Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseunetomo (US 20190248698).
Regarding claims 1-2, Tseunetomo discloses a method for manufacturing a glass sheet having a first main surface, a second main surface, and a through hole penetrating between the first main surface and the second main surface ¶[0231], the method comprising:
a modifying step of modifying a preset formation part by irradiation of laser light yielding modified portions ¶ [0233],
Tseunetomo discloses an etching step of etching the glass sheet by immersing the glass sheet in an etchant ¶ [0255]-[0258], ¶ [0261] ultrasonic waves of stirring wet etching removes the modified portions and forms through holes, or blind holes.
Tseunetomo does not specifically break up the overall disclosure of the etching into
“a first etching step of etching the glass sheet in which the preset formation part does not penetrate; and
a second etching step of etching the glass sheet in which the preset formation part penetrates, after the first etching step”
however Tseunetomo discloses the etching is performed to turn the modified portions into through holes and etching time and temperature are controlled as well as stirring to control the etching rate ¶ [0258] and [0261] respectively.
KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) Supreme court stated when a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it. Tseunetomo discloses how the etching rate can be increased by raising the temperature, stronger etchant, or stirring the etchant relative to the glass.
It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the etching rate throughout the etching process to make the etching process efficient while achieving the desired diameter through hole. Increasing the etching rate once the hole penetrates is mere optimization of the etching parameters disclosed by Tseunetomo absent any unexpected results.
Regarding claims 3-4, Tseunetomo discloses the etching is performed to turn the modified portions into through holes and etching time and temperature are controlled as well as stirring to control the etching rate ¶ [0258] and [0261] respectively.
KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) Supreme court stated when a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces of efficiency can prompt variations of it. Tseunetomo discloses how the etching rate can be increased by stirring the etchant relative to the glass.
It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the etching rate throughout the etching process to make the etching process efficient while achieving the desired diameter through hole. Increasing the etching rate once the hole penetrates appears to be mere optimization of the etching parameters discussed by Tseunetomo absent any unexpected results.
In reference to claim 4, MPEP 2144.04 states In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) mere reversal of movement is obvious to a skilled artisan, Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to stir the etchant releative to the glass by moving the etchant or moving the glass immersed in the etchant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Komochi (JP 2011037707) as cited in the machine translation provided herein discloses a method comprising a modifying step of modifying a preset formation part by irradiation of laser light yielding an altered part (See step i described on at least Pages 2 and 7 ¶8) and an etching step of etching the glass sheet by immersing the glass sheet in an etchant (Step ii and at least Pages 2 and 7 ¶8)
JP 2008194915 increase etch rate formation of through hole
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741