DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Figure 15 (among other figures) shows items U1c and U1c’ not found in the written description.
Figure 41 shows item 71g not found in the written description.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a position information acquisition unit” in claim 1;
“a position determination processing unit” in claim 1;
“an output control unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim is not to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. In the state of the art, transitory signals are commonplace as a medium for transmitting computer instructions and thus, in the absence of any evidence to the contrary and given a broadest reasonable interpretation, the scope of a “storage medium” covers transitory medium such as a signal per se. A transitory signal does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matters.
The phrase “a non-transitory computer-readable medium” is suggested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi (JP H07-264700 A)(see IDS dated 05/24/24 plus translation from WIPO website, plus image translation from google image translate pulled 6/19/26), in view of Maeno et al. (US 20190230435 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hitachi discloses an information processing device comprising:
a position information acquisition unit (at least 3, 9, and 13 of figure 1) that acquires position information of a first target object (listener 17 of figure 2) in a first space (see figure 1 site C, also see figures 2 and 3, paragraph [0008]) in which a speaker array (5 and 6) is arranged and position information of a second target object in a second space (site A for example, see paragraph [0008]);
a position determination processing unit (7, 8, and 10 of figure 1) that determines a virtual position of the second target object (37 of figure 2, 22 or 23 of figure 3) in a first fusion space obtained by virtually fusing the second space to the first space (see figure 2 or figure 3); and
an output control unit (at least part 7 and 8 of figure 1) that performs output control of the speaker array filter to a signal obtained by collecting a sound emitted from the second target object (via microphone 2 of figure 1) such that a sound image is localized at the virtual position (see 37 of figure 2 and 22/23 of figure 3, paragraphs [0009], [0016], [0010]).
Hitachi does not expressly disclose use of wavefront synthesis.
Maeno discloses an output control unit (23 and 24 of figure 1) that performs output control of a speaker array (see figures 1, 3, and 7) by applying a wavefront synthesis filter to a signal (paragraphs [0035], [0051], and [0168]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the wavefront synthesis of Maeno in the system of Hitachi for the benefit of delivering the sound with greater accuracy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Maeno with Hitachi, for the benefits above, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Claim 17 is rejected in an analogous manner to claim 1.
Claim 18 is rejected in an analogous manner to claim 1 given the embodiments of paragraphs [0022] and [0039] of Hitachi.
Regarding claim 2, Hitachi discloses wherein the speaker array is in the first space (see figure 2).
Maeno discloses wherein a first upper speaker array (top part of 26) and a first lower speaker array (bottom part of 26, speakers cover surface some omitted to show axis) are arranged as the speaker array.
Regarding claim 6, Maeno discloses wherein the output control unit selects a characteristic of the wavefront synthesis filter according to the virtual position (see steps S12 to S14 of figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Maeno discloses wherein the output control unit selects a
characteristic of the wavefront synthesis filter according to position information of each of a plurality of the first target objects in a case where there is the plurality of the first target objects (see steps S12 to S14 of figure 6, see paragraphs [0003], [0004] and [0131] for multiple sources).
Regarding claim 11, Maeno discloses wherein the output control unit selects a characteristic of the wavefront synthesis filter such that the number of the first target objects included in a sound image localization service area increases (see steps S12 to S14 of figure 6, see paragraphs [0003], [0004] and [0131] for multiple sources, control points go up as listeners go up, see figure 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Hitachi discloses wherein in a case where there is a plurality of the second target objects (see figure 1 and 3), the position determination processing unit determines the virtual position for each of the plurality of the second target object (via 3 and 13).
Maeno discloses wherein the output control unit selects a characteristic of the wavefront synthesis filter for each of a plurality of the virtual positions/sources (see steps S12 to S14 of figure 6, see paragraphs [0003], [0004] and [0131] for multiple sources).
Regarding claim 13, Hitachi discloses wherein the first target object is a head of a person (see figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 15, Hitachi discloses wherein the position information acquisition unit obtains position information of the first target object on a basis of an output from a camera (paragraphs [0023], [0039] to [0040]).
Although Hitachi is silent to the type of camera used, the examiner takes official notice that the use of stereo cameras was well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a stereo camera in the system of Hitachi for the benefit of retrieving depth information thereby assisting location services.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-5, 7, 8, 10, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS J SUTHERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695