DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species B, encompassing Claims 1-5 and 8-15 in the reply filed on 23 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all identified groups and species would not present a burden on examination (see Response at Pg. 3). This is not found persuasive because the identified groups of claims are directed to diverse classes of invention, and the identified species are directed to diverse materials, and in either case search and examination of one group/species is not necessarily coextensive with the other.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-7 and 16-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 24 May 2024, 15 July 2024, 06 August 2024, and 15 January 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-5, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2019116402 to Harada et al., a translation of which is provided herewith and referred-to herein, (“Harada”).
With regard to Claims 1, 10, and 15, Harada teaches a diamond formation method and a device therefor comprising a reaction vessel 10 in which a liquid containing a carbon source is held, a substrate 61 placed therein, and an electrode 50 facing the substrate for generating plasma within the liquid (see Abstract; FIG. 1; ¶¶ [0008], [0012], [0015], [0018], [0038]). Harada teaches an embodiment featuring a high rate of film deposition wherein the substrate is etched, i.e. features at least one recess (see ¶ [0056]).
With regard to Claims 2-5, Harada teaches forming a diamond layer on etched substrate surfaces (see ¶¶ [0008], [0056]). Moreover, as noted, Harada teaches a device comprising all of the elements of Claim 1, and is thus presumed capable of forming a diamond layer as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 8-9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada.
With regard to Claims 8-9, Harada teaches the material of the substrate is not particularly limited (see ¶ [0032]); however the reference does not expressly teach steel alloy or stainless steel. Harada otherwise teaches usage of diamond-coated surfaces within the context of machining and heat transfer applications (see ¶ [0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the method and device of Harada on steel alloy and/or stainless steel substrates in order to form a diamond layer on machinery composed thereof.
With regard to Claims 11-14, Harada teaches etched surfaces yield extremely high deposition rates (see ¶ [0056]); however the reference does not expressly teach the claimed techniques for forming recesses in substrates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed substrates withy any type of recess features, including those claimed, throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in pursuit of a desired rate of diamond layer deposition.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712