DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohde et al. 20210147960 taken with Othmer 3250081.
Rhode teaches, especially in para 1 and the example, heating metal waste, treating with a weak acid solution, treating in strong acid, adjusting pH to 2.5-8 and removing metals. This does not teach the initial preparation of the weak acid, however Othmer teaches, especially in the figures and col. 24-26, freezing a solution of acetic acid to concentrate it. Using it in the process of Rhode is obvious to provide the solution required.
For claim 2, Rhode para 44 teaches contact for 1-3 hours.
For claims 3 and 16, the pH is adjusted after that time.
For claim 4, raising pH is taught in Rhode para 70. NaOH isa taught in para 71.
For claims 5 and 6, the temperature can be increased up to 100C; see Rhode para 43. The overlap renders the claim obvious.
For claims 7 and 17, Rhode para 42 teaches acetic acid.
For claims 8, 18 and 19, See Othmer col. 1, which suggests distillery residue.
For claims 9-10, Rhode para 11 teaches Li from batteries.
For claim 11, Rhode para 31 teaches all the metals recited.
For claim 12, Rhode para 49 teaches filtration.
For claim 13, the weak acid solution may contain CO2; see para 42.
For claims 7 and 17, Rhode para 42 teaches acetic acid.
For claim 14, Rhode para 63 teaches a reductant, and para 67 suggests using it in step b.
For claim 15, joining the separate reactors together is obvious to create an efficient system for running the reaction.
Oetzel 20220056276 paras 52-56 are noted.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736