DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11 and 13-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new rejection uses the newly cited reference German Patent Application DE 102012008128A1 (Gottschaller, Florian) to teach the object image and conveyance state. Therefore, a new interpretation has been used and the arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10-11, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroader (United States Patent Application US2016221762A1) in view of Gottschaller (German Patent Application DE 102012008128A1).
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroader (United States Patent Application US2016221762A1) in view of Gottschaller (German Patent Application DE 102012008128A1) in further view of Bunkers (United States Patent Application US 2014168374A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Schroader discloses A conveyor controlling apparatus for controlling a conveyor in accordance with environment parameters with respect to the conveyor, the apparatus comprising:(Figure 9: Conveyor section system 10)a capturing device for capturing an environmental image related to the conveyor;(Figure 9: Plurality of cameras 20-29, 32, 33)an image-analyzing module for determining, based on the environmental image captured by the capturing device, whether an operational condition of the conveyor is satisfied; and(Paragraph 0070: " The vision control system includes a plurality of smart camera modules 20 capable of processing video images and determine the percent of occupancy within defined zones which can be adjusted for each camera by zooming in or out or by selecting a particular grid or area on a smart device video screen to determine the optimum conveyor speed. The smart camera modules process video images and determine occupancy percentage within the defined zones. ")a conveyor-controlling module for controlling the conveyor based on a result of the determination carried out by the image-analyzing module,(Figure 9: Video computer 500)wherein if the image-analyzing module determines that the operational condition is not satisfied, then the conveyor-controlling module stops the conveyor.(Paragraph 0010: "Cameras are positioned at selected individual input points in wired or wireless communication with a computer including a process control algorithm to recognize incoming flow density, in terms of both belt utilization and throughput rate. These measures can be used to make changes to reduce parcel input flow, and could require stoppage of the feed line, if flow is too sparse or dense. Similarly, absence of flow could be recognized prompting an increase in speed of a selected input conveyor or input conveyors."), the capturing device captures an object image of a conveyance object on the conveyor when the conveyance object is in an assessment zone on the conveyor, satisfies a forwarding condition which is in accordance with a conveyance capability of a conveyance system downstream of the conveyor, the forwarding condition is the operational condition of the conveyance system with respect to the conveyance object, and if the image-analyzing module determines based on the object image that the conveyance state of the conveyance object does not satisfy the forwarding condition, then the conveyor-controlling module stops the conveyor such that the conveyance object, which has been subject to the determination, is positioned within the assessment zone.(Paragraph 0063: "The vision based bulk parcel flow management system 5 comprises or consists of a section 10 of a vision based conveyor system wherein a plurality of cameras 20 detect parcels upon the primary or main conveyor collector conveyor which incorporate at least one feed conveyor 11 and one receiving conveyor 13 used in conjunction with a singulator 8 , hold-and-release conveyor, accumulator, and/or strip conveyor typically downstream from the feed conveyor 11 which are shown in linear alignment with a singulator 8 . The conveyors utilize roller and/or belts and each unit is powered by at least one independent motor to convey, arrange, and separate parcels at selected rates activation or of speed based upon desired occupancy of one or more selected conveyors. Thus, the degree of occupancy can be controlled on each conveyor independently of an adjacent conveyor upstream or downstream and the plurality of conveyors in the conveying system can be started, stopped, or the speed can be increased or decreased in order to increase the area of occupancy for a particular conveyor. The conveyor system section 10 utilizes independent motor driven conveyor zones.").
However, Schroader does not disclose wherein the object image is the environmental image with respect to the conveyance object, the image-analyzing module determines based on the object image captured by the capturing device whether a conveyance state, which is a physical state of the conveyance object identifiable from the object image.
Gottschaller discloses a similar conveyor controlling apparatus wherein the object image is the environmental image with respect to the conveyance object, the image-analyzing module determines based on the object image captured by the capturing device whether a conveyance state, which is a physical state of the conveyance object identifiable from the object image (Paragraph 0026: "Furthermore, it is preferably provided within the scope of the invention that the apparatus has sensor means (e.g. a CCD camera) for determining the size (or the dimensions) and orientation of a piece good located on the conveying path, wherein the control device is configured to control the positioning of the free end of the conveyor belt for the purpose of depositing the piece good located on the conveying path in the loading means and/or the conveying direction and/or conveying speed of the at least one conveyor belt of the conveying path by evaluating the determined size and orientation of the piece good (and the currently available space in the loading means).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schroader to include the object image and conveyance state as taught by Gottschaller. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an automated piece goods loading into loading means which can ensure good packing density by means of high precision in the loading process, and shorter cycle times of loading (Paragraph 0007).
Regarding Claim 3, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the conveyor controlling apparatus according to claim 1, as seen above. Schroader further discloses wherein when the conveyor is stopped by the conveyor-controlling module, if the image- analyzing module determines based on the object image of the conveyance object stopped in the assessment zone that the conveyance state of the conveyance object satisfies the forwarding condition, then the conveyor-controlling module restarts the conveyor.(Paragraph 0063: "The vision based bulk parcel flow management system 5 comprises or consists of a section 10 of a vision based conveyor system wherein a plurality of cameras 20 detect parcels upon the primary or main conveyor collector conveyor which incorporate at least one feed conveyor 11 and one receiving conveyor 13 used in conjunction with a singulator 8 , hold-and-release conveyor, accumulator, and/or strip conveyor typically downstream from the feed conveyor 11 which are shown in linear alignment with a singulator 8 . The conveyors utilize roller and/or belts and each unit is powered by at least one independent motor to convey, arrange, and separate parcels at selected rates activation or of speed based upon desired occupancy of one or more selected conveyors. Thus, the degree of occupancy can be controlled on each conveyor independently of an adjacent conveyor upstream or downstream and the plurality of conveyors in the conveying system can be started, stopped, or the speed can be increased or decreased in order to increase the area of occupancy for a particular conveyor. The conveyor system section 10 utilizes independent motor driven conveyor zones.")
Regarding Claim 4, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the conveyor controlling apparatus according to claim 1, as seen above. Schroader further discloses wherein the assessment zone includes a first assessment zone, Anda second assessment zone which is provided in a downstream direction with respect to the first assessment zone, the first assessment zone is an area in which the object image is captured as a first image by the capturing device while the conveyance object is conveyed by the conveyor, the second assessment zone is an area in which the object image is captured as a second image by the capturing device while the conveyance object is stationary on the conveyor when the conveyor is stopped by the conveyor-controlling module, the conveyor-controlling module stops the conveyor such that the conveyance object is positioned within the second assessment zone if the image-analyzing module determines based on the first image that the conveyance state of the conveyance object does not satisfy the forwarding condition, and when the conveyor is stopped by the conveyor-controlling module, if the image- analyzing module determines based on the second image that the conveyance state of the conveyance object satisfies the forwarding condition, then the conveyor-controlling module restarts the conveyor.(Paragraph 0086: "The video computer 500 utilizes a plurality of cameras to monitor the occupancy zones of selected areas on the conveyors leading up to singulator or separation process. The computer compares the amount of free space on the selected conveyors and compares it to the size of the package on the feed conveyor. If there is an adequate space, the feed conveyor will transfer the package. The amount of room required by a given package is determined by the programmer. For instance, the program may required that the amount of space on the collector conveyor is 1.5 or even 2 times the footprint of a given package depending on the orientation of the adjacent articles. Rate of speed changes of various conveyors are also controlled by the video computer to keep the singulator conveyor fully supplied. The video computer send speed control signals to the speed controllers of all the conveyor sections to regulate throughput of packages.")
Regarding Claim 5, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the conveyor controlling apparatus according to claim 4, as seen above. Schroader further discloses wherein the capturing device includes a first image-capturing device for capturing the first image, Anda second image-capturing device for capturing the second image, the first assessment zone is defined on the conveyor provided in an upstream direction with respect to the first image-capturing device, and the second assessment zone is defined on the conveyor provided in the downstream direction with respect to the second image-capturing device.(Paragraph 0086: "The video computer 500 utilizes a plurality of cameras to monitor the occupancy zones of selected areas on the conveyors leading up to singulator or separation process. The computer compares the amount of free space on the selected conveyors and compares it to the size of the package on the feed conveyor. If there is a adequate space, the feed conveyor will transfer the package. The amount of room required by a given package is determined by the programmer. For instance, the program may required that the amount of space on the collector conveyor is 1.5 or even 2 times the footprint of a given package depending on the orientation of the adjacent articles. Rate of speed changes of various conveyors are also controlled by the video computer to keep the singulator conveyor fully supplied. The video computer send speed control signals to the speed controllers of all the conveyor sections to regulate throughput of packages.")
Regarding Claim 6, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the conveyor controlling apparatus according to claim 1, as seen above. Schroader further discloses wherein the image-analyzing module is further configured to implement a learning model, the learning model defines an assessment standard for the conveyance state, and the image-analyzing module utilizes the learning model in the determination of whether the conveyance state of the conveyance object satisfies the forwarding condition.(Paragraph 0013: "In accordance with the present invention, there is provided a video/camera based conveyor package management system comprising, consisting of, or consisting essentially of a video compute and camera or other digital or pixel detecting and/or recording devices, at least one collector conveyor including separate sections of conveyor separately driven by individual motors with individual speed controllers, selected ones of the sections of the collector conveyor having means such as skewed rollers capable of urging a package to a selected side of the collector conveyor, a plurality of infeed or induction conveyors including separate sections of conveyor separately driven by individual motors with individual speed controllers, first video cameras monitoring areas of the collector conveyor leading up to merge areas of each of the infeed conveyors with the collector conveyor, second video cameras monitoring areas of the infeed conveyor leading up to merge areas of each of the infeed conveyors with the collector conveyor, and a algorithm control program within the video computer capable of controlling speeds and movement of the sections of the various conveyor and of the sections of the infeed conveyors based on a calculated amount of free space on a given collector section compared to a footprint of a package on an oncoming infeed conveyor, as calculated on a pixel by pixel basis. A singulator conveyor may be incorporated within the conveyor system and fed by the collector conveyor.", wherein implementation of learning models are obvious common features able to be initiated within a computer, and are known to a person skilled in the art.)
Regarding Claim 7, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the conveyor controlling apparatus according to claim 6, as seen above.
However, Schroader in view of Gottschaller does not disclose further comprising: an overriding module for executing an overriding operation, which is an operation to forcibly restart the conveyor, even when the image-analyzing module determines based on the object image that the conveyance state of the conveyance object does not satisfy the forwarding condition, in response to an overriding command; and a training module for updating the learning model based on the overriding command and the object image of the conveyance object when the overriding operation is executed by the overriding module, wherein the overriding command must include an overriding reason for execution of the overriding operation.
Bunkers discloses a similar conveyor controlling apparatus further comprising: an overriding module for executing an overriding operation, which is an operation to forcibly restart the conveyor, even when the image-analyzing module determines based on the object image that the conveyance state of the conveyance object does not satisfy the forwarding condition, in response to an overriding command; and a training module for updating the learning model based on the overriding command and the object image of the conveyance object when the overriding operation is executed by the overriding module, wherein the overriding command must include an overriding reason for execution of the overriding operation.(Paragraph 0004: "The object of the present invention is to provide a conveying system as can advantageously be used in particular, but not exclusively, in a check-in system, wherein the number of false alerts to the presence of a living creature on a conveyor of the conveying system is reduced as much as possible. In order to achieve that object, the present invention provides a conveying system as described in the introductory paragraph, wherein the camera is a camera designed to make images of the infrared type, wherein the image processing means are designed to process images of the infrared type and the image processing means have at their disposal information regarding infrared images of non-suspect pieces of luggage exhibiting at least one area with an elevated temperature, wherein the image processing means are further designed to make a comparison between an infrared image made by the camera that exhibits at least one elevated temperature area and said information for deeming or not deeming the at least one object that is the subject of the infrared image made by the camera to be “suspect” on the basis of the comparison by the image processing means. The information regarding infrared images of non-suspect pieces of luggage may for example be available in the form of a digital library of infrared images exhibiting at least one elevated temperature area, possibly, for example, in combination with an algorithm by means of which the image processing means can determine to what extent infrared images made by the camera may maximally deviate from infrared images from the library so as not to be deemed to be “suspect”. Such information may also exclusively be available, for example, in the form of an algorithm. Within the context of the term “elevated temperature”, temperatures of, for example, at least 20, 22 or 24 degrees Celsius may be thought of, or in any case temperatures which are for example 2 or 4 degrees Celsius higher than the ambient temperature. Such temperatures are higher than the temperatures that pieces of luggage normally have. In addition to that, the fact that body parts that are covered, for example by clothing, will exhibit a lower temperature on an infrared image, for example a temperature of 30 degrees Celsius or 25 degrees Celsius, is taken into account. It is important that the infrared image comprises at least one area with a temperature higher than that of another area shown on the infrared image. After all, such an elevated temperature area might indicate the presence of a living creature. The present invention is based, inter alia, on the surprising perception that the presence of such elevated temperature areas may also be caused by “innocent” factors and on the fact that such conditions can also be established by image processing means. In those cases the invention provides the possibility that, in spite of the fact that an elevated temperature area shows up on an infrared image being viewed, the object that is the subject of the infrared image being viewed is not deemed to be “suspect”. The conveying process and, in the case that the invention is used in a check-in system, the check-in process can proceed without interruption without human interference being required. Conditions in which an infrared image does exhibit an elevated temperature area but in which there is no question of a suspect situation may occur, for example, in the case of a suitcase on wheels. The friction that occurs at the location of the wheels, in particular in the case of bad wheel bearings, may result in one or two elevated temperature areas showing up on the infrared image. The invention makes it possible for the image processing means to recognize such a situation because such elevated temperature areas will invariably occur in a corner of a piece of luggage, for example, and their size will be limited. Thus, false alarms can be prevented. Another example is a piece of luggage that has been sealed with a plastic foil at an airport. This service is frequently offered to passengers at airports. The foil is heated upon sealing, and elevated temperature areas form in particular at overlap areas and at seams. This type of situations, too, can be recognized as “non-suspect” by the image processing means, for example because the areas are elongate in shape and extend parallel to each other and also within the rectangular contours of a suitcase.", wherein the image processing means is override the false alerts when deemed "non-suspect").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schroader in view of Gottschaller to include the overriding module as taught by Bunkers. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveying system with a check in system that can detect suspect scenarios on the belt and stop movement to prevent damage, while also reducing the amount of false alerts to incorrectly judged scenarios (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding Claim 8, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the conveyor controlling apparatus according to claim 1, as seen above.
However, Schroader in view of Gottschaller does not disclose further comprising: an intrusion camera as the capturing device for capturing an intrusion image; and an intrusion-analyzing module for determining based on the intrusion image captured by the intrusion camera whether an intrusion state of the keep-out zone satisfies an intrusion condition, wherein the intrusion image is the environmental image with respect to a keep-out zone which is an area including at least the conveyer, the intrusion condition, which is the operational condition with respect to the keep-out zone, is a condition that any human is not detected in the keep-out zone, if the intrusion-analyzing module determines that the intrusion state does not satisfy the intrusion condition, then the conveyor-controlling module stops the conveyor.
Bunker discloses a similar conveyor controlling apparatus further comprising: an intrusion camera as the capturing device for capturing an intrusion image; and an intrusion-analyzing module for determining based on the intrusion image captured by the intrusion camera whether an intrusion state of the keep-out zone satisfies an intrusion condition, wherein the intrusion image is the environmental image with respect to a keep-out zone which is an area including at least the conveyer, the intrusion condition, which is the operational condition with respect to the keep-out zone, is a condition that any human is not detected in the keep-out zone, if the intrusion-analyzing module determines that the intrusion state does not satisfy the intrusion condition, then the conveyor-controlling module stops the conveyor.(Paragraph 0032: "In use, an infrared image is made of every object, as a rule being a piece of luggage, 3 , by the camera 31 at the checking location 24 . The infrared images that are made may exhibit one or more areas with an elevated temperature. In practice, such a temperature will be a temperature a temperature in excess of 22° C. or 24° C., for example. Depending in part on the ambient temperature, a piece of luggage will normally have a lower temperature. An elevated temperature area on an infrared image might indicate the presence of a human being or an animal or, in other words, a living creature. The possible presence of a living creature on the belt conveyor 21 would imply a security or safety risk, of course, and consequently a further check of the object, whether or not being a piece of luggage, is needed. Such a check may for example consist of the conveyor belt 21 being stopped and personnel checking the object at the checking location 24 . During that time, also the check-in process at the various check-in stations 10 may be disturbed because the supply of checked-in pieces of luggage from the supply belt conveyors 12 to the stationary belt conveyor 21 is not possible. Once personnel have determined that there is no question of suspect conditions, the belt conveyor 21 can be started again.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schroader in view of Gottschaller to include the intrusion camera as taught by Bunkers. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveying system with a check in system that can detect suspect scenarios on the belt and stop movement to prevent damage, while also reducing the amount of false alerts to incorrectly judged scenarios (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding Claim 9, Schroader in view of Gottschaller in further view of Bunkers discloses the conveyor controlling apparatus according to claim 1, as seen above. Bunkers further discloses wherein when the conveyor is stopped by the conveyor-controlling module because of the determination by the intrusion-analyzing module that the intrusion condition was not satisfied, if the intrusion-analyzing module determines based on the intrusion image that the intrusion state satisfies the intrusion condition, then the conveyor-controlling module restarts the conveyor.(Paragraph 0032: "In use, an infrared image is made of every object, as a rule being a piece of luggage, 3 , by the camera 31 at the checking location 24 . The infrared images that are made may exhibit one or more areas with an elevated temperature. In practice, such a temperature will be a temperature a temperature in excess of 22° C. or 24° C., for example. Depending in part on the ambient temperature, a piece of luggage will normally have a lower temperature. An elevated temperature area on an infrared image might indicate the presence of a human being or an animal or, in other words, a living creature. The possible presence of a living creature on the belt conveyor 21 would imply a security or safety risk, of course, and consequently a further check of the object, whether or not being a piece of luggage, is needed. Such a check may for example consist of the conveyor belt 21 being stopped and personnel checking the object at the checking location 24 . During that time, also the check-in process at the various check-in stations 10 may be disturbed because the supply of checked-in pieces of luggage from the supply belt conveyors 12 to the stationary belt conveyor 21 is not possible. Once personnel have determined that there is no question of suspect conditions, the belt conveyor 21 can be started again.")
Regarding Claim 10, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the conveyor controlling apparatus according to claim 1, as seen above. Schroader further discloses further comprising: a main body in which has the image-analyzing module and the conveyor- controlling module a pillar extending upwardly from the main body; and a head unit, which is provided at a top end of the pillar, housing the capturing device.(Paragraph 0031: "It is an object of the present invention to provide a vision based flow management system that includes a camera and computer processor and interface to define and control and integrate with a conveyor control system via Ethernet, WIFI, bluetooth, and other smart electronic devices such as phones, tablets, laptop computers and other visual aid computer based devices capable of communicating with a computer system.", wherein a body, pillar and top end housing the capturing device are obviously known components of a camera)
Regarding Claim 11, Schroader discloses A conveyor controlling method for controlling a conveyor in accordance with environment parameters with respect to the conveyor, (Figure 9: Conveyor section system 10)the method comprising providing a capturing device; first capturing an environmental image related to the conveyor by the capturing device;(Figure 9: Plurality of cameras 20-29, 32, 33)first determining, based on the environmental image captured in the first capturing , whether an operational condition of the conveyor is satisfied; (Paragraph 0070: " The vision control system includes a plurality of smart camera modules 20 capable of processing video images and determine the percent of occupancy within defined zones which can be adjusted for each camera by zooming in or out or by selecting a particular grid or area on a smart device video screen to determine the optimum conveyor speed. The smart camera modules process video images and determine occupancy percentage within the defined zones. ")and conveyor-controlling the conveyor based on a result of the determination carried out by the first determining (Figure 9: Video computer 500)wherein if the first determining determines based on the environmental image that the operational condition is not satisfied, then the conveyor- controlling stops the conveyor.(Paragraph 0010: "Cameras are positioned at selected individual input points in wired or wireless communication with a computer including a process control algorithm to recognize incoming flow density, in terms of both belt utilization and throughput rate. These measures can be used to make changes to reduce parcel input flow, and could require stoppage of the feed line, if flow is too sparse or dense. Similarly, absence of flow could be recognized prompting an increase in speed of a selected input conveyor or input conveyors.") the first capturing captures an object image of a conveyance object on the conveyor when the conveyance object is in an assessment zone on the conveyor, satisfies a forwarding condition which is in accordance with a conveyance capability of a conveyance system downstream of the conveyor, the forwarding condition is the operational condition with respect to the conveyance object, and if the first determining determines based on the object image that the conveyance state of the conveyance object does not satisfy the forwarding condition, then the conveyor-controlling stops the conveyor such that the conveyance object, which has been subject to the determination, is positioned within the assessment zone.(Paragraph 0063: "The vision based bulk parcel flow management system 5 comprises or consists of a section 10 of a vision based conveyor system wherein a plurality of cameras 20 detect parcels upon the primary or main conveyor collector conveyor which incorporate at least one feed conveyor 11 and one receiving conveyor 13 used in conjunction with a singulator 8 , hold-and-release conveyor, accumulator, and/or strip conveyor typically downstream from the feed conveyor 11 which are shown in linear alignment with a singulator 8 . The conveyors utilize roller and/or belts and each unit is powered by at least one independent motor to convey, arrange, and separate parcels at selected rates activation or of speed based upon desired occupancy of one or more selected conveyors. Thus, the degree of occupancy can be controlled on each conveyor independently of an adjacent conveyor upstream or downstream and the plurality of conveyors in the conveying system can be started, stopped, or the speed can be increased or decreased in order to increase the area of occupancy for a particular conveyor. The conveyor system section 10 utilizes independent motor driven conveyor zones.")
However, Schroader does not disclose wherein the object image is the environmental image with respect to the conveyance object, the first determining determines, based on the object image captured in the first capturing, whether a conveyance state, which is a physical state of the conveyance object identifiable from the object image.
Gottschaller discloses a similar conveyor controlling apparatus wherein the object image is the environmental image with respect to the conveyance object, the first determining determines, based on the object image captured in the first capturing, whether a conveyance state, which is a physical state of the conveyance object identifiable from the object image (Paragraph 0026: "Furthermore, it is preferably provided within the scope of the invention that the apparatus has sensor means (e.g. a CCD camera) for determining the size (or the dimensions) and orientation of a piece good located on the conveying path, wherein the control device is configured to control the positioning of the free end of the conveyor belt for the purpose of depositing the piece good located on the conveying path in the loading means and/or the conveying direction and/or conveying speed of the at least one conveyor belt of the conveying path by evaluating the determined size and orientation of the piece good (and the currently available space in the loading means).")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schroader to include the object image and conveyance state as taught by Gottschaller. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for an automated piece goods loading into loading means which can ensure good packing density by means of high precision in the loading process, and shorter cycle times of loading (Paragraph 0007).
Regarding Claim 13, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the method according to claim 11, as seen above. Schroader further discloses further comprising :second capturing the object image of the conveyance object in the assessment zone by the capturing device when the conveyor is stopped by the stopping; second determining based on the object image of the conveyance object stopped in the assessment zone captured in by the second capturing whether the conveyance state of the conveyance object satisfies the forwarding condition; and restarting the conveyer if the second determining determines that the conveyance state satisfies the forwarding condition.(Paragraph 0063: "The vision based bulk parcel flow management system 5 comprises or consists of a section 10 of a vision based conveyor system wherein a plurality of cameras 20 detect parcels upon the primary or main conveyor collector conveyor which incorporate at least one feed conveyor 11 and one receiving conveyor 13 used in conjunction with a singulator 8 , hold-and-release conveyor, accumulator, and/or strip conveyor typically downstream from the feed conveyor 11 which are shown in linear alignment with a singulator 8 . The conveyors utilize roller and/or belts and each unit is powered by at least one independent motor to convey, arrange, and separate parcels at selected rates activation or of speed based upon desired occupancy of one or more selected conveyors. Thus, the degree of occupancy can be controlled on each conveyor independently of an adjacent conveyor upstream or downstream and the plurality of conveyors in the conveying system can be started, stopped, or the speed can be increased or decreased in order to increase the area of occupancy for a particular conveyor. The conveyor system section 10 utilizes independent motor driven conveyor zones.")
Regarding Claim 14, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the method according to claim 11, as seen above. Schroader further discloses wherein the first capturing captures the object image as a first image when the conveyance object is within a first assessment zone which is a part of the assessment zone, the second capturing captures the object image as a second image when the conveyance object is within a second assessment zone which is another part of the assessment zone and is provided in a downstream direction with respect to the first- assessment zone, the first determining is carried out by determining, based on the first image captured in the first capturing , whether the conveyance state of the conveyance object in the first assessment zone satisfies the forwarding condition, the second determining is carried out by determining, based on the second image captured in the second capturing , whether the conveyance state of the conveyance object in the second assessment zone satisfies the forwarding condition, the conveyor-controlling stops the conveyor such that the conveyance object is positioned within the second assessment zone if the first determining determines that the conveyance state of the conveyance object in the first assessment zone does not satisfy the forwarding condition, and the restarting restarts the conveyer if the second determining determines based on the second image, when the conveyor is stopped by the stopping , that the conveyance state of the conveyance object in the second assessment zone satisfies the forwarding condition.(Paragraph 0086: "The video computer 500 utilizes a plurality of cameras to monitor the occupancy zones of selected areas on the conveyors leading up to singulator or separation process. The computer compares the amount of free space on the selected conveyors and compares it to the size of the package on the feed conveyor. If there is a adequate space, the feed conveyor will transfer the package. The amount of room required by a given package is determined by the programmer. For instance, the program may required that the amount of space on the collector conveyor is 1.5 or even 2 times the footprint of a given package depending on the orientation of the adjacent articles. Rate of speed changes of various conveyors are also controlled by the video computer to keep the singulator conveyor fully supplied. The video computer send speed control signals to the speed controllers of all the conveyor sections to regulate throughput of packages.")
Regarding Claim 15, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the method according to claim 14, as seen above. Schroader further discloses further comprising :providing a first image-capturing device, as a part of the capturing device, for capturing the first image, and providing a second image-capturing device, as another part of the capturing device, for capturing the second image, wherein the first assessment zone is defined on the conveyor provided in an upstream direction with respect to the first image-capturing device, and the second assessment zone is defined on the conveyor provided in the downstream direction with respect to the second image-capturing device.(Paragraph 0086: "The video computer 500 utilizes a plurality of cameras to monitor the occupancy zones of selected areas on the conveyors leading up to singulator or separation process. The computer compares the amount of free space on the selected conveyors and compares it to the size of the package on the feed conveyor. If there is a adequate space, the feed conveyor will transfer the package. The amount of room required by a given package is determined by the programmer. For instance, the program may required that the amount of space on the collector conveyor is 1.5 or even 2 times the footprint of a given package depending on the orientation of the adjacent articles. Rate of speed changes of various conveyors are also controlled by the video computer to keep the singulator conveyor fully supplied. The video computer send speed control signals to the speed controllers of all the conveyor sections to regulate throughput of packages.")
Regarding Claim 16, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the method according to claim 11, as seen above. Schroader further discloses further comprising :providing a learning model, which defines an assessment standard for the conveyance state, being utilized in the determination of whether the conveyance state of the conveyance object satisfies the forwarding condition.(Paragraph 0013: "In accordance with the present invention, there is provided a video/camera based conveyor package management system comprising, consisting of, or consisting essentially of a video compute and camera or other digital or pixel detecting and/or recording devices, at least one collector conveyor including separate sections of conveyor separately driven by individual motors with individual speed controllers, selected ones of the sections of the collector conveyor having means such as skewed rollers capable of urging a package to a selected side of the collector conveyor, a plurality of infeed or induction conveyors including separate sections of conveyor separately driven by individual motors with individual speed controllers, first video cameras monitoring areas of the collector conveyor leading up to merge areas of each of the infeed conveyors with the collector conveyor, second video cameras monitoring areas of the infeed conveyor leading up to merge areas of each of the infeed conveyors with the collector conveyor, and a algorithm control program within the video computer capable of controlling speeds and movement of the sections of the various conveyor and of the sections of the infeed conveyors based on a calculated amount of free space on a given collector section compared to a footprint of a package on an oncoming infeed conveyor, as calculated on a pixel by pixel basis. A singulator conveyor may be incorporated within the conveyor system and fed by the collector conveyor.", wherein implementation of learning models are obvious common features able to be initiated within a computer, and are known to a person skilled in the art.)
Regarding Claim 17, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the method according to claim 16, as seen above.
However, Schroader in view of Gottschaller does not disclose further comprising :executing an overriding operation, which is an operation forcibly restarts the conveyor, even when the second determining determines that the conveyance state of the conveyance object in the second assessment zone does not satisfy the forwarding condition, in response to an overriding command; and updating the learning model based on the overriding command and the object image when the overriding operation is executed by the executing , wherein the overriding command must include an overriding reason for execution of the overriding operation.
Bunkers discloses a similar method comprising further comprising :executing an overriding operation, which is an operation forcibly restarts the conveyor, even when the second determining determines that the conveyance state of the conveyance object in the second assessment zone does not satisfy the forwarding condition, in response to an overriding command; and updating the learning model based on the overriding command and the object image when the overriding operation is executed by the executing , wherein the overriding command must include an overriding reason for execution of the overriding operation.(Paragraph 0004: "The object of the present invention is to provide a conveying system as can advantageously be used in particular, but not exclusively, in a check-in system, wherein the number of false alerts to the presence of a living creature on a conveyor of the conveying system is reduced as much as possible. In order to achieve that object, the present invention provides a conveying system as described in the introductory paragraph, wherein the camera is a camera designed to make images of the infrared type, wherein the image processing means are designed to process images of the infrared type and the image processing means have at their disposal information regarding infrared images of non-suspect pieces of luggage exhibiting at least one area with an elevated temperature, wherein the image processing means are further designed to make a comparison between an infrared image made by the camera that exhibits at least one elevated temperature area and said information for deeming or not deeming the at least one object that is the subject of the infrared image made by the camera to be “suspect” on the basis of the comparison by the image processing means. The information regarding infrared images of non-suspect pieces of luggage may for example be available in the form of a digital library of infrared images exhibiting at least one elevated temperature area, possibly, for example, in combination with an algorithm by means of which the image processing means can determine to what extent infrared images made by the camera may maximally deviate from infrared images from the library so as not to be deemed to be “suspect”. Such information may also exclusively be available, for example, in the form of an algorithm. Within the context of the term “elevated temperature”, temperatures of, for example, at least 20, 22 or 24 degrees Celsius may be thought of, or in any case temperatures which are for example 2 or 4 degrees Celsius higher than the ambient temperature. Such temperatures are higher than the temperatures that pieces of luggage normally have. In addition to that, the fact that body parts that are covered, for example by clothing, will exhibit a lower temperature on an infrared image, for example a temperature of 30 degrees Celsius or 25 degrees Celsius, is taken into account. It is important that the infrared image comprises at least one area with a temperature higher than that of another area shown on the infrared image. After all, such an elevated temperature area might indicate the presence of a living creature. The present invention is based, inter alia, on the surprising perception that the presence of such elevated temperature areas may also be caused by “innocent” factors and on the fact that such conditions can also be established by image processing means. In those cases the invention provides the possibility that, in spite of the fact that an elevated temperature area shows up on an infrared image being viewed, the object that is the subject of the infrared image being viewed is not deemed to be “suspect”. The conveying process and, in the case that the invention is used in a check-in system, the check-in process can proceed without interruption without human interference being required. Conditions in which an infrared image does exhibit an elevated temperature area but in which there is no question of a suspect situation may occur, for example, in the case of a suitcase on wheels. The friction that occurs at the location of the wheels, in particular in the case of bad wheel bearings, may result in one or two elevated temperature areas showing up on the infrared image. The invention makes it possible for the image processing means to recognize such a situation because such elevated temperature areas will invariably occur in a corner of a piece of luggage, for example, and their size will be limited. Thus, false alarms can be prevented. Another example is a piece of luggage that has been sealed with a plastic foil at an airport. This service is frequently offered to passengers at airports. The foil is heated upon sealing, and elevated temperature areas form in particular at overlap areas and at seams. This type of situations, too, can be recognized as “non-suspect” by the image processing means, for example because the areas are elongate in shape and extend parallel to each other and also within the rectangular contours of a suitcase.", wherein the image processing means is override the false alerts when deemed "non-suspect")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schroader in view of Gottschaller to include the overriding operation as taught by Bunkers. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveying system with a check in system that can detect suspect scenarios on the belt and stop movement to prevent damage, while also reducing the amount of false alerts to incorrectly judged scenarios (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding Claim 18, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the method according to claim 11, as seen above.
However, Schroader in view of Gottschaller does not disclose further comprising :preparing an intrusion camera as the capturing device for capturing an intrusion image; intrusion-determining, based on the intrusion image captured by the intrusion camera, whether an intrusion state of the keep-out zone satisfies an intrusion condition; wherein the intrusion image is the environmental image with respect to a keep-out zone which is an area including at least the conveyer the intrusion condition, which is the operational condition with respect to the keep-out zone, is a condition that any human is not detected in the keep-out zone, and if the intrusion-determining determines that the intrusion state does not satisfy the intrusion condition, then the conveyor-controlling stops the conveyor.
Bunkers discloses a similar method comprising further comprising :preparing an intrusion camera as the capturing device for capturing an intrusion image; intrusion-determining, based on the intrusion image captured by the intrusion camera, whether an intrusion state of the keep-out zone satisfies an intrusion condition; wherein the intrusion image is the environmental image with respect to a keep-out zone which is an area including at least the conveyer the intrusion condition, which is the operational condition with respect to the keep-out zone, is a condition that any human is not detected in the keep-out zone, and if the intrusion-determining determines that the intrusion state does not satisfy the intrusion condition, then the conveyor-controlling stops the conveyor.(Paragraph 0032: "In use, an infrared image is made of every object, as a rule being a piece of luggage, 3 , by the camera 31 at the checking location 24 . The infrared images that are made may exhibit one or more areas with an elevated temperature. In practice, such a temperature will be a temperature a temperature in excess of 22° C. or 24° C., for example. Depending in part on the ambient temperature, a piece of luggage will normally have a lower temperature. An elevated temperature area on an infrared image might indicate the presence of a human being or an animal or, in other words, a living creature. The possible presence of a living creature on the belt conveyor 21 would imply a security or safety risk, of course, and consequently a further check of the object, whether or not being a piece of luggage, is needed. Such a check may for example consist of the conveyor belt 21 being stopped and personnel checking the object at the checking location 24 . During that time, also the check-in process at the various check-in stations 10 may be disturbed because the supply of checked-in pieces of luggage from the supply belt conveyors 12 to the stationary belt conveyor 21 is not possible. Once personnel have determined that there is no question of suspect conditions, the belt conveyor 21 can be started again.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Schroader in view of Gottschaller to include the intrusion degerming as taught by Bunkers. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveying system with a check in system that can detect suspect scenarios on the belt and stop movement to prevent damage, while also reducing the amount of false alerts to incorrectly judged scenarios (Paragraph 0004).
Regarding Claim 19, Schroader in view of Gottschaller in further view of Bunkers discloses the method of claim 18, as seen above. Bunkers further discloses wherein when the conveyor is stopped by the conveyor-controlling because of the determination by the intrusion-determining that the intrusion condition was not satisfied, if the intrusion-determining determines based on the object image that the intrusion state satisfies the intrusion condition, then the controlling restarts the conveyor.(Paragraph 0032: "In use, an infrared image is made of every object, as a rule being a piece of luggage, 3 , by the camera 31 at the checking location 24 . The infrared images that are made may exhibit one or more areas with an elevated temperature. In practice, such a temperature will be a temperature a temperature in excess of 22° C. or 24° C., for example. Depending in part on the ambient temperature, a piece of luggage will normally have a lower temperature. An elevated temperature area on an infrared image might indicate the presence of a human being or an animal or, in other words, a living creature. The possible presence of a living creature on the belt conveyor 21 would imply a security or safety risk, of course, and consequently a further check of the object, whether or not being a piece of luggage, is needed. Such a check may for example consist of the conveyor belt 21 being stopped and personnel checking the object at the checking location 24 . During that time, also the check-in process at the various check-in stations 10 may be disturbed because the supply of checked-in pieces of luggage from the supply belt conveyors 12 to the stationary belt conveyor 21 is not possible. Once personnel have determined that there is no question of suspect conditions, the belt conveyor 21 can be started again.")
Regarding Claim 20, Schroader in view of Gottschaller discloses the method according to claim 11, as seen above. Schroader further discloses further comprising: providing a main body; providing a pillar extending upwardly from the main body; and providing a head unit, which houses the capturing device, at a top end of the pillar.(Paragraph 0031: "It is an object of the present invention to provide a vision based flow management system that includes a camera and computer processor and interface to define and control and integrate with a conveyor control system via Ethernet, WIFI, bluetooth, and other smart electronic devices such as phones, tablets, laptop computers and other visual aid computer based devices capable of communicating with a computer system.", wherein a body, pillar and top end housing the capturing device are obviously known components of a camera)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application US 2006/0147092 A1 (Zhang, Jian): Zhang teaches a similar intelligent digital graphics inspection system and method comprising sensors and a micro processor to analyze the images, as seen in Figure 1.
United States Patent Application US 2020/0223640 A1 (Shin, Takeshi): Shin teaches a similar conveyance system comprising an elevating unit comprising a camera to capture images to detect the presence or absence of obstacles, as seen in Figure 1.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651