DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 30-31 and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 recites “the cells”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to introduce “cells” earlier in the claim. Similar objection applies to claim 30-31 and 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27, 30-37 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP, "Solution of Key Issue #5: Support of Equivalent SNPN", Apple, S2-2000748, January 13-17, 2020 (hereinafter “Apple”) in view of Kuge (US 2025/0330894 A1, hereinafter “Kuge”).
As to claim 21:
Apple discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (UE; see section 6.X.3.4; see also Fig. 6.X.3.1-1; section 6.X.3.1) comprising:
a processor and memory, wherein the processor and memory (processor and memory of the UE; see section 6.X.3.4; see also Fig. 6.X.3.1-1; section 6.X.3.1) are configured to:
send a registration request to a hosting network (“the list of eSNPNs may be sent to the UE as part of the Registration Accept message. Thus, in response to a Registration Request, the eSNPN list may be transmitted by the (radio access) network to the UE in the Registration Accept message” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4 “The UE sends the Registration Request”; see also Fig. 6.X.3.1-1; section 6.X.3.1);
receive a list of equivalent hosting networks and a common tracking area identity list for the list of equivalent hosting networks (“the list of eSNPNs may be sent to the UE as part of the Registration Accept message. Thus, in response to a Registration Request, the eSNPN list may be transmitted by the (radio access) network to the UE in the Registration Accept message” … “the network can send the following lists to the UE, depending on whether the UE’s home SNPN is SNPN1, SNPN2, or SNPN3, where NIDx (for x = 1, 2, 3) represents the NID for the corresponding SNPNx. Home SNPN: SNPN1; SNPN1 = PLMN + NID1; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID2; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID3; Home SNPN: SNPN2; SNPN2 = PLMN + NID2;
eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID1; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4); and
perform cell reselection corresponding to an equivalent hosting network from the list of equivalent hosting networks without performing location updates based on the cells being associated with the common tracking area identity list (“the network can send the following lists to the UE, depending on whether the UE’s home SNPN is SNPN1, SNPN2, or SNPN3, where NIDx (for x = 1, 2, 3) represents the NID for the corresponding SNPNx. Home SNPN: SNPN1; SNPN1 = PLMN + NID1; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID2; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID3; Home SNPN: SNPN2; SNPN2 = PLMN + NID2; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID1; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing location updates during cell reselection, in fact no location updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing location updates”).
Apple does not explicitly disclose wherein the registration request indicates a localized service and the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service.
However, Kuge discloses wherein the registration request indicates a localized service (“a registration request message including a 5GS registration type IE indicating initial registration”; [0263]; “Provided are, in the 5GS, a method and a communication mechanism for procedures of initial registration of a UE”; Abstract; [0010]; note: 5GS = localized service) and list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service (“The AMF may include the equivalent SNPN list in the registration accept message in the registration procedure”; [0239] note 1: equivalent SNPN list = list of equivalent hosting networks; note 2: the registration procedure includes registration request including 5GS service, thus the registration accept message (including the equivalent SNPN list) is for the 5GS service).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kuge into Apple’s system/method as it would allow the registration request to indicate a localized service; and receive a list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service and a common tracking area identity list for the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to support functions for the NS and/or the SNPN in the 5GS (Kuge; [0010]; [0013]).
As to claim 22:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses wherein the processor and memory (processor and memory of the UE; see section 6.X.3.4; see also Fig. 6.X.3.1-1; section 6.X.3.1) are configured to:
receive a registration accept message, wherein the registration accept message comprises the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service and the common tracking area identity list for the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service (“the list of eSNPNs may be sent to the UE as part of the Registration Accept message. Thus, in response to a Registration Request, the eSNPN list may be transmitted by the (radio access) network to the UE in the Registration Accept message” … “the network can send the following lists to the UE, depending on whether the UE’s home SNPN is SNPN1, SNPN2, or SNPN3, where NIDx (for x = 1, 2, 3) represents the NID for the corresponding SNPNx. Home SNPN: SNPN1; SNPN1 = PLMN + NID1; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID2; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID3; Home SNPN: SNPN2; SNPN2 = PLMN + NID2; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID1; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4).
As to claim 23:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses wherein the processor and memory (processor and memory of the UE; see section 6.X.3.4; see also Fig. 6.X.3.1-1; section 6.X.3.1) are configured to:
receive a priority list of equivalent hosting networks (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs”; see section 6.X.3.4); and perform cell reselection corresponding to an equivalent hosting network from the list of equivalent hosting networks (“When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing location updates during cell reselection, in fact no location updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing location updates”) based on a respective priority of each of the equivalent hosting networks as indicated by the priority list of equivalent hosting networks (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs”; see section 6.X.3.4).
As to claim 24:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses each of the equivalent hosting networks in the received priority list of equivalent hosting networks (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs”; see section 6.X.3.4).
Kuge discloses the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service (“The AMF may include the equivalent SNPN list in the registration accept message in the registration procedure”; [0239] note 1: equivalent SNPN list = list of equivalent hosting networks; note 2: the registration procedure includes registration request including 5GS service, thus the registration accept message (including the equivalent SNPN list) is for the 5GS service).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kuge into Apple’s system/method as it would allow each of the equivalent hosting networks in the received priority list of equivalent hosting networks to be associated with a respective localized service. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to support functions for the NS and/or the SNPN in the 5GS (Kuge; [0010]; [0013]).
As to claim 25:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses wherein the hosting network comprises one of a register public land mobile network (RPLMN), a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) or an equivalent HPLMN (“equivalent HPLMN”; see introduction and section 6.X.3.4), and wherein the equivalent hosting networks are stand-alone non-public networks (SNPNs) (“support for equivalent SNPN”; see introduction and section 6.X.3.4).
As to claim 26:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Kuge further discloses wherein the localized service is identified by an identifier (ID) of the localized service (“a registration request message including a 5GS registration type IE indicating initial registration”; [0263]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kuge into Apple’s system/method as it would allow the localized service to be identified by an identifier (ID) of the localized service. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to support functions for the NS and/or the SNPN in the 5GS (Kuge; [0010]; [0013]).
As to claim 27:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses wherein the processor and memory (processor and memory of the UE; see section 6.X.3.4; see also Fig. 6.X.3.1-1; section 6.X.3.1) are configured to:
select a highest priority hosting network during an initial cell selection (“When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing location updates during cell reselection, in fact no location updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing location updates”) if the WTRU is camped on the highest priority hosting network (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs. For example, if the UE has SNPN1 as its home SNPN, eSNPN1 may have higher priority than eSNPN2. This may be especially useful when multiple eSNPNs overlap in certain deployments”; see section 6.X.3.4); and periodically attempt to find a highest priority hosting network if the WTRU is not camped on the highest priority hosting network (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs. For example, if the UE has SNPN1 as its home SNPN, eSNPN1 may have higher priority than eSNPN2. This may be especially useful when multiple eSNPNs overlap in certain deployments”; see section 6.X.3.4).
As to claim 30:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses wherein, based on the cells being associated with the common tracking area identity list (“When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing location updates during cell reselection, in fact no location updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing location updates”), the processor is configured to:
reselect between cells corresponding to equivalent hosting networks from the list of equivalent hosting networks without performing an initial registration at power on, a mobility registration procedure, or periodic updates (“the network can send the following lists to the UE, depending on whether the UE’s home SNPN is SNPN1, SNPN2, or SNPN3, where NIDx (for x = 1, 2, 3) represents the NID for the corresponding SNPNx. Home SNPN: SNPN1; SNPN1 = PLMN + NID1; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID2; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID3; Home SNPN: SNPN2; SNPN2 = PLMN + NID2;eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID1; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing updates during cell reselection, in fact no periodic updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing periodic updates”).
As to claim 31:
Apple discloses a method (see section 6.X.3.4; see also Fig. 6.X.3.1-1; section 6.X.3.1) comprising:
sending a registration request to a hosting network (“the list of eSNPNs may be sent to the UE as part of the Registration Accept message. Thus, in response to a Registration Request, the eSNPN list may be transmitted by the (radio access) network to the UE in the Registration Accept message” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4 “The UE sends the Registration Request”; see also Fig. 6.X.3.1-1; section 6.X.3.1);
receiving a list of equivalent hosting networks and a common tracking area identity list for the list of equivalent hosting networks (“the list of eSNPNs may be sent to the UE as part of the Registration Accept message. Thus, in response to a Registration Request, the eSNPN list may be transmitted by the (radio access) network to the UE in the Registration Accept message” … “the network can send the following lists to the UE, depending on whether the UE’s home SNPN is SNPN1, SNPN2, or SNPN3, where NIDx (for x = 1, 2, 3) represents the NID for the corresponding SNPNx. Home SNPN: SNPN1; SNPN1 = PLMN + NID1; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID2; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID3; Home SNPN: SNPN2; SNPN2 = PLMN + NID2;
eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID1; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4); and
performing cell reselection corresponding to an equivalent hosting network from the list of equivalent hosting networks without performing location updates based on the cells being associated with the common tracking area identity list (“the network can send the following lists to the UE, depending on whether the UE’s home SNPN is SNPN1, SNPN2, or SNPN3, where NIDx (for x = 1, 2, 3) represents the NID for the corresponding SNPNx. Home SNPN: SNPN1; SNPN1 = PLMN + NID1; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID2; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID3; Home SNPN: SNPN2; SNPN2 = PLMN + NID2; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID1; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing location updates during cell reselection, in fact no location updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing location updates”).
Apple does not explicitly disclose wherein the registration request indicates a localized service and the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service.
However, Kuge discloses wherein the registration request indicates a localized service (“a registration request message including a 5GS registration type IE indicating initial registration”; [0263]; “Provided are, in the 5GS, a method and a communication mechanism for procedures of initial registration of a UE”; Abstract; [0010]; note: 5GS = localized service) and list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service (“The AMF may include the equivalent SNPN list in the registration accept message in the registration procedure”; [0239] note 1: equivalent SNPN list = list of equivalent hosting networks; note 2: the registration procedure includes registration request including 5GS service, thus the registration accept message (including the equivalent SNPN list) is for the 5GS service).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kuge into Apple’s system/method as it would allow the registration request to indicate a localized service; and receive a list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service and a common tracking area identity list for the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to support functions for the NS and/or the SNPN in the 5GS (Kuge; [0010]; [0013]).
As to claim 32:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses receiving a registration accept message, wherein the registration accept message comprises the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service and the common tracking area identity list for the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service (“the list of eSNPNs may be sent to the UE as part of the Registration Accept message. Thus, in response to a Registration Request, the eSNPN list may be transmitted by the (radio access) network to the UE in the Registration Accept message” … “the network can send the following lists to the UE, depending on whether the UE’s home SNPN is SNPN1, SNPN2, or SNPN3, where NIDx (for x = 1, 2, 3) represents the NID for the corresponding SNPNx. Home SNPN: SNPN1; SNPN1 = PLMN + NID1; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID2; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID3; Home SNPN: SNPN2; SNPN2 = PLMN + NID2; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID1; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4).
As to claim 33:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses receiving a priority list of equivalent hosting networks (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs”; see section 6.X.3.4); and performing cell reselection corresponding to an equivalent hosting network from the list of equivalent hosting networks (“When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing location updates during cell reselection, in fact no location updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing location updates”) based on a respective priority of each of the equivalent hosting networks as indicated by the priority list of equivalent hosting networks (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs”; see section 6.X.3.4).
As to claim 34:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses each of the equivalent hosting networks in the received priority list of equivalent hosting networks (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs”; see section 6.X.3.4).
Kuge discloses the list of equivalent hosting networks for the localized service (“The AMF may include the equivalent SNPN list in the registration accept message in the registration procedure”; [0239] note 1: equivalent SNPN list = list of equivalent hosting networks; note 2: the registration procedure includes registration request including 5GS service, thus the registration accept message (including the equivalent SNPN list) is for the 5GS service).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kuge into Apple’s system/method as it would allow each of the equivalent hosting networks in the received priority list of equivalent hosting networks to be associated with a respective localized service. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to support functions for the NS and/or the SNPN in the 5GS (Kuge; [0010]; [0013]).
As to claim 35:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses wherein the hosting network comprises one of a register public land mobile network (RPLMN), a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) or an equivalent HPLMN (“equivalent HPLMN”; see introduction and section 6.X.3.4), and wherein the equivalent hosting networks are stand-alone non-public networks (SNPNs) (“support for equivalent SNPN”; see introduction and section 6.X.3.4).
As to claim 36:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Kuge further discloses wherein the localized service is identified by an identifier (ID) of the localized service (“a registration request message including a 5GS registration type IE indicating initial registration”; [0263]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kuge into Apple’s system/method as it would allow the localized service to be identified by an identifier (ID) of the localized service. Such combination would have been obvious as the references are from analogous art, where a motivation would have been to support functions for the NS and/or the SNPN in the 5GS (Kuge; [0010]; [0013]).
As to claim 37:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses selecting a highest priority hosting network during an initial cell selection (“When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing location updates during cell reselection, in fact no location updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing location updates”) if a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) is camped on the highest priority hosting network (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs. For example, if the UE has SNPN1 as its home SNPN, eSNPN1 may have higher priority than eSNPN2. This may be especially useful when multiple eSNPNs overlap in certain deployments”; see section 6.X.3.4); and periodically attempting to find a highest priority hosting network if the WTRU is not camped on the highest priority hosting network (“The order in which the eSNPNs are listed may also indicate the recommended priority of the eSNPNs. For example, if the UE has SNPN1 as its home SNPN, eSNPN1 may have higher priority than eSNPN2. This may be especially useful when multiple eSNPNs overlap in certain deployments”; see section 6.X.3.4).
As to claim 40:
The combined system/method of Apple and Kuge discloses the invention set forth above. Apple further discloses wherein, based on the cells being associated with the common tracking area identity list (“When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing location updates during cell reselection, in fact no location updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing location updates”), further comprising: reselecting between cells corresponding to equivalent hosting networks from the list of equivalent hosting networks without performing an initial registration at power on, a mobility registration procedure, or periodic updates (“the network can send the following lists to the UE, depending on whether the UE’s home SNPN is SNPN1, SNPN2, or SNPN3, where NIDx (for x = 1, 2, 3) represents the NID for the corresponding SNPNx. Home SNPN: SNPN1; SNPN1 = PLMN + NID1; eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID2; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID3; Home SNPN: SNPN2; SNPN2 = PLMN + NID2;eSNPN1 = PLMN+NID1; eSNPN2 = PLMN+NID When a UE associated with a given home SNPN, e.g. with SNPN1, is at a location/branch where one of the eSNPN is deployed, the UE will loose the access to its home SNPN and may start scanning all the SNPNs in that location/region. The UE may gain access to the visited SNPN as the visited SNPN has already been indicated to the UE as an eSNPN to its home SNPN” … “The UEs associated with that enterprise may be expected to be able to connect to those SNPNs seamlessly” … “The network in which the home SNPN (SNPN1) is deployed may send the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a broadcast message or a Registration Accept message. The UE saves the list of eSNPNs and ReSNPNs in a local database, and utilizes the information when camping on other SNPNs either on a local network or global network”; see section 6.X.3.4; note: Apple does not disclose performing updates during cell reselection, in fact no periodic updates are needed/performed in order to connect seamlessly, thus would read on “without performing periodic updates”).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record below is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Talebi Fard et al. (US 2024/0298253 A1) teaches the CN may provide the UE with a list of TAIs associated with a UE registration area (see at least paragraph [0132]).
Chandramouli et al. (US 2024/0188021 A1) teaches a user equipment (UE) may perform dual registration to multiple networks, e.g., a 5G system (5GS) of equivalent public land mobile networks (PLMNs), equivalent stand-alone non-public networks (SNPNs), or a combination of PLMNs and SNPNs. (see at least Abstract).
Ianev et al. (US 2022/0264505 A1) teaches the AMF 3 sends a registration accept message to the UE 4 via the first (R)AN node 1 in response to receiving a registration request message from the UE 4 via the first (R)AN node 1. The registration accept message indicates the registration area of the UE 4. The registration area of the UE 4 is a list (i.e., TAI list) of one or more TAs (TAIs). (see at least paragraph [0070]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-29 and 38-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Conclusion
/MARIELA VIDAL CARPIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476