first transmission spectrum has the following (I), (II), (III), (IV), and (V):
(I) an average transmittance of 75% or more in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 600 nm (see fig.7);
(II) a first wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 380 nm or more and 440 nm or less (see fig.7);
(IV) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 800 nm to 900 nm (see fig.7);
(V) a maximum transmittance of 5% or less in a wavelength range of 1100 nm to 1200 nm (see fig.7).
Kubo does not explicitly disclose (III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less.
Oi discloses a light-absorbing composition, in at least figs.1A-5C, (III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5A) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (III) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Oi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range.
Regarding claim 32, Kubo discloses a second transmitted light incident on the light absorber at an incident angle of 55° has a second transmission spectrum, the second transmission spectrum has a third wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 350 nm to 450 nm (see fig.7, transmission spectrum of 55 degree is between transmission spectrums of 50 degree and 60 degree shown in fig.7), and wherein an absolute value of difference between the first wavelength and the third wavelength is 12 nm or less (see fig.7).
Regarding claim 33, Kubo does not explicitly disclose the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less.
Oi discloses a light absorber, in at least figs.1A-5C, (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less (see fig.5A) for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have (iii) a second wavelength at which a transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 680 nm or more and 740 nm or less as taught by Oi in the light absorber of Kubo in order to have the second transmission spectrum has a fourth wavelength at which transmittance is 50% in a wavelength range of 650 nm to 750 nm, and wherein an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less because Kubo discloses an absolute value of difference between the second wavelength and the fourth wavelength is 24 nm or less at 50% mark shown in fig.7 as well for the purpose of forming an optical filter for suppressing incident angle dependency of spectral transmittance and showing high transmittance with less absorption of light in a visible range (abstract).
Regarding claim 35, Kubo discloses the light-absorbing composition further including an ultraviolet absorbent that absorbs at least a portion of ultraviolet light (para.67 and 68), the ultraviolet absorbent having either of a hydroxy group and a carbonyl group per molecule (para.98 and 99).
Regarding claim 36, Kubo discloses a laminate (1c, 1e or 1f) comprising: a dielectric multilayer film (30, para.93 or 40, para.96); and the light absorber (10) according to claim 28 provided on the dielectric multilayer film (see figs.1C, 1E and 1F).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo US 2020/0158930 in view of Oi JP 2019012121A as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Hayashi US 2021/0024754.
Regarding claim 26, Kubo in view of Oi does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component.
Hayashi discloses a light-absorbing composition, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component (para.4, 25 and 42) for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance (para.25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component and a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component as taught by Hayashi in the light-absorbing composition of Kubo in view of Oi for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo US 2020/0158930 in view of Oi JP 2019012121A as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Hayashi US 2021/0024754.
Regarding claim 34, Kubo in view of Oi does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component.
Hayashi discloses a light absorber, further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component (para.4, 25 and 42) for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance (para.25).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkoxide including a metal component, a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component and a polymer of a hydrolysate of an alkoxide including a metal component as taught by Hayashi in the light absorber of Kubo in view of Oi for the purpose of improving dispersion stability of the light absorbing composition, suppressing aggregation of the light absorber, reducing haze of the thin film formed from the light absorbing composition, and achieving improvement in visible light transmittance.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo US 2020/0158930 in view of Oi JP 2019012121A as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Hayashi US 2021/0024754.
Regarding claim 37, Kubo discloses a camera module (see fig.2) comprising:
a plurality of lenses (2);
the light absorber (10) according to claim 28 (see rejection of claim 28); and an image sensor (4).
Kubo in view of Oi does not explicitly disclose the camera module comprising in sequence: the lenses; the light absorber; and the image sensor.
Hayashi discloses a camera module (100), in at least fig.5, comprising in sequence: the lenses (3); the light absorber (10); and the image sensor (2) for the purpose of forming an imaging optical system (para.106).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the camera module comprising in sequence: the lenses; the light absorber; and the image sensor as taught by Hayashi in the camera module of Kubo in view of Oi for the purpose of forming an imaging optical system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kubo US 20190346601 (at least figs.10), Kubo US 20200233130 (figs.4-10) and Takagi US 20200319387 (at least fig.4E) can be a primary reference as well.
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871