CTNF 18/713,280 CTNF 84136 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18-28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikkawa (USPub20170129801) . Regarding claim 1 : ‘801 teaches the following composition which overlaps that of claim 1 (MPEP 2144.05) Applicants’ claim 1 in mol% ‘801 (see claimed compositions in mol%) SiO2 30-70 20-65 or even 45-60 (see 0068-0069) B2O3 0-10 0-30 or 1-18 (0081-0082) Al2O3 1.1-12 0-15 or 0-8 (0122-0123) Li2O 3-35 0-20 or 0.5-20 (0088-0091) Na2O 0-20 1-35 or 1-23 (0074, 0076) K2O 0-5 0-10 or 0-5 (0096-0097) MgO 0-5 0-10 or 0-5 (0099-0100) CaO 0-5 0-15 or 0-5 (0102-0103) SrO 0-5 0-15 or 0-5 (0105-0106) BaO 0-5 0-25 or 0-5 (0108-0109) WO3 0-5 0-10 or 0-5 (0129-0130) Y2O3 0-5 0-20 or 0–5 (0111, 0113) ZrO2 1-15 0-20 or 1-15 (see 0084, 0086) Nb2O3 0.1-20 1-25 or 1-20 (see 0071-0072) La2O3 1-20 0-15 TiO2 1-20 0-15 Regarding claims 2-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 19-28 : ‘801’s above composition ranges overlap with that of claims 2-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, and 19-25 and allow for totals overlapping that of claims 26-28 (MPEP 2144.05). Regarding claim 29 : ‘801 does teach their glass have an index of greater than 1.6 (abstract) but just does not mention said index being that at the individual wavelengths claimed. However, given that ‘801’s glass meets that claimed, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties at the same wavelengths to result (MPEP 2112) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikkawa (USPub20170129801) as applied to claim 1 in view of either one of CN108069591 or USPN6255240 . Regarding claim 30 : ‘801 does teach a glass-based lens comprising their composition at the center (see entire document) but ‘801 just does not mention said glass lens being ion exchanged as claimed. However, as noted, ‘801’s glass is used as an optical glass to form optical lenses. Given that it is well known in the art of optical lenses that optical glasses are desirably ion exchanged (note forming a CS layer extending from the glass surface to a DOC and a central tension region is implicit during ion exchange) for strength (see CN108069591 and USPN6255240 for instance suggesting the general desire in the lens art), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify ‘801 to include their glass being ion exchanged for enhanced strength . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN108069591 cited by Applicants Regarding claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18-28 : ‘591 teaches glass compositions in wt% as follows. Wt% SiO2 20-45 B2O3 0-5 Al2O3 0-10 Li2O 0-8 Na2O 10-25 K2O 0-8 MgO 0-10 CaO 0-10 SrO 0-5 BaO 0-4 WO3 0 Y2O3 0 ZrO2 0-10 Nb2O3 1-15 La2O3 0-8 TiO2 15-35 ZnO 1-10 Sb2O3 0-1 SnO2 0-1 CeO2 0-1 The above allows for compositions that, when converted to mol%, overlap with that clamed (MPEP 2144.05). Regarding claim 29 : ‘591 does teach their glass have an index of greater than 1.6 but just does not mention said index being that at the individual wavelengths claimed. However, given that ‘591’s glass meets that claimed, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties at the same wavelengths to result (MPEP 2112). Regarding claim 30 : ‘591 does teach a glass-based lens comprising their composition at the center and teaches the glass lens being chemically tempered (note a CS layer extending from the surface and a central tension region are implicit in chemically tempered glasses). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN whose telephone number is (571)270-3474. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 9AM to 5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Humera Sheikh can be reached at 571-272-0604. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN Primary Examiner Art Unit 1784 /LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784 Application/Control Number: 18/713,280 Page 2 Art Unit: 1784 Application/Control Number: 18/713,280 Page 3 Art Unit: 1784 Application/Control Number: 18/713,280 Page 4 Art Unit: 1784 Application/Control Number: 18/713,280 Page 5 Art Unit: 1784 Application/Control Number: 18/713,280 Page 6 Art Unit: 1784 Application/Control Number: 18/713,280 Page 7 Art Unit: 1784 Application/Control Number: 18/713,280 Page 8 Art Unit: 1784