DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 54-57 in the reply filed on September 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 10-12, 14, 18, 21, 28, 29, 31, 34, 42-44, 58, and 59 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 9, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 54 and 55 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims are written as dependent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 54-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Getts (WO 2017/143346 A1) in view of Pearson (US 2019/0282707).
Getts teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising TIMP-GLIA [Toleragenic Immune Modifying nanoParticles containing gliadin] comprising gliadin or TIMPs comprising another allergen for treatment of allergies (see entire document including title; abstract; paras. 0004, 0030, 0034, 0036, 0112, 0125-30). The particles “contain soluble antigen (e.g., gliadin) within their cores that are surrounded by a shell of poly(lactide-coglycolide) for tolerance induction in autoimmune disease and/or for the treatment of allergies” (para.0030). The method for preparing the particles comprise a double emulsion solvent evaporation process which claim 1 reads on (paras.0009, 0014, 0031; Fig. 2 and accompanying text ). The surfactant or emulsifier can be in an aqueous solution (para.0065). The pharmaceutical dosage forms may include excipients such as sucrose, sodium citrate and mannitol (para.0130) in instant claim 57.
Getts does not specifically teach encapsulating a peanut protein.
However Pearson teaches tolerizing immune modified particles for inducing antigen-specific tolerance and protective immune responses and for the treatment of allergies. Pearson specifically teaches peanut proteins as well as gliadin (paras. 0154, 0169, 0173, 0230; see entire document including title; abstract; claim 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine their teachings because both are drawn to tolerizing immune-modulating particles and Cour teaches peanut proteins are suitable for that application.
Double Patenting
Claims 54-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11510996 in view of Pearson (US 2019/0282707).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to a composition comprising an antigen encapsulated in a polymeric carrier particle prepared via a double emulsion solvent evaporation process. The difference is that the present claims recite the antigen as a peanut protein. However Pearson teaches tolerizing immune modified particles for inducing antigen-specific tolerance and protective immune responses and for the treatment of allergies. Pearson specifically teaches peanut proteins as well as gliadin (paras. 0154, 0169, 0173, 0230; see entire document including title; abstract; claim 1). It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine their teachings because both are drawn to tolerizing immune-modulating particles and Cour teaches peanut proteins are suitable for that application.
Claims 54-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 7, 9, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12502436 in view of Pearson (US 2019/0282707).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to a composition comprising an antigen encapsulated in a polymeric carrier particle prepared via a double emulsion solvent evaporation process. The difference is that the present claims recite the antigen as a peanut protein. However Pearson teaches tolerizing immune modified particles for inducing antigen-specific tolerance and protective immune responses and for the treatment of allergies. Pearson specifically teaches peanut proteins as well as gliadin (paras. 0154, 0169, 0173, 0230; see entire document including title; abstract; claim 1). It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine their teachings because both are drawn to tolerizing immune-modulating particles and Cour teaches peanut proteins are suitable for that application.
Conclusion
H. SARAH PARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1614
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614