DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites a molecular weight without reciting the units of the molecular weight. It is thus unclear what the units of the molecular weight are. For purposes of examination, claim 4 is interpreted such that the molecular weight is in the units of g/mol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mirone et al. (US 20050171229 A1). Claim 4 is further evidenced by Dow TONE 305 polyol (Dow TONE 305 polyol, 2026, Songhan Plastic Technology Co, LTD, Page 1).
Regarding claim 1, Mirone teaches a container comprising an oxygen barrier layer formed from an active energy ray (see UV) curable composition comprising an alicyclic epoxy compound that is 3,4-Epoxycyclohexylmethyl 3,4-epoxycyclohexanecarboxylate (Mirona, Abstract, Par. 0001-0002, 0014-0019 0046, and 0055-0057), which is the same as the alicyclic epoxy compound of the instant invention per the instant specification Par. 0049-0050 and therefore satisfies the formula (1) limitation. Regarding the limitation of the container being a squeeze container, Mirone teaches the container is a flexible plastic container for beverages and is thus able to be squeezed, satisfying the limitation of a squeeze container (Mirone, Par. 0001-0003, 0015, and 0049).
Alternatively, regarding the limitation of the container being a squeeze container, Applicant’s attention is drawn to MPEP 2106(II)(C) which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Mirone discloses a flexible container as presently claimed, it is clear that the container of Mirone would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. being used as a squeeze container presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2-3, Mirone teaches the active energy ray curable composition comprises a softness imparting agent that is polycaprolactone triol (Mirone, Par. 0055 and 0058).
Regarding claim 4, Mirone teaches the softness imparting agent is TONE caprolactone 0305 (Mirone, Par. 0058) which has a molecular weight of 540 g/mol as evidenced by Dow TONE 305 polyol (Dow TONE 305 polyol, Page 1), which lies within the claimed range of 1000 g/mol or less and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mirone et al. as applied to claims 1-2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Mirone teaches that a content of the softness imparting agent is 2-15 mass% with respect to 100 mass% of a nonvolatile content of the active energy ray curable composition (Mirone, Par. 0059, which overlaps the claimed range of 7 to 20 mass% and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 6, Mirone teaches that a thickness of the oxygen barrier layer is 4 to 10 µm (Mirone, Par. 0098), which overlaps the claimed range of 5 to 10 µm and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed range, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782