Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 9th, 2025, July 23rd, 2025, August 7th, 2025, and August 2nd 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 135 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0291475).
Regarding claim 135, Kim discloses a drive component (Figs. 14-25, element 700) for a camera module (14), comprising:
a driver housing (100);
a first carrier (500) movably installed within the driver housing (100) and adapted for receiving a first lens part therein (LG2);
a second carrier (600) movably installed at the first carrier (as shown in Figs. 18A-18B, 600 is installed at 500, [0202], “second lens module 500 may be configured to support the third lens module 600”) and adapted for receiving a second lens part therein ([0193], “third lens module 600 may be configured to include two or more lenses”), wherein the first lens part and the second lens part define an optical axis (C2 in Fig. 18A);
a first driving element (730) for driving the first carrier to move within the driver housing along a direction defined by the optical axis ([0172], “the second lens module 500 may be driven by the third drivers 730 (732 and 734)”); and
a second driving element (740) for driving the second carrier to move with respect to the first carrier ([0172], “the third lens module 600 may be driven by the fourth drivers 740 (742 and 744)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 136-137, 140, 147, and 149 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0291475) in view of Westerweck (US 2008/0068728).
Regarding claim 136, Kim discloses as is set forth in claim 135 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first driving element is a piezoelectric actuator disposed between an inner upper surface of the driver housing, wherein the piezoelectric actuator comprising a piezoelectric acting part and a friction driving part drivably coupled with the piezoelectric acting part, wherein the friction driving part comprises at least one friction head abutted against a top surface of the first carrier, the first carrier further comprises a friction member provided on a top surface thereof, wherein the friction head of the first driving element is pressed against the friction member.
However Westerweck, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a drive component, teaches wherein the first driving element (Figs. 1-4, 8, and 13, elements 720, 722) is a piezoelectric actuator ([0095], “piezoelectric elements 620, 622, 720, and 722”) disposed between an inner upper surface of the driver housing (as shown in Fig. 1A, 720 and 722 are between an inner upper surface of 1), wherein the piezoelectric actuator comprising a piezoelectric acting part (720 and 722) and a friction driving part (542 and 544) drivably coupled with the piezoelectric acting part ([0111], “resonant-driven piezoelectric elements 620, 622, 720, and 722 engage and disengage the drive elements 610, 612, 710, and 712, with the friction plates 442, 444, 542, and 544, respectively”), wherein the friction driving part comprises at least one friction head (710 and 712) abutted against a top surface of the first carrier (as shown in Fig. 4, 710 abuts against a top surface of carrier 510), the first carrier further comprises a friction member (542) provided on a top surface thereof (542 is provided on a top surface of 510 in Figs. 2 and 4), wherein the friction head of the first driving element is pressed against the friction member (as shown in Fig. 4, 710 abuts against 542).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the drive component of Kim with the wherein the first driving element is a piezoelectric actuator disposed between an inner upper surface of the driver housing, wherein the piezoelectric actuator comprising a piezoelectric acting part and a friction driving part drivably coupled with the piezoelectric acting part, wherein the friction driving part comprises at least one friction head abutted against a top surface of the first carrier, the first carrier further comprises a friction member provided on a top surface thereof, wherein the friction head of the first driving element is pressed against the friction member as taught by Westerweck, for the purpose of improving stability during actuation ([0079]).
Regarding claim 137, modified Kim teaches as is set forth in claim 136 rejection above and Kim further discloses further comprising a first guiding device (800) for guiding the first carrier (500) to move within the driver housing (100) along the direction defined by the optical axis (C2), wherein the first guiding device is clamped between the first carrier and the driver housing ([0180], “the first lens module 400 to the third lens module 600 in contact with the first alignment member 810”, as shown in Fig. 21A, 810 is clamped between 500 and 100).
Regarding claim 140, modified Kim teaches as is set forth in claim 136 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the friction member is formed on a top surface of a side arm thereof and has a friction surface along the direction defined by the optical axis, wherein the friction driving part is in frictional contact with the friction surface of the friction member.
However Westerweck, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a drive component, teaches wherein the friction member (Figs. 1-4, 8, and 13, element 542) is formed on a top surface of a side arm thereof (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, element 542 is formed on a top surface of a sidearm of 510) and has a friction surface along the direction defined by the optical axis ([0073], “front guide sleeve 510 includes integrally formed friction plate mounting surfaces that mate to friction plates to form the friction surfaces 542 and 544”), wherein the friction driving part (710) is in frictional contact with the friction surface of the friction member ([0090], “first front drive element 710 interacts with a first friction surface 542”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the drive component of Kim in view of Westerweck with the wherein the friction member is formed on a top surface of a side arm thereof and has a friction surface along the direction defined by the optical axis, wherein the friction driving part is in frictional contact with the friction surface of the friction member as taught by Westerweck, for the purpose of improving stability during actuation ([0079]).
Regarding claim 147, Kim discloses as is set forth in claim 135 rejection above but does not specifically disclose further comprising a first deforming portion, a second deforming portion and a main body portion extended between the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion, wherein the main body portion is pressed against the first driving element to apply a pre-pressure force on the first driving element through the main body portion, so as to make the first driving element be abutted against the first carrier.
However Westerweck, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a drive component, teaches further comprising a first deforming portion (Fig. 4, element 732), a second deforming portion (734, [0098], “Preferably, each coupling is flexible, permitting movement of the piezoelectric and accompanying movement of the resilient actuator board”, examiner interprets this to mean 732 and 734 are deformable) and a main body portion (10) extended between the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion ([0098], “couplings 732 and 734, which similarly secure both the resilient actuator board 10 and the piezoelectric element 720 to the actuator housing 1”, examiner interprets 10 to be the main body portion), wherein the main body portion is pressed against the first driving element to apply a pre-pressure force on the first driving element through the main body portion (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, 732 and 734 secured 10 against 720), so as to make the first driving element be abutted against the first carrier ([0102], “the clip spring 790 applies force to the piezoelectric elements 720 and 722, forcing the elements towards one another and deforming the resilient actuator board 10. The springs 690 and 790 urge the drive elements against the friction plates, generating a normal force to ensure adequate frictional forces between the elements”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the drive component of Kim with the further comprising a first deforming portion, a second deforming portion and a main body portion extended between the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion, wherein the main body portion is pressed against the first driving element to apply a pre-pressure force on the first driving element through the main body portion, so as to make the first driving element be abutted against the first carrier as taught by Westerweck, for the purpose of improving stability during actuation ([0079]).
Regarding claim 149, modified Kim teaches as is set forth in claim 136 rejection above but does not specifically disclose further comprising a first deforming portion, a second deforming portion and a main body portion extended between the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion, wherein the main body portion is suspended and abutted against the piezoelectric driving part of the first driving element through the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion, so that the main body portion is capable of generating a downward pre-pressure force on the piezoelectric driving part to enable the friction driving part of the first driving element to be abutted against the friction member of the first carrier.
However Westerweck, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a drive component, teaches further comprising a first deforming portion (Fig. 4, element 732), a second deforming portion (734, [0098], “Preferably, each coupling is flexible, permitting movement of the piezoelectric and accompanying movement of the resilient actuator board”, examiner interprets this to mean 732 and 734 are deformable) and a main body portion (10) extended between the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion ([0098], “couplings 732 and 734, which similarly secure both the resilient actuator board 10 and the piezoelectric element 720 to the actuator housing 1”, examiner interprets 10 to be the main body portion), wherein the main body portion is suspended and abutted against the piezoelectric driving part of the first driving element (720) through the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, 732 and 734 secured 10 against 720), so that the main body portion is capable of generating a downward pre-pressure force on the piezoelectric driving part to enable the friction driving part of the first driving element to be abutted against the friction member of the first carrier ([0102], “the clip spring 790 applies force to the piezoelectric elements 720 and 722, forcing the elements towards one another and deforming the resilient actuator board 10. The springs 690 and 790 urge the drive elements against the friction plates, generating a normal force to ensure adequate frictional forces between the elements”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the drive component of Kim in view of Westerweck with the further comprising a first deforming portion, a second deforming portion and a main body portion extended between the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion, wherein the main body portion is suspended and abutted against the piezoelectric driving part of the first driving element through the first deforming portion and the second deforming portion, so that the main body portion is capable of generating a downward pre-pressure force on the piezoelectric driving part to enable the friction driving part of the first driving element to be abutted against the friction member of the first carrier as taught by Westerweck, for the purpose of improving stability during actuation ([0079]).
Claims 138-139 and 151 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0291475) in view of Westerweck (US 2008/0068728), further in view of Oh (US 2007/0154198).
Regarding claim 138, modified Kim teaches as is set forth in claim 137 rejection above and Kim further discloses wherein the first guiding device (800) comprises a first guiding element (810) and a second guiding element (820) provided between a bottom surface of the first carrier (500) and an inner bottom surface of the driver housing (100, as shown in Fig. 21A, 810 and 820 are located between 500 and 100), wherein the first guiding element (810) and the second guiding element (820) are extended along the direction defined by the optical axis (as shown in Fig. 18A, 810 and 820 extend along the optical axis direction).
Kim does not specifically disclose the first guiding element and the second guiding element and are symmetrically arranged with respect to the optical axis.
However Oh, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a drive component, teaches the first guiding element (Fig. 7, leftmost element 609) and the second guiding element (Fig. 7, rightmost element 609) and are symmetrically arranged with respect to the optical axis ([0141], “a symmetrically arranged guide shaft 609 penetrates into left and right sides of the driving part 608”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the drive component of Kim in view of Westerweck with the first guiding element and the second guiding element and are symmetrically arranged with respect to the optical axis as taught by Oh, for the purpose of increasing the efficiency of the magnetic field formed ([0140]).
Regarding claim 139, modified Kim teaches as is set forth in claim 138 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the piezoelectric actuator and the first guiding element are located at the same side of the first carrier and the second guiding element and the piezoelectric actuator are located at different sides of the first carrier.
However Westerweck, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a drive component, teaches wherein the piezoelectric actuator (Figs. 1-4, 8, and 13, element 720) and the first guiding element (element 2) are located at the same side of the first carrier (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, 720 and 2 are located on a first side of 530) and the second guiding element (3) and the piezoelectric actuator (720) are located at different sides of the first carrier (as shown in Figs. 2 and 4, 720 and 3 are located on a different sides of 530).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the drive component of Kim in view of Westerweck further in view of Oh with the wherein the piezoelectric actuator and the first guiding element are located at the same side of the first carrier and the second guiding element and the piezoelectric actuator are located at different sides of the first carrier as taught by Westerweck, for the purpose of improving stability during actuation ([0079]).
Regarding claim 151, modified Kim teaches as is set forth in claim 138 rejection above and Kim further discloses wherein the first guiding element (Figs. 20-22, element 810) is a first guiding rod fixed to the driver housing (100) and extended between the bottom surface of the first carrier (500) and the inner bottom surface of the driver housing (100) along the direction defined by the optical axis ([0178], “first alignment member 810 and the second alignment member 820 may be configured in a rod shape”), and the second guiding element (820) is a second guiding rod fixed to the driver housing (100) and extended between the bottom surface of the first carrier (500) and the inner bottom surface of the driver housing (100) along the direction defined by the optical axis ([0178], “first alignment member 810 and the second alignment member 820 may be configured in a rod shape”, as shown in Fig. 17, 810 and 820 extend along an optical axis direction).
Claim 152 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0291475) in view of Westerweck (US 2008/0068728), further in view of Dong (CN112596193B, as evidenced by the machine translation).
Regarding claim 152, modified Kim teaches as is set forth in claim 136 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second driving element comprises a driving coil and a driving magnet, wherein the driving magnet is provided on an outer surface of the second carrier, the driving coil is provided on an inner surface of the first carrier and corresponded to the driving magnet, so that when the driving coil is energized, a driving force is capable of being generated between the driving coil and the driving magnet to drive the second carrier to move along the direction defined by the optical axis.
However Dong, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a drive component, teaches wherein the second driving element ([0111], “second drive mechanism”) comprises a driving coil (51) and a driving magnet (52), wherein the driving magnet is provided on an outer surface of the second carrier (2, as shown in Figs. 1, 30, and 34, magnet 52 is provided on an outer surface of 2), the driving coil is provided on an inner surface of the first carrier (1) and corresponded to the driving magnet (as shown in Fig. 31, 51 is provided on an inner surface of 1), so that when the driving coil is energized, a driving force is capable of being generated between the driving coil and the driving magnet to drive the second carrier to move along the direction defined by the optical axis ([0111], “a third magnet 52 mounted on the other of the first carrier 1 and the second carrier 2, which cooperates with the second coil 51 to generate relative movement”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the drive component of Kim in view of Westerweck with the wherein the second driving element comprises a driving coil and a driving magnet, wherein the driving magnet is provided on an outer surface of the second carrier, the driving coil is provided on an inner surface of the first carrier and corresponded to the driving magnet, so that when the driving coil is energized, a driving force is capable of being generated between the driving coil and the driving magnet to drive the second carrier to move along the direction defined by the optical axis as taught by Dong, for the purpose of improving autofocus and zoom efficiency ([0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 141-146, 148, 150, and 153-154 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
Specifically, regarding claim 141, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest further comprising a first magnetic attraction component having a first magnet provided at the second carrier and a first magnetic attraction element provided at the first carrier and corresponded to the first magnet, so that the second carrier and the first carrier are capable of being pressed against each other by a magnetic attraction force between the first magnet and the first magnetic attraction element.
Claims 142-146 are objected to due to dependency upon claim 141.
Specifically, regarding claim 148, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest further comprising a first fixed portion and a second fixed portion fixed respectively between two opposite sides of the driver housing, wherein the first deforming portion is extended from the first fixed portion and the second deforming portion is extended from the second fixed portion, wherein the first fixed portion, the second fixed portion and the main body portion are capable of being arranged in the same height plane.
Specifically, regarding claim 150, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest further comprising a first fixed portion and a second fixed portion fixed respectively between two opposite sides of the driver housing, wherein the first deforming portion is extended from the first fixed portion and the second deforming portion is extended from the second fixed portion, wherein the first fixed portion, the second fixed portion and the main body portion are capable of being arranged in the same height plane.
Specifically, regarding claim 153, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein the second driving element further comprises a driving magnetic conductive plate provided on a rear surface of the driving magnet, wherein the rear surface of the driving magnet is faced by the driving coil, wherein the driving magnetic conductive plate has an area which is not smaller than the driving magnet.
Specifically, regarding claim 154, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein the second driving element comprises a driving coil and a driving magnet, wherein the driving coil is provided on an outer surface of the second carrier, the driving magnet is provided on an inner surface of the first carrier and corresponded to the driving coil, so that when the driving coil is energized, a driving force is capable of being generated between the driving coil and the driving magnet to drive the second carrier to move along the direction defined by the optical axis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Saito (US 5,225,941), Ito (US 2009/0168206), Shabtay (US 2021/0377450), teach a drive component for a camera module, comprising: a driver housing; a first carrier movably installed within the driver housing; a second carrier movably installed at the first carrier, wherein the first lens part and the second lens part define an optical axis; a first driving element for driving the first carrier to move; and a second driving element for driving the second carrier.
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 13 August 2026