DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of the legalese language “comprises”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Takaki et al. (US 8,174,195).
Regarding independent claim 16, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches in figure 1 and the corresponding text, a flash lamp, comprising: a discharge vessel (5a) that is transparent to electromagnetic radiation in the visible spectrum and defining a cavity (spaced defined by d2) filled with a gas (N2), wherein the discharge vessel defines passages at opposing ends of the cavity; two electrodes (6) for generating a gas discharge (not shown) and positioned at the opposing ends of the cavity of the discharge vessel; two electrical conductors (7) respectively connected to the two electrodes and respectively extending through the passages at the opposing ends of the cavity of the discharge vessel; and at least one insulating shielding (far left extending edge of part G) spaced-away from and enclosing at least one of the two electrical conductors outside of the discharge vessel, wherein the at least one insulating shielding comprises a first end that is connected in a gas-tight fashion to the discharge vessel and a second end opposite the first end that is open.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches the at least one insulating shielding comprises an electrically insulating solid body that does not comprise a polymer.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches two contact electrodes respectively connected to the two electrical conductors (8), wherein the at least one insulating shielding extends from the discharge vessel beyond at least one of the two contact electrodes.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches two electrical connection lines ( 2 and metal cap (3)) respectively connected to the two contact electrodes, and wherein the two electrical connection lines do not have electrically insulating sheaths that comprise a polymer.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches at least one insulating shielding has an inner surface with geometrical structures that protrude toward a respective contact electrode of the two contact electrodes (see the part 5b pinched towards (7)).
Regarding dependent claim 21, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches the inner surface undulates (curved inwards) from the first end to the second end.
Regarding dependent claim 22, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches the at least one insulating shielding is coaxial with the discharge vessel.
Regarding dependent claim 23, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches the at least one insulating shielding is integral with the discharge vessel.
Regarding dependent claim 24, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches the at least one insulating shielding and the discharge vessel are constructed of the same material (glass).
Regarding dependent claim 25, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches the at least one insulating shielding comprises a constriction at the first end or between the first end and the second end (the pinched area).
Regarding dependent claim 26, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches the second end is configured to be closed with feed-throughs for electrical connection lines (part (8) extends out of shielding).
Regarding dependent claim 27, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches a light holder (1) or a light reflector on the at least one insulating shielding.
Regarding dependent claim 28, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches a flow tube (part (G) around part (5)) that encapsulates the discharge vessel a radial distance away from the discharge vessel for a flow medium around the discharge vessel.
Regarding dependent claim 29, Takaki et al. (‘195) teaches two connection plates that respectively close ends of the flow tube, wherein each connection plate of the two connection plates comprises passages for the flow medium and for an electrical connection line (no number, but the vertical sides closing around (5)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 30, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest each connection plate of the two connection plates holds the second end of the at least one insulating shielding.
Regarding claim 31, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a plane parallel to one another and spaced-apart by a distance, wherein at least one of the gas discharge lamps if the flash lamp of claim 16, and wherein the distance is of an order of magnitude of an average outer diameter of the discharge vessels of the gas discharge lamps or of the next smaller order of magnitude. (emphasis added)
Regarding claim 33, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggest a method of using the flash lamp of claim 16, comprising: irradiating substrates with a voltage applied during a treatment, a maximum value of which is in the range of 1 kV (kilovolt) to 100 kV and/or with a luminous power emitted during a treatment of 1 kilowatt per square centimeter (kW/cm2) to 100 kW/cm2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2013/0271026, US 7598676, US 4,677,338, and US 6,876151 disclose the state of the art for a flash lamp.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875