Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-24 in the reply filed on 8/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/24/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
It is also noted that that the IDS recites Velizarov et al., Ion Exchange Membrane Bioreactor for Selective Removal of Nitrate from Drinking Water: Control of Ion Fluxes and Process Performance, Biotechnol. Prog. 2008, Vol 18, pages 296-302 but the year of the submitted publication is 2002 making the listing in error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation that the effluent and decontaminating stream “are essentially free” of the carbon source. The term The term “essentially free” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “essentially free” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear the metes and bounds of what would be considered “essentially free.” For example, would a stream with 1 ppb be considered essentially free of said substance while 1.1 ppb not?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-10, 12, 16, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Velizarov et al., Ion Exchange Membrane Bioreactor for Selective Removal of Nitrate from Drinking Water: Control of Ion Fluxes and Process Performance, Biotechnol. Prog. 2002, Vol 18, pages 296-302 in IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Velizarov teaches a method of decontaminating water of oxyanions, said method comprising: passing a contaminated water stream through a feed side of a contactor, said contactor comprising said feed side and a bio-side separated by an anion-exchange membrane, passing a decontaminating stream on said bio-side, said decontaminating stream comprising driving ions in a concentration sufficient to drive said oxyanion through said anion-exchange membrane from said feed side to said bio-side, to form oxyanion-rich decontaminating stream, passing at least a portion of said oxyanion-rich decontaminating stream through a bioreactor, wherein said bioreactor comprises microorganisms capable of metabolizing said oxyanion, and bionutrients comprising a carbon source, to form a bioreactor effluent, wherein said bioreactor effluent is substantially decontaminated from said oxyanion, and recirculating said bioreactor effluent through said bio-side of said contactor, wherein said bioreactor effluent and said decontaminating stream on said bio-side of said contactor are essentially free of said carbon source (Figs 1-2, pages 297-300, and Table 4).
Regarding claim 4, Velizarov teaches appears to teach a co-current contacting pattern (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Velizarov teaches the oxyanion is nitrate.
Regarding claims 8-10, it is submitted that the tank shown and accompanying flow patterns in Fig. 2 of Velizarov would read on the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Velizarov teaches a bio-makeup stream having the carbon source as claimed (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Velizarov teaches the method is carried out at 24 degrees Celsius (page 298).
Regarding claim 22, Velizarov teaches that chloride and bicarbonate ions are used as driving ions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velizarov et al., Ion Exchange Membrane Bioreactor for Selective Removal of Nitrate from Drinking Water: Control of Ion Fluxes and Process Performance, Biotechnol. Prog. 2002, Vol 18, pages 296-302 in view of Jons et al. (US 2018/0036684).
Regarding claim 2, Velizarov fails to teach the contractor having a spiral design as claimed. Jons teaches that it is known for bioreactors to come in different shapes with preferred design being a spiral design (abstract and [0028]). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide bioreactors in a variety of known design/shapes, which would include a spiral design as such designs are known in the art to be preferred.
Claim(s) 3, 14-15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velizarov et al., Ion Exchange Membrane Bioreactor for Selective Removal of Nitrate from Drinking Water: Control of Ion Fluxes and Process Performance, Biotechnol. Prog. 2002, Vol 18, pages 296-302 in view of Fox et al., Concurrent Microbial Reduction of High Concentrations of Nitrate and Perchlorate in an lon Exchange Membrane Bioreactor, Biotechnology and Bioengineering Vol 9999, pages 1-11, 2016 in IDS.
Regarding claim 3, Velizarov fails to teach the channel heights as claimed. Fox teaches that channel heights can be around 0.3 cm (3 mm) (page 2). While the channel height only overlaps the bio side channel height, it is Examiner’s position that modifying the channel height to values that are close absent a shown criticality would have been an obvious matter to one skilled in the art (a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Regarding claim 14, Velizarov teaches the pH range is higher than claimed. Fox teaches that for ion exchange membrane bioreactors, depending on the type of oxyanion treated, the pH value can be monitored and controlled to be around 6.7 on the bioside for optimal treatment (page 5). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to monitor and control the pH to optimal values depending on the oxyanion treated and desired results.
Regarding claim 15 and 21, Velizarov teaches that certain parameters, such as temperature, flow, and pH, are monitored (pages 298-300) but fails to teach monitoring the additional parameters as claimed. In operating membrane based bioreactors, Fox teaches that further parameters that can be monitored are optical density and ORP (page 5). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide monitoring steps for all desired parameters for the membrane bioreactor in order to monitor and control the operation of said membrane bioreactor.
In regards to optimizing ORP and optical density, one skilled in the art would recognize that optimization or finding workable ORP values/optical density would have been an obvious matter to one skilled in the art absent a showing of unexpected results (Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Claim(s) 6, 17, 20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velizarov et al., Ion Exchange Membrane Bioreactor for Selective Removal of Nitrate from Drinking Water: Control of Ion Fluxes and Process Performance, Biotechnol. Prog. 2002, Vol 18, pages 296-302.
Regarding claim 6, Velizarov teaches the anion-exchange membrane with similar properties (Fig. 1) but fails to teach the membrane having specific test results as claimed. It is submitted that one skilled in the art would expect similar results when tested via the same methods claimed or it would have been obvious to use other anion-exchange membranes that provide the same functions as desired in Velizarov that would have the properties claimed with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Velizarov teaches that the bioreactor effluent/recycle is removed at various times and flushing can occur in order to keep up performance of the ion exchange membrane bioreactor (pages 300-301). In regards to the exact timing and how much is removed, it is submitted that such factors would be merely finding workable/optimum ranges for the process as discussed above.
Regarding claim 23, it is submitted that optimizing the concentration of driving ions would have been merely optimizing concentrations/amounts when all other conditions are known in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velizarov et al., Ion Exchange Membrane Bioreactor for Selective Removal of Nitrate from Drinking Water: Control of Ion Fluxes and Process Performance, Biotechnol. Prog. 2002, Vol 18, pages 296-302 in view of Fox et al., Concurrent Microbial Reduction of High Concentrations of Nitrate and Perchlorate in an lon Exchange Membrane Bioreactor, Biotechnology and Bioengineering Vol 9999, pages 1-11, 2016 in IDS and Novak et al. (US 2013/0001142).
Regarding claim 11, Velizarov teaches that certain parameters, such as temperature, flow, and pH, are monitored (pages 298-300) but fails to teach monitoring the additional parameters as claimed. In operating membrane based bioreactors, Fox teaches that further parameters that can be monitored are optical density and ORP while Novak teaches that pressure parameters can be monitored (Table 1). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide monitoring steps for all desired parameters for the membrane bioreactor in order to monitor and control the operation of said membrane bioreactor.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velizarov et al., Ion Exchange Membrane Bioreactor for Selective Removal of Nitrate from Drinking Water: Control of Ion Fluxes and Process Performance, Biotechnol. Prog. 2002, Vol 18, pages 296-302 in view of Fox et al., Ion exchange membrane bioreactor for treating groundwater contaminated with high perchlorate concentrations, Journal of Hazardous Materials Vol 264, pages 552-559, 2014.
Regarding claim 13, Velizarov teaches that the biofeed/bio-makeup stream is comprised of known components and nutrients but does not detail the specific makeup of the biofeed. Fox teaches that known biofeeds for ion exchange membrane bioreactors comprise the components claimed (page 554). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide known biofeeds, such as the specific one in Fox, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velizarov et al., Ion Exchange Membrane Bioreactor for Selective Removal of Nitrate from Drinking Water: Control of Ion Fluxes and Process Performance, Biotechnol. Prog. 2002, Vol 18, pages 296-302 in view of Brouwer et al. (US 2012/0193287).
Regarding claim 18, Velizarov fails to teach the bioreactor comprising bio-carrier media having a surface area as claimed. Brouwer teaches that in bioreactors, providing bio-carriers for the desired microorganisms is well known in the art and the surface area of the bio-carrier is 750 square meters per a cubic meter (claim 16). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide bio-carriers as claimed as such bio-carriers are known in the art and allow for desired microorganisms to be present in the bioreactor and one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Regarding claim 19, it is submitted that the amount of biomass on the bio-carrier is merely optimizing concentrations/amounts when all other conditions are known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776