DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed 8/4/2026 has been entered.
This Office Action is a Non-Final Rejection of claims 1-20. It rejects claims 1-20 in a manner consistent with the rejections presented to the applicant in U.S. Application Ser. No. 19/133,484 (Seed Intellectual Property Law Group LLP Attorney Docket No. 541082.417USPC). A Non-Final Rejection was mailed to the applicant in U.S. Application Ser. No. 19/133,484 on July 29, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The independent claims 1, 13, 15, and 16 each recite a “method of detecting a transport device” and then go on to recite “one or more transport devices”. Are these recitations relating to the same “transport device”? Claim 10 recites “the prediction” without proper antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fjeldheim (US 2023/0166913) in view of Sun et al. (US 2017/0206431).
Fjeldheim discloses a detection system/computer-implemented method/data processing apparatus comprising circuitry for carrying out a method of detecting a transport device (201/301) in a workspace comprising a grid (see para. 0065) formed by a first set of parallel tracks extending in an X-direction (see para. 0065) and a second set of parallel tracks extending in a Y-direction (see para. 0065), transverse to the first set in a substantially horizontal plane, the grid comprising a plurality of grid spaces (see at least Fig. 7), wherein one or more transport devices (201/301) are arranged to selectively move in at least one of the X- direction or Y-direction on the tracks, and to handle a container (106) stacked beneath the tracks within a footprint of a single grid space, the method comprising: obtaining image data representative of an image of at least part of the workspace (see at least para. 0077); processing the image data with an object detection model trained to detect instances of transport devices on the grid (see at least para. 0074); determining, based on the processing, whether the image includes a transport device of the one or more transport devices (see at least para. 0076). Fjeldheim additionally discloses that the object detection model is trained to detect instances of transport devices that have a warning signal engaged, and processing the image data with the object detection model to determine, based on the processing, whether the image includes a transport device with the warning signal engaged (see at least para. 0048) and provide an alert that the image includes the transport device with the warning signal engaged (see at least para. 0039).
Fjeldheim discloses all the limitations of the claims, but it does not disclose, in response to determining that the image includes the transport device, outputting annotation data indicating the transport device in the image; generating the annotation data including a bounding box; outputting an updated version of the image including the annotation data; or that the object detection model comprises a convolutional neural network. Fjeldheim is silent regarding how it determines the location of a transport device is in the image.
However, Sun discloses a similar method which includes, in response to determining that the image includes a transport device, outputting annotation data indicating the transport device in the image (see at least paras 0043-0049 and 0064-0037); generating the annotation data including a bounding box (see at least paras 0043-0049 and 0064-0037); outputting an updated version of the image including the annotation data (see at least paras 0043-0049 and 0064-0037); and that the object detection model comprises a convolutional neural network (see at least paras 0043-0049 and 0064-0037) for the purpose of determining the location of a transport device in the image. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention, to include, in response to determining that the image includes the transport device, outputting annotation data indicating the transport device in the image; generating the annotation data including a bounding box; outputting an updated version of the image including the annotation data; and have the object detection model comprise a convolutional neural network, as disclosed by Sun, for the purpose of determining the location of a transport device in the image.
Conclusion
/PATRICK H MACKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653