DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election with traverse of Invention III, claims 13-27 in the reply filed on 05/13/24 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group V shares the subject matter of elected claims 13, 14, and 20. This is not found persuasive because, the shared subject matter is not special, as evidenced by the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) below. The examiner agrees that claims 29-31 could be rejoined if claim 13 was found allowable.
2. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Status
3. Claims 1-36 are pending with claims 1-12 and 28-36 withdrawn. Claims 13-27 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 14 is rejected because the recitation “from outside” lacks antecedent basis. There is no reference point to determine what space is “outside.” Further, this recitation is unclear in view of the introduction in claim 13 of “an external environment.” Is the “outside” recited in claim 14 referring to the “external environment” previously introduced?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 13-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)as being anticipated by Vinokhodov et al., US 2022/0310351.
7. Regarding claim 13, Vinokhodov discloses a target holding device (Fig. 1) for quantum beam irradiation ([0014]), comprising: a target material container (12) having a containing part (13) for a target material (6) to be irradiated with a quantum beam (5) and an opening through which the containing part is connected to an external environment (see Fig. 1), wherein the target material container is rotatable about an axis of rotation (10) passing through the containing part and the opening, and a rotational drive mechanism (15) configured to generate a drive force for rotation of the target material container ([0059]).
8. Regarding claim 14, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 13 and further discloses a device wherein the target material container has a base (12) and a surrounding wall (13) extending from the base, wherein the base and the surrounding wall demarcate at least a portion of the containing part from outside, and wherein the axis of rotation further passes through the base (see Fig. 1).
9. Regarding claim 15, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses a device
wherein the target material container has an inner surface (7) on the surrounding wall, the inner surface being a surface of revolution having the axis of rotation as its central axis (see Fig. 1 and [0051-2]).
10. Regarding claim 16, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 15 and further discloses a device wherein the surface of revolution is part of a cylindrical surface, the cylindrical surface having an axis that is the central axis or the axis of rotation, and wherein a generatrix that generates the cylindrical surface and the axis of rotation are parallel to each other (see Fig. 1 and [0050]).
11. Regarding claim 17, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses a device wherein the target material container further comprises an inner flange extending from the surrounding wall toward the opening (see Fig. 1 and [0052] “two radial surfaces”).
12. Regarding claim 18, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses a device wherein the rotational drive mechanism is capable of adjusting a rotational speed of the target material container so that at least a portion of the target material is repeatedly positioned in an irradiation area of the quantum beam while being pressed by centrifugal force toward an inner surface of the surrounding wall ([0059], [0087]).
13. Regarding claim 19, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 13 and further discloses a device
wherein the axis of rotation is arranged with respect to the quantum beam so that the axis of rotation is non-parallel to an irradiation axis of the quantum beam (see Fig. 1).
14. Regarding claim 20, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses a device
wherein the axis of rotation is oriented such that it is tilted from a horizontal plane, and wherein the quantum beam has an irradiation axis contained in a horizontal plane and is directed to irradiate through the opening to the target material which is being pressed by centrifugal force against an inner surface of the surrounding wall (see Fig. 1: there is no portion of Vinokhodov that suggests that the device must be employed in the orientation illustrated, so merely rotating the device, as illustrated, counter clockwise by about 60° would result in the limitation claimed).
15. Regarding claim 20, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 14 and further discloses a device wherein the target material container comprises a conductive material ([0051], [0053]).
16. Regarding claim 23, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 13 and further discloses a device
wherein the rotational drive mechanism is in thermal contact with the target material container (see Fig. 1) and has a heat transfer member (17) extending along the axis of rotation 9see Fig. 1).
17. Regarding claim 24, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 13 and further discloses a device
wherein the rotational drive mechanism has a heat transfer adjusting structure (20) that impedes heat transfer between the rotational drive mechanism and the target material container.
18. Regarding claim 26, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 13 and further discloses a device further comprising: a container heater 914) configured to heat the target material container; and a container heater controller configured to control a heating operation of the container heater based on a temperature of the target material container or the target material ([0058]).
19. Regarding claim 27, Vinokhodov discloses the device of claim 13 and further discloses a device
further comprising: a container cover covering at least a portion of the opening and permitting rotation of the target material container around the axis of rotation and permitting irradiation with the quantum beam (see Fig. 1: a structure extends between the radial flanges of the groove 7, through which the electron beam device passe).
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claims 22 and 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHARON M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646