DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 3/3/2026. Claims 1-7, 11-15 and 19-26 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The objections to the abstract have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed. The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/26/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 20, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US2007/0079436) in view of Spiegel (US6213405).
Regarding Claim 1, Na teaches a heat pump pool heater system [fig 2] comprising:
a heat pump comprising a refrigerant circuit fluidly connecting a compressor [52], a condenser coil [54], a thermal expansion valve [56], and an evaporator coil [58] via refrigerant conduit such that refrigerant can pass therethrough [0025];
one or more supplemental heat sources [90] configured to output heat [0036];
a water pump [38] configured to draw water from a body of water i.e. pool, pass the water across the condenser coil and the one or more supplemental heat sources, and flow heated water from the condenser coil and/or the one or more supplemental heat sources to the body of water [0025];
a controller [102] configured to selectively transition the heat pump between various modes [0013; 0038; 0037; Table I].
Na does not explicitly teach where the controller selectively transitions the heat pump between a water heating mode and a defrost mode; where the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the compressor to cease operation, thereby ceasing a flow of refrigerant through the condenser coil and engaging the one or more supplemental heat sources to output heat to the water.
However, Spiegel teaches a swimming pool heat pump [col 1, lines 5-10] having controls that selectively transitions the heat pump between a water heating mode and a defrost mode; where the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the compressor to cease operation, thereby ceasing a flow of refrigerant through the condenser coil and engaging the one or more supplemental heat sources to output heat to the water [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a defrosting control that provide cost savings [col 3, lines 12-24].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have where the controller selectively transitions the heat pump between a water heating mode and a defrost mode; where the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the compressor to cease operation, thereby ceasing a flow of refrigerant through the condenser coil and engaging the one or more supplemental heat sources to output heat to the water in view of the teachings of Spiegel where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a defrosting control that provide cost savings.
Regarding Claim 2, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 above and Na teaches wherein the water heating mode comprises (i) refrigerant flowing sequentially through the compressor, the condenser coil, the thermal expansion valve, and the evaporator coil [0036; 0038; 0039]; and Spiegel teaches where (ii) the one or more supplemental heat sources being deactivated such that heat is provided to the water solely by the heat pump [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1].
Regarding Claim 3, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Na teaches a water temperature sensor [thermostat 104] configured to measure a temperature of water associated with the pool, wherein the controller [102] is further configured to: receive water temperature data from the water temperature sensor; determine that a current water temperature is less than a target water temperature; and output instructions for at least one of the heat pump or the one or more supplemental heat sources to provide heat to the water [0025; 0036; 0038; claim 24; claim 27].
Regarding Claim 12, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Na teaches wherein the one or more supplemental heat sources [90] comprises an electrical resistance heating element [0036].
Regarding Claim 20, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Spiegel teaches a supplemental defrost heat source [11], wherein transitioning the heat pump to the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the supplemental defrost heat source to output heat [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1]
Regarding Claim 21, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Spiegel teaches a fan configured to pass air across the evaporator coil, wherein transitioning the heat pump to the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the fan to pass air across the evaporator coil [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1].
Regarding Claim 22, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Spiegel teaches wherein the body of water comprises a pool [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1].
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US2007/0079436) and Spiegel (US6213405) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Brown et al. (US6212894).
Regarding Claim 4, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 above but does not explicitly teach one or more sensors configured to measure one or more corresponding characteristics at or near the evaporator coil, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive sensor data from the one or more sensors; determine that a current sensor value fails to satisfy a corresponding target value; and transition the heat pump to the defrost mode.
However, Brown teaches a heat pump system that heats a pool [col 1, lines 13-24] having one or more sensors [68] configured to measure one or more corresponding characteristics at or near the evaporator coil [col 9, lines 50-65], wherein a controller [20] is further configured to: receive sensor data from the one or more sensors; determine that a current sensor value fails to satisfy a corresponding target value; and transition the heat pump to the defrost mode [col 9, line 50-col 10, line 10; see also Abstract where the anti-freeze protection control is also a defrost control] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. reducing ice on the evaporator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have teach one or more sensors configured to measure one or more corresponding characteristics at or near the evaporator coil, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive sensor data from the one or more sensors; determine that a current sensor value fails to satisfy a corresponding target value; and transition the heat pump to the defrost mode in view of the teachings of Brown where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. reducing ice on the evaporator.
Regarding Claim 6, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 above and Brown teaches wherein: the one or more sensors [68] comprises an ambient temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of ambient air at or near the evaporator coil, the current sensor value is a current ambient temperature, the corresponding target value is an ambient temperature threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current ambient temperature is less than the ambient temperature threshold [col 9, line 50-col 10, line 10; see also Abstract where the anti-freeze protection control is also a defrost control and where operation of the defrost/anti-freeze protection control is indicative of the ambient temperature being less than a threshold] .
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US2007/0079436), Spiegel (US6213405) and Brown et al. (US6212894) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Fudono et al. (US5003786).
Regarding Claim 5, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 above but does not teach wherein: the one or more sensors comprises a coil temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in or near the evaporator coil, the current sensor value is a current coil temperature, the corresponding target value is a coil temperature threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current coil temperature is less than the coil temperature threshold.
However, Fudono teaches a refrigeration apparatus having defrosting capability [col 1, lines 6-10] having wherein: the one or more sensors comprises a coil temperature sensor [11] configured to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in or near the evaporator coil, the current sensor value is a current coil temperature, the corresponding target value is a coil temperature threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current coil temperature is less than the coil temperature threshold [col 3, lines 43-66; fig 2] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have wherein: the one or more sensors comprises a coil temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in or near the evaporator coil, the current sensor value is a current coil temperature, the corresponding target value is a coil temperature threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current coil temperature is less than the coil temperature threshold in view of the teachings of Fudono where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US2007/0079436), Spiegel (US6213405) and Brown et al. (US6212894) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Dixon (US2015/0276236).
Regarding Claim 7, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 above but does not teach wherein: the one or more sensors comprises an ambient temperature sensor configured to measure a humidity of ambient air at or near the evaporator coil, the current sensor value is a current ambient humidity, the corresponding target value is an ambient humidity threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current ambient humidity is less than the ambient humidity threshold [0049-0055].
However, Dixon teaches a heat pump system for a pool [0002] having wherein: the one or more sensors comprises an ambient temperature sensor [80] configured to measure a humidity of ambient air at or near the evaporator coil [at 1a], the current sensor value is a current ambient humidity [0011; 0022; where panel 1a acts as an evaporator], the corresponding target value is an ambient humidity threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current ambient humidity is less than the ambient humidity threshold [0023; 0025; where the sensor would have a failed determination when the humidity is below the defrost threshold and the system operates in a normal cycle] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have wherein: the one or more sensors comprises an ambient temperature sensor configured to measure a humidity of ambient air at or near the evaporator coil, the current sensor value is a current ambient humidity, the corresponding target value is an ambient humidity threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current ambient humidity is less than the ambient humidity threshold in view of the teachings of Dixon where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US2007/0079436), Spiegel (US6213405) and Brown et al. (US6212894) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US2021/0010740).
Regarding Claim 11, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4 above but does not teach a supplemental defrost heat source; and a fan configured to pass air across the evaporator coil, wherein transitioning the heat pump to the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the supplemental defrost heat source to output heat and for the fan to pass air across the evaporator coil.
However, Lee teaches a refrigerator and a defrost method [0060-0063] having a supplemental defrost heat source [70]; and a fan [51, 120] configured to pass air across the evaporator coil, wherein transitioning the refrigerator to the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the supplemental defrost heat source to output heat and for the fan to pass air across the evaporator coil [0086-0089] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have a supplemental defrost heat source; and a fan configured to pass air across the evaporator coil, wherein transitioning the heat pump to the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the supplemental defrost heat source to output heat and for the fan to pass air across the evaporator coil in view of the teachings of Lee where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US2007/0079436) and Spiegel (US6213405) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lackstrom (US5509274).
Regarding Claim 13, Na teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not teach wherein the one or more supplemental heat sources comprises a combustion- type heating device.
However, Lackstrom teaches a pool heating system having a heat pump and a gas fired heater [col 5, lines 35-55; fig 1] wherein the one or more supplemental heat sources comprises a combustion- type heating device [16; col 5, lines 35-55; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a heating structure that heats water of the pool when the heat pump circuit would be inefficient [col 6, lines 36-60].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have a supplemental defrost heat source; and a fan configured to pass air across the evaporator coil, wherein transitioning the heat pump to the defrost mode comprises outputting instructions for the supplemental defrost heat source to output heat and for the fan to pass air across the evaporator coil in view of the teachings of Lackstrom where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a heating structure that heats water of the pool when the heat pump circuit would be inefficient.
Claim(s) 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US6212894) in view of Spiegel (US6213405).
Regarding Claim 14, Brown teaches a non-transitory, computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors [col 2, line 58-col 3, line 57], cause a controller [20] to:
receive water temperature data from a water temperature sensor [34] of a heating system configured to heat water of a body of water [col 7, lines 8-41; col 10, lines 10-16];
determine that a current water temperature is less than a target water temperature [col 8, lines 18-53];
output instructions for at least one of a heat pump of the HPPH system or a supplemental heat source of the heating system to provide heat to the water [col 8, lines 18-53];
receive sensor data from one or more sensors [68] configured to measure one or more corresponding characteristics at or near an evaporator coil [66] of the heating system [col 9, lines 50-65];
determine that a current sensor value fails to satisfy a corresponding target value [col 9, line 38-col 10, line 16].
Brown does not explicitly teach transitioning the heating system to a defrost mode by causing the compressor of the heating system to cease operation, thereby ceasing a flow of refrigerant through a condenser coil of the heating system; and causing one or more supplemental heat sources to generate heat for heating the body of water.
However, Spiegel teaches a swimming pool heat pump [col 1, lines 5-10] that transitions a heating system to a defrost mode by causing a compressor of the heating system to cease operation, thereby ceasing a flow of refrigerant through a condenser coil of the heating system; and causing one or more supplemental heat sources to generate heat for heating the body of water [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a defrosting control that provide cost savings [col 3, lines 12-24].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Brown to transition the heating system to a defrost mode by causing the compressor of the heating system to cease operation, thereby ceasing a flow of refrigerant through a condenser coil of the heating system; and causing one or more supplemental heat sources to generate heat for heating the body of water in view of the teachings of Spiegel where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a defrosting control that provide cost savings.
Regarding Claim 19, Brown, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 14 above and Spiegel teaches having a supplemental defrost heat source of the heating system output heat and a fan of the heating system to pass heated air from the supplemental defrost heat source across the evaporator coil [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1]
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US6212894) and Spiegel (US6213405) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Dixon (US2015/0276236).
Regarding Claim 15, Brown teaches the invention of claim 14 above but does not teach wherein: the one or more sensors comprises a coil temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in or near the evaporator coil, the current sensor value is a current coil temperature, the corresponding target value is a coil temperature threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current coil temperature is less than the coil temperature threshold.
However, Dixon teaches a heat pump system for a pool [0002] having wherein: the one or more sensors [80] comprises a coil temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in or near the evaporator coil [1a; which acts as the evaporator], the current sensor value is a current coil temperature, the corresponding target value is a coil temperature threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current coil temperature is less than the coil temperature threshold [0023; 0025; where the sensor would have a failed determination when the humidity is below the defrost threshold and the system operates in a normal cycle] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Brown to have wherein: the one or more sensors comprises a coil temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the refrigerant in or near the evaporator coil, the current sensor value is a current coil temperature, the corresponding target value is a coil temperature threshold, and determining that the current sensor value fails to satisfy the corresponding target value comprises determining that the current coil temperature is less than the coil temperature threshold in view of the teachings of Dixon where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (US2007/0079436) and Spiegel (US6213405) in view of Dixon (US2015/0276236).
Regarding Claim 1, Na teaches a system [fig 2] comprising:
a heat pump comprising a refrigerant circuit fluidly connecting a compressor [52], a condenser coil [54], a thermal expansion valve [56], and an evaporator coil [58] via refrigerant conduit such that refrigerant can pass therethrough [0025];
one or more supplemental heat sources [90] configured to output heat [0036];
a water pump [38] configured to draw water from a body of water, pass the water across the condenser coil and the one or more supplemental heat sources, and flow heated water from the condenser coil and/or the one or more supplemental heat sources to the body of water [0025];
a controller [102] configured to selectively transition the heat pump between various modes [0013; 0038; 0037; Table I].
Na does not explicitly teach where the controller selectively transitions the heat pump between a water heating mode and a defrost mode, the defrost mode comprising engaging the one or more supplemental heat sources to output heat to the water and where the defrost mode comprises a reversing valve to reverse a direction of the flow of refrigerant through the heat pump, or a valve to open and direct the flow of refrigerant directly from the compressor to the evaporator coil, thereby bypassing the condenser coil.
However, Spiegel teaches a swimming pool heat pump [col 1, lines 5-10] having controls that selectively transitions the heat pump between a water heating mode and a defrost mode; the defrost mode comprises engaging the one or more supplemental heat sources to output heat to the water [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a defrosting control that provide cost savings [col 3, lines 12-24].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have where the controller selectively transitions the heat pump between a water heating mode and a defrost mode, the defrost mode comprising engaging the one or more supplemental heat sources to output heat to the water in view of the teachings of Spiegel where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a defrosting control that provide cost savings.
Also, Dixon teaches a heat pump system for a pool [0002] having where the defrost mode comprises a reversing valve [60] to reverse a direction of the flow of refrigerant through the heat pump [0023; 0025; where the claim is recited in the alternative] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have where the defrost mode comprises a reversing valve to reverse a direction of the flow of refrigerant through the heat pump, or a valve to open and direct the flow of refrigerant directly from the compressor to the evaporator coil, thereby bypassing the condenser coil in view of the teachings of Dixon where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 24, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 23 above and Spiegel teaches wherein the body of water comprises a pool [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1].
Regarding Claim 25, Na teaches a non-transitory, computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a controller [0038; TABLE I; where one skilled in the art would necessarily conclude that a generic controller contains a memory to at least store the process of Table I] to:
receive water temperature data from a water temperature sensor [104] of a heating system configured to heat water of a body of water [0036; 0038];
determine that a current water temperature is less than a target water temperature [implicit at 0036; 0038; 0039];
output instructions for at least one of a heat pump of the heating system or a supplemental heat source of the heating system to provide heat to the water [0036; 0038; 0039].
Na does not explicitly teach where the controller outputs instructions for the one or more supplemental heat sources to generate heat for heating the body of water;
receives sensor data from one or more sensors configured to measure one or more corresponding characteristics at or near an evaporator coil of the heating system;
determines that a current sensor value fails to satisfy a corresponding target value; and
transition the heating system to a defrost mode by: outputting instructions for: (i) a reversing valve of the heating system to reverse a direction of the flow of refrigerant through the heat pump, or (ii) a valve of the heating system to open and direct the flow of refrigerant directly from a compressor of the heating system to the evaporator coil, thereby bypassing the condenser coil.
However, Spiegel teaches a swimming pool heat pump [col 1, lines 5-10] having controls that outputs instructions for the one or more supplemental heat sources to generate heat for heating the body of water [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a defrosting control that provide cost savings [col 3, lines 12-24].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to have a controller that outputs instructions for the one or more supplemental heat sources to generate heat for heating the body of water in view of the teachings of Spiegel where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a defrosting control that provide cost savings.
Also, Dixon teaches a heat pump system for a pool [0002] having where a controller [90] receives sensor data from one or more sensors [80] configured to measure one or more corresponding characteristics at or near an evaporator coil of the heating system [0025]; and determines that a current sensor value fails to satisfy a corresponding target value [0023; 0025; where the sensor would have a failed determination when the humidity is below the defrost threshold and the system operates in a normal cycle] and transition the heating system to a defrost mode by: outputting instructions for: (i) a reversing valve [60] of the heating system to reverse a direction of the flow of refrigerant through the heat pump [0023; 0025; where the claim is recited in the alternative] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Na to receive sensor data from one or more sensors configured to measure one or more corresponding characteristics at or near an evaporator coil of the heating system;
determines that a current sensor value fails to satisfy a corresponding target value; and transition the heating system to a defrost mode by: outputting instructions for: (i) a reversing valve of the heating system to reverse a direction of the flow of refrigerant through the heat pump, or (ii) a valve of the heating system to open and direct the flow of refrigerant directly from a compressor of the heating system to the evaporator coil, thereby bypassing the condenser coilin view of the teachings of Dixon where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a defrosting operation and improve the efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 26, Na, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 25 above and Spiegel teaches wherein the body of water comprises a pool [col 2, line 40-col 3, line 25; fig 1].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY L FURDGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763