DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim 1-6 in the reply filed on 10/14/26 is acknowledged. Claims 7-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/24 was filed on 5/23/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 5/23/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2013/0266865).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 6, Kwon et al discloses a negative active material (negative electrode active material) for a lithium battery, the negative active material comprising:
a silicon-based alloy including a silicon alloy-based alloy matrix; and
silicon nanoparticles distributed (dispersed) in the silicon alloy-based matrix,
wherein an example of the silicon-based alloy is SiAlNi,
wherein an example of the silicon-based alloy may include 60 to 80 atomic% Si, 10 to 20 atomic% M’ (Al), and 10 to 20 atomic% M” (Ni);
wherein silicon included in the silicon nanoparticles is active silicon, and silicon included in the silicon alloy-based matrix is inactive silicon;
wherein the particle size distribution D90 (crystal size) of the silicon nanoparticles is less than or equal to 75 nm ([0011],[0016],[0018],[0024],[0047]-[0049]).
However, Kwon et al does not expressly teach Al that is in a range from 18 atomic% to 28 atomic% with respect to the total content of the negative electrode active material (claim 1).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kwon negative active material to include Al that is in a range from 18 atomic% to 28 atomic% with respect to the total content of the negative electrode active material because in a case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ 2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed atomic% of Al.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon et al also discloses an example of the silicon-based alloy that may include 40 to 80 atomic% of Si, 10 to 30 atomic% of M’ (Al), and 10 to 30 atomic% of M” (Ni) ([0048]).
However, Kwon et al does not expressly teach Al that is in a range from 23 atomic% to 27 atomic% with respect to the total content, and Ni that is in a range from 11 atomic% to 15 atomic% with respect to the total content.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kwon negative active material to include Al that is in a range from 23 atomic% to 27 atomic% with respect to the total content and Ni that is in a range from 11 atomic% to 15 atomic% with respect to the total content because it has been held that the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The atomic% of Al and Ni is a result effective variable of inhibiting volumetic expansion of the negative active material, while improving lifespan thereof ([0044]). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454. 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). There is no evidence of criticality of the claimed atomic% of Al and Ni.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2013/0266865) in view of Mitsumoto et al (US 2022/0131137). The Kwon reference is applied to claim 1 for reasons stated above.
However, Kwon et al does not expressly teach a negative electrode active material further comprising boron, the boron being included in the alloy matrix and being in a range from 2 atomic% to 10 atomic% with respect to the total content.
Mitsumoto et al discloses an active material that contains silicon and a compound represented by chemical formula MxSiy, and M represents one or two or more of metalloid elements other than Si and metal elements (Al, Ni), wherein examples of metalloid element include B (boron) … with an example of silicon, titanium, boron, and aluminum ([0030],[0041],[0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kwon silicon-based alloy to further include boron being included in the alloy matrix in order to provide an active material capable of enhancing the cycle characteristics, reducing or eliminating the plateau region in the discharge profile, and also enhancing the high-rate characteristics ([0019]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al (US 2013/0266865) in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0143439). The Kwon reference is applied to claim 1 for reasons stated above.
However, Kwon et al does not expressly teach silicon nanoparticles having a spherical shape, symmetrical oval shape, or asymmetric oval shape.
Kim et al discloses negative active material including Si nanoparticles that have a spherical shape ([0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Kwon negative active material to include silicon nanoparticles having a spherical shape in order to prevent the increase in volume expansion of the active material, the reduction in initial efficiency, and the deterioration of cycle-life characteristics ([0040]).
Conclusion
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 10/27/2026