Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the reply filed on 14 Aug 2026.
Status
Claims 1-4 and 9-10 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Claims 5-7 are withdrawn (see “Response to Applicant Election” below). Acknowledgement is made of the amendments filed 14 Aug 2026.
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 18/713,186, filed 24 May 2024, as a National Stage Entry of International Application #: PCT/CN2022/141359, filed 23 Dec 2022, which claims priority from Foreign Application #s: CN202211624621.8, filed 16 Dec 2022, and CN202210067669.7, filed 20 Jan 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 24 May 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant Election
Acknowledgement is made of the remarks filed 14 Aug 2026. Applicant elects Group I, claims 1-4 and 8-10, and Compound No. 1 (below) with traverse.
After a search, the elected compound was found free of prior art. Examiner has expanded the Markush search to include the full scope of the generic claim. Prior art was found after a search for the generic claim.
The traversal is on the grounds that the art does not teach a compound which has the same definition as variable A in the instant claims.
This is not persuasive. Not all compounds have the same variable A and so A is not part of the core structure which is the technical feature linking Groups I and II. The core structure is circled in black, below and in the restriction requirement mailed 16 Jun 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 14 Aug 2026.
Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of the drawings filed 24 May 2024.
The drawings are objected to because the sheets of drawings are not numbered 37 C.F.R. 1.84 states:
(t) Numbering of sheets of drawings. The sheets of drawings should be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, within the sight as defined in paragraph (g) of this section. These numbers, if present, must be placed in the middle of the top of the sheet, but not in the margin. The numbers can be placed on the right-hand side if the drawing extends too close to the middle of the top edge of the usable surface. The drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. The number of each sheet should be shown by two Arabic numerals placed on either side of an oblique line, with the first being the sheet number and the second being the total number of sheets of drawings, with no other marking.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The definition of R1 includes (CH2)qNR15. However, there is an open valence for nitrogen. Applicant may overcome this objection by correcting the valence for nitrogen. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim limits the salts of claim 1 to those where the hydantoin compound forms a salt with a metal ion or a pharmaceutically acceptable amine or an ammonium ion. However, “amine” does not form salts in the free base form, but rather in the ionic form, ammonium. Applicant may overcome this objection by cancelling “amine” from the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Factors to be considered in making the determination as to whether one skilled in the art would recognize the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing include:
Actual reduction to practice;
Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas;
Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics such as:
Complete structure,
Partial structure,
Physical and/or chemical properties, or
Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure;
Method of making the claimed invention;
Level of skill and knowledge in the art;
Predictability in the art.
While all these factors are considered, a sufficient number for a prima facie case are discussed below.
The claims are drawn to "prodrug." Applicant provides no guidance as to prodrugs. The artisan understands that prodrug forms are generally determined a posteriori, and it is only through trial and error that prodrugs are identified. The artisan understands the concept of prodrugs, however the artisan does not per se understand what specifically describes a prodrug form. Han (AAPS Pharmsci, 2000, vol. 2, article 6), cited here for evidence, teaches there is no strict universal definition for a prodrug itself but that, in general, the prodrug is an inactivated form of the drug that activates in vivo to the active form (pg. 1, column 2). While some prodrugs are simply esters or salts, other prodrug forms are not chemically or structurally related to their active form, one example being glucose as the prodrug form of hydrogen peroxide (Table 1, pg. 5), as is hypoxanthine, thus posing a problem as to understanding what is the exact prodrug form of a compound, as hydrogen peroxide has two prodrug forms in the limited set of compounds exemplified in Han.
According to Ettamayer et al. (J Med Chem, 2004, 47:2393-2404), cited here for evidence, prodrugs are often accidental discoveries (pg. 2393, column 2). Furthermore, Testa et al. (Biochem Pharm, 2004, 68:2097-2106), cited here for evidence, teaches:
[A] number of challenges await medicinal chemists and biochemists carrying out prodrug research, such as the additional work involved in synthesis, physiochemical profiling, pharmacokinetic profiling and toxicological assessment. Two of these challenges are introduced here, namely biological variability and toxicity potential. The challenge of biological variety results principally but not only from the huge number and evolutionary diversity of enzymes involved in xenobiotic metabolism. Inter- and intra-species differences in the nature of these enzymes, as well as many other differences such as the nature and level of transporters, may render prodrug optimization difficult to predict and achieve. (pg. 2098, column 2)
Methods of making compounds, in general, are known to the artisan. However, the methods of making any specific prodrug are complex and poorly understood, requiring an undue amount of experimentation to determine if a compound is actually a prodrug, and the instant specification fails to provide guidance to overcome the complexity and difficulties known to the artisan, as discussed above.
Thus, the artisan would have increased difficulty in determining how to convert the claimed compounds into prodrugs.
The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736, F2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does "little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.") Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 3, the claim is directed to the “hydantoin compound or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof according to claim 1, wherein the compound further comprises a prodrug, a deuterated compound, or a solvate thereof.” The phrase “further comprises” indicates an open list, but the independent claim is directed only to a hydantoin compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, in a closed list form. Therefore, claim 3 lacks antecedent basis for the limitations of a “prodrug, deuterated compound, or a solvate thereof.”
Regarding claim 9, the claim is directed to a “pharmaceutical composition…comprising the hydantoin compound or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt, the prodrug, the deuterated compound, or the solvate thereof according to claim 1...” However, claim 1 is directed to a hydantoin compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, so claim 9 lacks antecedent basis for the limitations of a “prodrug, deuterated compound, or a solvate thereof.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7,544,812, hereinafter ‘812.
The instant claims 1-3 are directed to compounds of formula (I) or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof:
Claim 8 limits the salts of the compounds of formula (I) to metal ions or ammonium ions and claim 9 is directed to a pharmaceutical composition of the compounds of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Claim 10 limits the pharmaceutical composition of claim 9 to being a capsule, a powder, a tablet, a granule, a pill, an injection, a syrup, an oral liquid, an inhalant, and ointment, a suppository, or a patch.
‘812 teaches Examples 128, 134, and 135, pictured below (column 185, lines 30-50; column 194, lines 5-20; and column 196, lines 35-50):
‘812 further teaches the compounds of the reference are useful as PPAR modulators (column 4, lines 60-64). The reference further teaches salts of the compounds which includes metal salts and ammonium salts (column 8, lines 1-7). The compounds of the reference claim may be formulated in a composition comprising the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, including carriers (column 12, lines 1-19). Further, these compositions may be formulated as tablets, pills, powders, granules, capsules, syrups, injections, or sprays (columns 12-14). However, the reference does not teach the same attachment pattern of the hydantoin core to the linker-phenyl substituent (circled in black below).
MPEP § 2144.09(II) states, “compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2 groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.”
The person of ordinary skill in the art would modify the hydantoin core, taught by ‘812, to facilitate a positional isomer which has a sufficiently close structural similarity that the person or ordinary skill in the art would have a presumed expectation of the compounds having similar properties. The motivation to make the instantly claimed compounds derives from the expectation that structurally similar compounds would possess similar activity (i.e., they would be pharmacologically active PPAR modulators) with potential for better bioavailability and lower side effects. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in producing and using the instantly claimed compounds in view of the compound taught by ‘812.
A reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (Eur J Med Chem, 2021, 218:113388) is considered pertinent for teaching PPAR modulators with similar substituents as the instant compounds.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625