DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed July 13, 2026 has been received and entered.
3. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, 18, 19, niacin as Species A, resveratrol as Species B, pomegranate extract as Species C, a source of sulforaphane as Species D, trimethylglycine in claim 2 as Species E, and mitochondrial disfunction as Species F in the reply filed on July 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
5. Claims 6-8, 12-17 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
6. Claims 1-5, 9-11, 18, and 19 are examined on the merits in regards to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-5, 9-11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to natural products without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite niacin, resveratrol, broccoli sprouts, vitamin D, and pomegranate extract. All of these ingredients are naturally occurring. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, niacin, broccoli sprouts, resveratrol, and vitamin D are all naturally occurring substances. In addition, extraction of pomegranate only concentrates and portions the naturally occurring compounds in the plants which are soluble or insoluble in the particular solvent. General extraction does not necessarily result in a markedly distinct change in the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, while a solvent extract itself may not be found in the nature, the compounds which are present in the plant and soluble in the selected solvent are found in nature. The creation of a solvent extract only partitions and concentrates the molecules that are naturally in the plant. There is no evidence or reason to expect that any new compounds are formed. The extract itself is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are simply soluble in a particular solvent. Thus, while extraction of the compounds with the selected solvent would separate a portion of the plant matter away from the naturally-occurring ingredients, the result of extraction is still a mixture of ingredients which are naturally-found in the plant material; i.e., the compound is not inventive or “man-made.”
There is no indication that mixing the specified ingredients together as commensurate in scope with the stated claims changes the structure, function, or other properties of the ingredients in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for the niacin, broccoli sprouts, resveratrol, and vitamin D are the ingredients themselves. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for the extract is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are present in the pomegranate extract. Each ingredient in the composition appears to maintain its naturally occurring structure and properties and is merely present in the combination. In addition, there is nothing to show that mixing the ingredients in the particular concentrations produces any sort of marked distinction. Thus, the claimed mixture as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant’s claims are directed to a composition with an intended use of anti-ageing. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to “an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the ‘treatment or prophylaxis’ consideration.” Therefore, applicant’s intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is the combination of the ingredients. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Mixing specific compounds does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Thus, mixing the ingredients together does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field.
In addition, applicant’s intended use of anti-ageing is not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), “Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montesinos (US 2014/0023701).
This reference teaches a composition comprising vitamin D, niacin, pomegranate, resveratrol, and a cruciferous vegetable extract (see Table 7). The reference teaches that the mixtures represented by Table 7 can be compounded together (see paragraph 101). The reference teaches that the pomegranate is in the form of an extract and that the cruciferous vegetable extract is from broccoli sprouts as a source of sulforaphane (see paragraphs 67 and 69). The reference teaches that the composition is formulated for oral administration in the form of a capsule, tablet, liquid, beverage, lozenge, bar, soft chew, or elixir (see paragraph 96).
The reference does not teach that the composition is useful as an anti-aging composition. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-11, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montesinos (US 2014/0023701)
The teachings of this reference are discussed above. The reference does not specifically teach adding the ingredients together in the amounts claimed by applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” The reference teaches the use of each of the ingredients in a pharmaceutical composition. Varying the concentration of ingredients within a pharmaceutical composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the ingredients produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
The reference also does not specifically teach powdering the composition or packaging it in a sachet or stick. However, the use of powders, sachets, and sticks when formulating dietary supplement was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date. The use of these well known formulations is considered to be an obvious modification of the composition taught by Montesinos.
10. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montesinos (US 2014/0023701) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 9-11, 18 and 19 above, and further in view of Giampapa (US 8,747,915).
The teachings of Montesinos are discussed above. The reference does not specifically teach including trimethylglycine in the composition. However, the reference does teach that the composition functions as an antioxidant composition (see abstract). Giampapa teaches that betaine (trimethylglycine) is a useful ingredient in antioxidant compositions (see columns 2 and 4).
These references show that it was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to use the claimed ingredients in antioxidant compositions. It is well known that it is prima facie obvious to combine two or more ingredients each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition which is useful for the same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art.
Based on the disclosure by these references that these substances are used in antioxidant compositions, an artisan of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation that a combination of the substances would also be useful in creating antioxidant compositions. Therefore, the artisan would have been motivated to combine the claimed ingredients into a single composition. No patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known properties where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See MPEP section 2144.06, In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992).
11. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655