DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sethi et al. (US 20210142042 A1, hereinafter Sethi).
Regarding claim 1, Sethi discloses an image conversion device (abstract, 100 fig. 1, 400, fig. 4, 1000, fig. 10 etc.) comprising:
an acquiring unit configured to acquire an input image in a first image style comprising a target portion of a first target object (At 602, an input image is received to modify based on color features of a reference image. For example, the color editing system 104 implemented by the device 102 can receive the input image 108 that has color features a user of the device wants to visually enhance by color matching; step 602… At 604, faces are detected in the input image and in the reference image; fig. 6, seps 602-604; ¶0096-0097. Face 116 is the object in the input image 108, e.g. fig. 1);
a generating unit comprising (124+126, fig. 1 e.g. ¶0042)
(1) a neural network configured to generate, from the input image, a target image in a second image style different from the first image style (Generally, “color matching” is described herein as applying or transferring the color features, style, and brightness of the reference image to the input image to generate or create a modified image that has enhanced color, style, and brightness features. As used herein, the terms “color features” and “color style” are used interchangeably and are intended to be inclusive of the many visual aspects that come together to represent the overall appearance of a digital image. For example, the color style of a digital image may include any number of color features and image appearance factors, such as color, lighting, brightness, highlights, shadows, color midtones, contrast, saturation, tone, and any other type of color features and appearance factors, ¶0023.
The color matching using the midtone color features of the reference image 110 applied to the input image 108, based on the similar average skin tone values of the face group pair, is effective to maintain the original captured image color of the faces in the input image. For example, by using the reference image face group, which includes the face of the person corresponding to the image region 118 in the reference image 110, the skin tone of the person in the input image 108, as originally captured in the input image, is not altered (e.g, is not changed to a lighter or darker skin tone) in the modified image 112. Given that people are generally sensitive to changes in the appearance of their skin tone in digital images and/or in video frames in a video clip, for example, the color editing system 104 can determine whether or not to use face skin tones of the respective faces in the face group pair of the input image face group and the reference image face group as part of the color features applied to modify the input image. …For example, if the average skin tone difference between the input image face group and the reference image face group exceeds the matching threshold for face group matching, the image regions that include the faces may not be used for the color matching so as not to alter the appearance of the skin tone of persons in the input image when the color features, style, and/or brightness of the reference image are applied to the input image, ¶0051-0052.
At 614, a modified image is generated from the input image based on the color features of the reference image. For example, the color matching module 126 of the color editing system 104 implemented by the device 102 can generate the modified image 112 from the input image 108 based on the color features of the reference image 110, where the color features include using the face skin tones of the respective faces in the face group pair as part of the color features applied to modify the input image, ¶0104, fig. 6), and
(2) a color tone information controller configured to acquire color tone information indicating a color tone of the target portion in a reference image in the second image style comprising the target portion of a second target object different from the first target object, the target portion of the second target object corresponding to the target portion of the first target object, and input the color tone information to the neural network (ibid, Abstract, ¶0023, 0052, ¶0104, figs. 1, 6-9. Also see, ¶0042-0086);
an input controller configured to input the input image and the reference image to the generating unit (The color matching module 126 of the color editing system 104 can then generate the modified image 112 from the input image 108 based on the color features of the reference image 110, where the color features can include using the face skin tones of the respective faces in the face group pair as part of the color features applied to modify the input image, ¶0050); and
an output controller configured to control output of the target image generated by the generating unit (In this example 100, the glare from the very bright, natural-light windows shown in the input image 108 has been toned down in the modified image 112. In implementations, the color matching module generates the modified image 112 utilizing the midtone color features of the reference image 110 applied to the input image 108, where the face skin tones in the face group pair can be used as part of the midtone color features for the color matching, ¶0050).
Regarding claim 8, Sethi discloses the image conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the first target object and the second target object are living beings, and the target portion is entire body, joint, skin, face, eye, nose, mouth, ear, and/or hair (face of a human or faces of people, fig. 1, Abstract).
Regarding method claim(s) 9, although wording is different, the material is considered substantively equivalent to the device claim(s) 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 10, Sethi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a control program for causing a computer to operate as the image conversion device described in claim 1, the control program causing the computer to operate as the acquiring unit, the generating unit, the color tone information controller, the input controller, and the output controller (¶0132-0134).
11. (canceled)
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sullivan et al. (US 20200035350 A1, hereinafter Sullivan).
Regarding claim 1, Sullivan discloses an image conversion device (abstract, figs. 1-7) comprising:
an acquiring unit configured to acquire an input image in a first image style comprising a target portion of a first target object (an implicit unit configured to acquire histological image 710, e.g. medical imaging device 100 as in Fig. 1, ¶0030-34, the target portions being tissue in a breast of a patient; also in Fig. 2, histological image 210, fig. 7);
a generating unit comprising (image generation unit 360, ¶0064, fig. 7)
(1) a neural network configured to generate, from the input image, a target image in a second image style different from the first image style (image generating unit 360, implemented as disclosed in ¶0066-68 using generative networks for style transfer, fig. 7), and
(2) a color tone information controller configured to acquire color tone information indicating a color tone of the target portion in a reference image in the second image style comprising the target portion of a second target object different from the first target object, the target portion of the second target object corresponding to the target portion of the first target object, and input the color tone information to the neural network (¶0066 and further ¶s0038, 49, 66, wherein the display characteristics of the target histological image are the claimed color tone information of a reference image, and the display characteristics are applied to the corresponding regions of the histological image, which is the claimed input image);
an input controller configured to input the input image and the reference image to the generating unit (predictive model 620, which provides at least one target histological image, the claimed reference image, based upon the histological image, the claimed input image, to image generating unit 360, ¶s 0036-37; the image processing device then works with the histological image and the target histological image, what implies the claimed input controller, ¶s 0037-38, fig. 7); and
an output controller configured to control output of the target image generated by the generating unit (an implicit unit configured to output modified image 720 from processor 305; also Fig. 2, the generated modified image 120, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Sullivan discloses, the conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the input image is a three-dimensional image simulating a stereoscopic shape of the target portion of the second target object, and the reference image is a two-dimensional image that is a captured image of the first target object (Sullivan also discloses that both 3D and 2D images can be used in various combinations and that references image data can be partial (segmented) data, ¶s 0030-33, 38).
Regarding claim 5, Sullivan discloses, the conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the reference image is a partial image obtained by extracting a region of the target portion from an entire image obtained by capturing entirety of the first target object, the input image is an image of the target portion of the second target object, and the generating unit further generates a composite image by combining the target image with the region of the entire image corresponding to the target portion (Sullivan also discloses that both 3D and 2D images can be used in various combinations and that references image data can be partial (segmented) data, ¶s 0030-33, 38).
Regarding claim 6, Sullivan discloses, the conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the first target object and the second target object are living beings with a disease in the target portion, and the disease is more progressed in the second target object than in the first target object (imaging of a breast of a patient subjected to an intervention, which implies a disease, Abstract, ¶0030-0038, 0064. The reference images are corresponding).
Regarding claim 8, Sullivan discloses the image conversion device according to claim 1, wherein the first target object and the second target object are living beings, and the target portion is entire body, joint, skin, face, eye, nose, mouth, ear, and/or hair (Abstract, target object is human, and target portion is breast).
Regarding method claim(s) 9, although wording is different, the material is considered substantively equivalent to the device claim(s) 1 as described above.
Regarding claim 10, Sethi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a control program for causing a computer to operate as the image conversion device described in claim 1, the control program causing the computer to operate as the acquiring unit, the generating unit, the color tone information controller, the input controller, and the output controller (¶0016, ¶0068, fig. 8, ¶0070, fig. 9, claim 18 and dependents).
11. (canceled)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
wherein the neural network comprises: a first generator configured to generate a first converted image in the second image style from a first input image in the first image style; a second generator configured to generate a second converted image in the first image style from a second input image in the second image style; a first identifier configured to be capable of identifying an image in the first image style based on a shape and a color tone of the target portion; and a second identifier configured to be capable of identifying an image in the second image style based on the shape and the color tone of the target portion, the first generator is further capable of generating a third converted image in the second image style from the second converted image, the second generator is further capable of generating a fourth converted image in the first image style from the first converted image, the first identifier identifies the image in the first image style based on a first color tone error between the color tone information of the target portion in the first input image and the color tone information of the target portion in the reference image in the second image style, and at least one of the group consisting of (1) a first error related to a shape of the target portion between the first input image and the fourth converted image, (2) a second error related to the shape of the target portion between the second converted image and the image in the first image style, and (3) a sixth error related to the shape of the target portion between a second evaluation image generated when the second converted image is input to the second generator and the second converted image, and the second identifier identifies the image in the second image style based on a second color tone error between the color tone information of the target portion in the second input image and the color tone information of the target portion in the reference image in the first image style, and at least one of the group consisting of (1) a fourth error related to the shape of the target portion between the second input image and the third converted image, (2) a fifth error related to the shape of the target portion between the first converted image and the image in the second image style; and (3) a third error related to the shape of the target portion between a first evaluation image generated when the first converted image is input to the first generator and the first converted image.
Regarding claim 7, prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
wherein the first target object and the second target object are living beings that have undergone an intervention on the target portion, and an elapsed period after the second target object has undergone the medical intervention is longer than an elapsed period after the first target object has undergone the intervention.
Conclusion
The prior and/or pertinent art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are,
Duarte et al. (US 11900519 B2),
Lee et al. (US 20230388446 A1),
Dinh et al. (US 20230245285 A1),
Pan et al. (US 20230100305 A1),
Kim et al. (US 11551434 B2),
Xie et al. (US 20220222796 A1),
Hsiao (US 20220092728 A1),
Liu et al. (US 20210358164 A1),
who discloses different methods of generating images in different style domain using input image and a reference image using neural networks.
/NURUN FLORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619