Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,4-13,22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lin et al. (US20230131882A1) in view of Agiwal et al. (US20220191965A1) in further view of Kuang et al. (US20230371118A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Lin teaches, A method for performing wireless communication by a first device, the method comprising: obtaining a[31]- In an example, services and functions of SDAP may comprise mapping between a QoS flow and a data radio bearer.[38]- discontinuous reception (DRX) OFF or inactive time duration of the first UE
Lin does not teach,plurality of sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX)inactivity timers ;receiving, through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of second SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); receiving, through the PSSCH, the second SCI including cast type information and a destination layer-1 (L1) ID; selecting a single SL DRX inactivity timer from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L1 ID, based on a failure to decode a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU); and starting the single SL DRX inactivity timer,
Agiwal teaches plurality of sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX)inactivity timers, [104]- It may also include sl-DRX-Inactivity-Timer and sl-DRX-Retransmission-Timer.( = plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers. also see [106-109] for plurality of timers.
receiving, through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of second SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); [129]- on PSSCH based on the scheduling information received in the 1st stage SCI. In operation S420, the UE identifies whether the 2nd stage SCI indicates new transmission.
receiving, through the PSSCH, the second SCI including cast type information and a destination layer-1 (L1) ID; [129]- In operation S435, if the scheduled TB is associated with unicast, the UE identifies whether the Destination ID field in the 2nd stage SCI is equal to 16 least significant bits of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE
selecting a single SL DRX inactivity timer from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L1 ID, based on a failure to decode a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU); and starting the single SL DRX inactivity timer, [93]- failing which it can go back to sleep. The UE shall restart the inactivity timer following a single successful decoding of a PDCCH for a first transmission only (i.e., not for retransmissions);[104]- It may also include sl-DRX-Inactivity-Timer and sl-DRX-Retransmission-Timer.( = plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers. also see [106-109] for plurality of timers.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin, plurality of sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX)inactivity timers; receiving, through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of second SCI and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); receiving, through the PSSCH, the second SCI including cast type information and a destination layer-1 (L1) ID; selecting a single SL DRX inactivity timer from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L1 ID, based on a failure to decode a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU); and starting the single SL DRX inactivity timer as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer..
Lin in view of Agiwal does not teach, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is a SL DRX inactivity timer with the longest length of the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers
Kuang teaches, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is a SL DRX inactivity timer with the longest length of the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers.[75]- if the remaining duration of the first DRX inactivity timer is longer than or equal to the duration of the DRX inactivity timer configured in the second DRX configuration, the UE may not need to restart the first DRX inactivity timer.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin in view of Agiwal, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is a SL DRX inactivity timer with the longest length of the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers as taught by Kuang to use configuring a dynamic or non dynamic grant.
Regarding Claim 3, Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein based on the destination L1 ID matching 16 least significant bits (LSB) of the destination L2 ID, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID
Agiwal teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein based on the destination L1 ID matching 16 least significant bits (LSB) of the destination L2 ID, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID.[118]- if the Destination ID field in the 2nd stage SCI is equal to X least significant bits (e.g. X can be 16 or any other value depending on size (in bits) of Destination ID field in the SCI i.e., if size of Destination ID field in the SCI is P bits then X is equal to P, P is an integer) of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for groupcast communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin, The method of claim 1, wherein based on the destination L1 ID matching 16 least significant bits (LSB) of the destination L2 ID, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a dynamic or non dynamic grant.
Regarding Claim 23, Lin does not teach, The first device of claim 14, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is started in a slot following a slot in which the first SCI and the second SCI are received
Agiwal teaches, The first device of claim 14, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is started in a slot following a slot in which the first SCI and the second SCI are received.[115]- UE starts or restarts corresponding sl-drx-InactivityTimer (if configured) in the first symbol after the end of the 2nd stage SCI reception (alternately starts or restarts corresponding sl-drx-InactivityTimer in the first slot after the end of the 2nd stage SCI reception).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin, The first device of claim 14, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is started in a slot following a slot in which the first SCI and the second SCI are received as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a dynamic or non dynamic grant.
Regarding Claim 25, Lin does not teach, ,The first device of claim 24, wherein the destination L2 ID is obtained based on the destination L1 ID included in the second SCI and a destination field included in the MAC PDU Agiwal teaches,The first device of claim 24, wherein the destination L2 ID is obtained based on the destination L1 ID included in the second SCI and a destination field included in the MAC PDU.[129]- the UE identifies whether the Destination ID field in the 2nd stage SCI is equal to 16 least significant bits of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for groupcast or broadcast.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin, ,The first device of claim 24, wherein the destination L2 ID is obtained based on the destination L1 ID included in the second SCI and a destination field included in the MAC PDU as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a dynamic or non dynamic grant.
Regarding Claim 4,Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is started in a slot following a slot in which the first SCI and the second SCI are received.
Agiwal teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is started in a slot following a slot in which the first SCI and the second SCI are received. [115]- UE starts or restarts corresponding sl-drx-InactivityTimer (if configured) in the first symbol after the end of the 2nd stage SCI reception (alternately starts or restarts corresponding sl-drx-InactivityTimer in the first slot after the end of the 2nd stage SCI reception).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin l, The method of claim 1, wherein the single SL DRX inactivity timer is started in a slot following a slot in which the first SCI and the second SCI are received as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 5, Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein, based on successful decoding of the MAC PDU, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID.
Agiwal teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein, based on successful decoding of the MAC PDU, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID. [120]- The sl-drx-InactivityTimer can be independently maintained separately for each group (i.e., for each group Destination Layer-2 ID). UE will start sl-drx-InactivityTimer corresponding to group for which TB is scheduled.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , The method of claim 1, wherein, based on successful decoding of the MAC PDU, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 6, Lin does not teach, The method of claim 5, wherein the destination L2 ID is obtained based on the destination L1 ID included in the second SCI and a destination field included in the MAC PDU
Agiwal teaches, The method of claim 5, wherein the destination L2 ID is obtained based on the destination L1 ID included in the second SCI and a destination field included in the MAC PDU. [122]- if the Destination ID field in the 2nd stage SCI is equal to X least significant bits (e.g. X can be 16 or any other value depending on size (in bits) of Destination ID field in the SCI.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , T The method of claim 5, wherein the destination L2 ID is obtained based on the destination L1 ID included in the second SCI and a destination field included in the MAC PDU as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 7, Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the first device is a device interested in receiving data related to the destination L2 ID based on groupcast
Agiwal teaches,The method of claim 1, wherein the first device is a device interested in receiving data related to the destination L2 ID based on groupcast. [118]- Destination ID field in the SCI is P bits then X is equal to P, P is an integer) of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for groupcast communication.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , The method of claim 1, wherein the first device is a device interested in receiving data related to the destination L2 ID based on groupcast as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 8, Lin does not teach, ,The method of claim 1, wherein the cast type information is set to groupcast
Agiwal teaches,The method of claim 1, wherein the cast type information is set to groupcast. [117]- Else if the scheduled TB is associated to groupcast:
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , ,The method of claim 1, wherein the cast type information is set to groupcast as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 9, Lin teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein information related to the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers is included in a [31]- services and functions of SDAP may comprise mapping between a QoS flow and a data radio bearer. In an example, services and functions of SDAP may comprise mapping quality of service Indicator (QFI) in downlink (DL) and uplink (UL) packets.
Lin does not teach, plurality of SL DRX configurations
Agiwal teaches, plurality of SL DRX configurations [89]- For V2X sidelink transmission, during handover, transmission resource pool configurations including exceptional transmission resource pool for the target cell.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , plurality of SL DRX configurations as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 10, Lin does not teach, The method of Claim 1, further comprising: monitoring SCI within a time while the single SL DRX inactivity timer is running
Agiwal teaches The method of Claim 1, further comprising: monitoring SCI within a time while the single SL DRX inactivity timer is running.[129]- The UE monitors PSCCH during the active time. In operation S410, the UE receives SCI (i.e., 1st stage SCI) on PSCCH… the UE starts or restarts sl-drx-InactivityTimer in the first symbol after the end of the 2nd stage SCI reception.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , The method of Claim 1, further comprising: monitoring SCI within a time while the single SL DRX inactivity timer is running as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 11, Lin teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of SL QoS profiles are related to a plurality of PC5 QoS identifiers (PQIs), respectively. [39]- sidelink resource pool comprises a selection of a resource pool index or type, a resource selection window, a source identifier (ID)
Regarding Claim 12, Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers are configured for the first device.
Agiwal teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers are configured for the first device. [42]- The BWP switching is controlled by the PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an UL grant, by the bwp-InactivityTimer, by RRC signaling.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers are configured for the first device as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 13, Lin does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein a time while the single SL DRX inactivity timer is running is included in an active time of the first device
Agiwal teaches,The method of claim 1, wherein a time while the single SL DRX inactivity timer is running is included in an active time of the first device.[129]- The UE monitors PSCCH during the active time… the UE starts or restarts sl-drx-InactivityTimer in the first symbol after the end of the 2nd stage SCI reception, or if not, sl-drx-InactivityTimer is not (re-)started.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , The method of claim 1, wherein a time while the single SL DRX inactivity timer is running is included in an active time of the first device as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 22, Lin does not teach, The first device of claim 14, wherein, based on the destination L1 ID matching 16least significant bits (LSB) of the destination L2 ID, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID
Agiwal teaches, The first device of claim 14, wherein, based on the destination L1 ID matching 16least significant bits (LSB) of the destination L2 ID, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID. [156]- In operation S540, if the Destination ID field in the 2nd stage SCI is equal to 16 least significant bits of any of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE, and the Source ID field in the 2nd stage SCI is equal to 8 least significant bits of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , The first device of claim 14, wherein, based on the destination L1 ID matching 16least significant bits (LSB) of the destination L2 ID, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Regarding Claim 24, Lin does not teach, The first device of claim 14, wherein, based on successful decoding of the MAC PDU, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID.
Agiwal teaches, The first device of claim 14, wherein, based on successful decoding of the MAC PDU, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID. [120]- The sl-drx-InactivityTimer can be independently maintained separately for each group (i.e., for each group Destination Layer-2 ID). UE will start sl-drx-InactivityTimer corresponding to group for which TB is scheduled.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lin , The first device of claim 14, wherein, based on successful decoding of the MAC PDU, the single SL DRX inactivity timer is selected from the plurality of SL DRX inactivity timers related to the destination L2 ID as taught by Agiwal to use configuring a multiple step SCI to configure Inactivity timer.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478