DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 7/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-13 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter, and claims 1-6 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses the term “E6/E7”. It is not clear if this term intends to point out E6 or E7, or E6 and E7. Clarification is required. For search purpose, the term is interpreted as “E6 and E7”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyonneau-Harmand et al. (US2020/0370015A1)
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Guyonneau-Harmand et al. teach erythroid progenitors produced from hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) (para. 24-25) that have been genetically modified by transduction with a lentiviral vector carrying human papillomavirus type 16 oncogenes E6 and E7 (HPV16 E6/E7) (para. 115). Guyonneau-Harmand et al. further teach that the ability of HSCs to engage in the erythropoiesis pathway can be improved by overexpressing one or more genes involved in the EPO-R/JAK2/STAT5/BCL-XL pathway and/or in the core erythroid network (CEN) pathway (para. 62), and the HSCs are genetically modified to overexpress a gene encoding BCL-XL (para. 65). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art that the erythroid progenitors produced from the genetically modified HSCs taught by Guyonneau-Harmand et al. would express and contain the Bcl-xL gene and E6/E7 genes as claimed.
The erythroid progenitors of Guyonneau-Harmand et al. are burst-forming units-E (BFU-E), proerythroblasts, basophilic erythroblasts (para. 49), which are identical as claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 4 directed to the Bcl-xL gene and the E6/E7 genes being transduced into one vector, Guyonneau-Harmand et al. do not particularly teach the limitation. However, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to produce a vector comprising both Bcl-xL and E6/E7 genes with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because Guyonneau-Harmand et al. teach that an expression vector includes one or more nucleic acids or expression cassettes (para. 91), and thus, one skilled in the art would generate a single vector carrying both Bcl-xL and E6/E7 together.
Regarding claim 5, Guyonneau-Harmand et al. teach that the HSCs are genetically modified to overexpress BMI1 gene along with BCL-XL (para. 110).
Regarding claim 6, the limitation is directed to the claimed erythroid progenitor cell is further treated with a TGF-b inhibitor and a PPAR-a agonist. The wherein clause is directed to the method of step using the claimed product, but it does not provide any structure to the claimed product. Thus, the method step disclosed in the wherein clause does not provide patentable weight in determining patentability of the claimed product. Thus, claim 6 is interpreted the same as claim 1.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/880,108 in view of Guyonneau-Harmand et al. (supra) and Nakamura et al. (US8,975,072). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘108 application disclose an immortalized erythroid progenitor cell line trandusced with a BMI1 gene, a BCL-xL gene, and the erythroid progenitor cells are derived from hematopoietic stem cells. The claims of the ‘108 application do not disclose that the immortalized erythroid progenitor cells transduced with E6/E7 genes. However, Guyonneau-Harmand et al. teach erythroid progenitors produced from hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) (para. 24-25) that have been genetically modified by transduction with a lentiviral vector carrying human papillomavirus type 16 oncogenes E6 and E7 (HPV16 E6/E7) (para. 115). Nakamura et al. teach a method of producing human erythroid progenitor cell line by using an expression cassette capable of inducing expression of E6 and E7 genes of human papillomavirus (HPV) type 16 (col. 4, lines 59-65), and that the expression of HPV-E6/E7 genes is necessary for growth of the erythroid progenitor cell line (col. 8, lines 40-42). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to use the expression cassette expressing E6/E7 of HPV-16 taught by Guyonneau-Harmand et al. and Nakamura et al. for the immortalized erythroid progenitor cell line of the ‘108 application with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to do so because Nakamura et al. teach that the expression of E6/E7 is necessary for growth of the erythroid progenitor cell line. Regarding claim 4, Claim 4 of the ‘108 application discloses that the genes are transduced into the hematopoietic progenitor cell using a viral vector. Regarding claim 6, the limitation is directed to the claimed erythroid progenitor cell is further treated with a TGF-b inhibitor and a PPAR-a agonist. The wherein clause is directed to the method of step using the claimed product, but it does not provide any structure to the claimed product. Thus, the method step disclosed in the wherein clause does not provide patentable weight in determining patentability of the claimed product. Thus, claim 6 is interpreted the same as claim 1, and the claims of the ‘108 application in view of Guyonneau-Harmand et al. and Nakamura et al. would meet the limitation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art is relevant to the subject matter of the claimed invention but not cited in the claim rejections above.
Caulier et al. (2017, Transfusion Clinique et Biologique): English Abstract.
Liu et al. (2021, Molecular Therapy)
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TAEYOON KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631