DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 28-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 31 AUGSUT 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 16-27 in the reply filed on 31 AUGUS T2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
In the election on 31 AUGUST 2026, Applicant has elected Group I: Claims 16-27 for examination. Claims 1-15 are ‘Canceled’ and Claims 28-31 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 16-27 are considered on the merits below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification and Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the reference number of the main technical features must be placed between parentheses. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b) and 37 CFR 1.438 and MPEP 1826. See ABSTRACT submitted on 05/23/2024, titled ‘AMENDMENTS TO THE ABSTRACT’.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
There are reference to claim numbers within the specification. Examiner suggest to delete reference to claim numbers.
On page 1 line 26, instance of “US 2020 / 015 005 A1” should be “US 2020/0150005 A1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “metering device for metering the sample material into a sample vessel” in claim 16 and “metering device is provided for metering an activation liquid” in claim 26.
A device does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the metering device “for example, a balance for ascertaining the weight of the sample material. The metering device is preferably operable manually or automatically. The metering device preferably comprises a conveying element for conveying the sample material, for example pneumatically or mechanically.”
A “mixing apparatus for accommodating the sample vessel containing the sample material at controlled temperature and for mixing the sample material in the sample vessel” in claim 16.
An “apparatus” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the mixing apparatus to be a frame and an accommodation device.
A “temperature control device for cooling or heating” in claim 16.
A “device” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the temperature control device as at least one or a multitude of conduits for conducting a heat transfer medium, in addition a fan or a compressor, and in claim 17.
A “temperature measurement device for ascertaining the temperature…” in claim 22 and “temperature measurement device for ascertaining the temperature of the calorimeter” in claim 27.
A “device” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describe the temperature measurement device.
An “open-loop/closed-loop control device to control the temperature of the sample store by open-loop/closed-loop control depending on the temperature ascertained with the temperature measurement device” in claim 23 and “open-loop/closed-loop control device designed to control the dwell time of the sample vessel in the storage sites by open-loop/closed-loop control depending on the temperature ascertained with the temperature measurement device” in claim 24.
A “device” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describe the open-loop/closed-loop control device.
Claims 22, 23, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “temperature measurement device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of ascertaining the temperature is performed by “ascertaining.” There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to ascertain the temperature. The use of the term “ascertaining” is not adequate structure for performing the function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which brightening structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “open-loop/closed-loop control device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of to control the temperature and to control the dwell time is performed by “comparing.” There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to control the temperature and to control the dwell time. The use of the term “comparing” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which brightening structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation ‘the temperature’. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To overcome the rejection of claim 16, ‘the temperature’ should be ‘a temperature’.
Claims 17-27 depend from Claim 16 directly or indirectly and are also rejected under 112(b).
Claim 17 recites the limitation ‘the heat transfer medium’. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation ‘the conduits’. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation ‘the sample vessels’. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 22, 23, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of ascertaining the temperature. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of to control the temperature and to control the dwell time. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 22, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ENDERS, US Publication No. 2017/0363552 A1.
Applicant’s invention is directed to a device, a system for determining the reactivity of a sample material.
Regarding Claim 16, the ENDERS reference discloses a system for determining the reactivity of a sample material, Figure 1, abstract, comprising:
a metering device for metering the sample material into a sample vessel, Figure 1, metering apparatus 22 and sample containers 28, [0041],
a sample store for adjusting the temperature of the sample material in the sample vessel, Figure 1, sample store 30, [0041, 0052, 0053],
a mixing apparatus for accommodating the sample vessel containing the sample material at controlled temperature and for mixing the sample material in the sample vessel, Figure 1, homogenization device 24, [0026, 0027, 0041], and
a calorimeter for ascertaining the reactivity of the mixed sample material, Figure 1, measuring device 32, [0042, 0043],
wherein the sample store, for preparation of a sample material in the cement or lime industry for calorimetric measurement, includes an accommodation body having at least one or a multitude of storage sites each for accommodation of one sample vessel containing a sample material, Figure 1, [0041, 0047, 0048, 0062], store 30 and a multitude of sites where more than one container is to be held, wherein the sample store has a temperature control device for cooling or heating the storage sites of the accommodation body, Figure 2, [0032, 0049, 0057, 0059].
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 22: wherein the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the sample store has at least one temperature measurement device for ascertaining the temperature of the accommodation body and/or the storage sites, [0026, 0049].; Claim 26: wherein the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein a further metering device is provided for metering an activation liquid into the sample vessel accommodated in the mixing apparatus, [0049]. ; and Claim 27: wherein the system as claimed in claim 16, wherein the calorimeter has a temperature measurement device for ascertaining the temperature of the calorimeter and wherein the temperature measurement device is connected to the open-loop/closed-loop control device for transmission of the temperature ascertained, [0026, 0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDERS, US Publication No. 2017/0363552 A1, in view of JANSSON, US Publication No. 2016/0231260 A1.
Regarding Claim 19, the ENDERS reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regard to the preferred material of wherein the accommodation body is formed from a metal.
The JANSSON reference discloses a system for determining the reactivity of a sample material, Figure 1, abstract, comprising:
a sample store for adjusting the temperature of the sample material in the sample vessel, [0011]; and
a calorimeter for ascertaining the reactivity of the mixed sample material, abstract, [0001, 0004],
wherein the sample store, for preparation of a sample material in the cement or lime industry for calorimetric measurement, includes an accommodation body having at least one or a multitude of storage sites each for accommodation of one sample vessel containing a sample material, Figure 1, [0017-0021], wherein the accommodation body is formed from a metal, [0018, 0019].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the preferred material of the accommodation body of ENDERS with the preferred material of the accommodation body as taught by JANSSON to be formed from a metal so that it allows fast heat transfers when in contact with the temperature equilibrium chamber floor of a calorimeter, [0011].
Regarding Claim 25, the ENDERS reference discloses the claimed invention including wherein the storage sites take the form of recesses in the accommodation body, Figure 1, however it is silent in regards to wherein the storage sites take the form of recesses in the accommodation body, such that the sample vessels can be arranged at least partly within the accommodation body.
The JANSSON reference discloses a system for determining the reactivity of a sample material, Figure 1, abstract, comprising:
a sample store for adjusting the temperature of the sample material in the sample vessel, [0011]; and
a calorimeter for ascertaining the reactivity of the mixed sample material, abstract, [0001, 0004],
wherein the sample store, for preparation of a sample material in the cement or lime industry for calorimetric measurement, includes an accommodation body having at least one or a multitude of storage sites each for accommodation of one sample vessel containing a sample material, Figure 1, [0017-0021], wherein the sample store has a temperature control device for cooling or heating the storage sites of the accommodation body, [0003, 0017]; wherein the storage sites take the form of recesses in the accommodation body, such that the sample vessels can be arranged at least partly within the accommodation body, Figure 1, [0017-0020].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of ENDERS with the storage sites are such that the sample vessels can be arranged at least partly within the accommodation body as taught by JANSSON so that the vials are prevented form fall out of the holder, [0021], Figure 3.
Claims 17, 18, 20, 21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ENDERS, US Publication No. 2017/0363552 A1, in view of WRIGHT, US Publication No. 2014/0134081 A1.
Regarding Claim 17, the ENDERS reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards wherein the temperature control device comprises conduits for conducting the heat transfer medium and a heating/cooling device.
The WRIGHT reference discloses a discloses a system for determining the reactivity of a sample material, Figure 1-4, abstract, comprising:
a sample store for adjusting the temperature of sample material in a sample vessel, Figure 5, controller 504 and thermoelectric unit 503 and plate 502,
wherein the sample store, for preparation of a sample material in the cement or lime industry for calorimetric measurement, includes an accommodation body having at least one or a multitude of storage sites each for accommodation of one sample vessel containing a sample material, Figure 5, microtiter plate 502, [0029], wherein the sample store has a temperature control device for cooling or heating the storage sites of the accommodation body, Figure 4 and 5, wherein the accommodation body has an upper region and a separate lower region and wherein the conduits for conducting the heat transfer medium are disposed in the lower region, Figure 4 and 5, the upper region is the plate 502 and the lower region is the plate 501, [0025-0029], water channels 7 are the conduits.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ENDERS reference with the temperature control device comprises conduits for conducting the heat transfer medium and a heating/cooling device as taught by WRIGHT precisely control the temperature of the sample as the contents are temperature sensitive, [0005].
Additional Disclosure Included is: Claim 18: wherein the system as claimed in claim 17, wherein the accommodation body has an upper region and a separate lower region and wherein the conduits for conducting the heat transfer medium are disposed in the lower region, WRIGHT, Figure 4 and 5, [0017-0029].
Regarding Claim 20, the reference ENDERS disclose the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the sample store has conduits for conducting an activation liquid, such that the temperature of the activation liquid in the conduits is adjustable by the temperature control device.
The WRIGHT reference discloses a discloses a system for determining the reactivity of a sample material, Figure 1-4, abstract, comprising:
a sample store for adjusting the temperature of sample material in a sample vessel, Figure 5, controller 504 and thermoelectric unit 503 and plate 502,
wherein the sample store, for preparation of a sample material in the cement or lime industry for calorimetric measurement, includes an accommodation body having at least one or a multitude of storage sites each for accommodation of one sample vessel containing a sample material, Figure 5, microtiter plate 502, [0029], wherein the sample store has conduits for conducting an activation liquid, Figure 4, [0025-0029], water channels 7 are the conduits, such that the temperature of the activation liquid in the conduits is adjustable by the temperature control device, [0008, 0009, 0026].
Additional Disclosure Included is : Claim 21: wherein the system as claimed in claim 20, wherein the accommodation body has an upper region and a separate lower region and wherein the conduits for conducting the activation liquid are disposed in the lower region, Figure 4 and 5, the upper region is the plate 502 and the lower region is the plate 501, [0025-0029], water channels 7 are the conduits.
Regarding Claims 23 and 24, the ENDERS reference disclose the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the sample store has an open-loop/closed-loop control device designed to control the temperature or the dwell time of the sample store by open-loop/closed-loop control depending on the temperature ascertained with the temperature measurement device.
The WRIGHT reference discloses a discloses a system for determining the reactivity of a sample material, Figure 1-4, abstract, comprising:
a sample store for adjusting the temperature of sample material in a sample vessel, Figure 5, controller 504 and thermoelectric unit 503 and plate 502,
wherein the sample store, for preparation of a sample material in the cement or lime industry for calorimetric measurement, includes an accommodation body having at least one or a multitude of storage sites each for accommodation of one sample vessel containing a sample material, Figure 5, microtiter plate 502, [0029], wherein the sample store has a temperature control device for cooling or heating the storage sites of the accommodation body, Figure 4 and 5, wherein the sample store has an open-loop/closed-loop control device designed to control the temperature or dwell time of the sample store by open-loop/closed-loop control depending on the temperature ascertained with the temperature measurement device, WRIGHT, Figure 5, [0005, 0029].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ENDERS reference with an open-loop/closed-loop control device designed to control the temperature or dwell time of the sample store by open-loop/closed-loop control depending on the temperature ascertained with the temperature measurement device as taught by WRIGHT to efficiently providing accurate temperature control, abstract, and to control the temperature of the sample as the contents are either temperature sensitive, or in the case of bacterial or fungi cultures, grow at rates that change exponentially with temperature, WRIGHT [0005].
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797