Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In Line 10 of claim 1, it is unclear what percentage or composition would be classified as “high-purity hydrogen gas”.
In claim 3, in regards to “wherein the carbonation reactor uses a pressure in the steam methane reforming process”, it is unclear how one would use the pressure in a separate steam reforming process in the method.
As claims 2 and 4-6 depend on claim 1 and do not cure the indefiniteness, claims 2 and 4-6 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to dependency on claim 1. For the purposes, of examination, “high-purity hydrogen gas” is considered to be any hydrogen gas where impurities have been removed in the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fry (US20140217017A1).
In regards to claim 1, Fry teaches obtaining a mixed gas containing hydrogen and carbon dioxide by performing a water gas shift reaction with a product obtained through a steam methane reforming process using natural gas and steam [0035-0036] by using aqueous sodium hydroxide in a thin film reactor to produce a high purity hydrogen and sodium bicarbonate product [0089-0091].
In regards to claim 3, Fry does not teach increasing or decreasing the pressure in the carbonation reactor. Therefore, there would not be a separate pressure increase and fulfills the claim limitation.
In regards to claim 6, Fry teaches that the CO2 is captured in order to be used in bioreactors [0089], which would indicate an amount of 0% being released into the atmosphere, fulfilling the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fry (US20140217017A1).
In regards to claim 4, Fry does not explicitly teach that the concentration of the aqueous sodium hydroxide solution is controlled to be 10 weight % or less than 30 weight %. However, as both Fry and the instant application use the NaOH to capture CO2 and produce a sodium bicarbonate solution, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the proper concentration amount of sodium hydroxide in the process to maximize the amount of sodium bicarbonate produced for future processing, such as algae conversion [0089].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Fry (US20140217017A1) is considered to be the closest prior art to the claimed invention in the instant application.
In regards to claim 2. Fry does not teach or suggest using a pressure swing adsorption process, a thermal swing adsorption process, or a membrane separation method in order to obtain the hydrogen gas in the carbonation reactor.
In regards to claim 5, Fry does not teach or suggest that the method further comprises dehydrating the downstream sodium bicarbonate, separating into a powder and filtrate, and recycling the filtrate for use in the method.
Conclusion
/JAANZEB C RAJA/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736