DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP’950 (JP 2020-132950, IDS dated 05/24/2024).
Regarding claims 1-4, 13 and 14, JP’950 teaches a method (Page 3 to Page 7) for recovering metals from lithium ion battery waste, comprising leaching metals from lithium ion battery waste with an acid (Page 3, 3rd and 4th paragraphs), and extracting the metals from a metal-containing solution in which the metals are dissolved (Page 4, 5th paragraphs), wherein the lithium hydroxide extracted in the wet processing is used as a pH adjuster used in the metal recovery process (Page 7, 2nd paragraph), which meets the limitations recited in claims 1-4, 13 and 14.
Regarding claims 12 and 16, JP’950 discloses that the method comprises dry processing to obtain battery powder by roasting of lithium ion battery waste, and the battery powder is subjected to acid leaching in the wet processing to obtain the metal-containing solution (Page 3, 3rd to 5th paragraphs), which meets the limitations recited in claims 12 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’950 (JP 2020-132950), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (US 2019/0106768).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 15, JP’950 discloses that the wet processing comprises an acid leaching step of leaching metals such as Li, Mn, Co and Ni from the lithium-ion battery waste with an acid to obtain the metal-containing solution (Page 3 and Page 4), and using lithium hydroxide extracted as a pH adjuster in the metal separating process (Page 6 and Page 7). JP’950 does not disclose separating the metal by solvent extraction. Ito teaches a method of recovering metal from lithium-ion battery that is analogous to the method of JP’950 ([0026] to [0068]). Ito discloses that solvent extraction method can be used to sequentially extract Mn, Co and Ni from the leaching solution ([0061] to [0066]). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use solvent extraction method to sequentially extract Mn, Co and Ni from the leaching solution as taught by Ito in the process of JP’950 in order to successfully recover Mn, Co and Ni from lithium-ion battery as disclosed by Ito.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’950 (JP 2020-132950) in view of Ito (US 2019/0106768), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ariyoshi (WO 2021/215486, US2023/0132311 is used as translation; IDS dated 05/24/2024).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, JP’950 discloses that lithium sulfate is converted to lithium carbonate followed by electrodialysis to make lithium hydroxide (Page 5). JP’950 in view of Ito does not disclose that the extraction residue is a lithium sulfate aqueous solution, and the nickel extraction step is followed by a hydroxylation step to obtain a lithium hydroxide aqueous solution from the lithium sulfate aqueous solution. Ariyoshi teaches a method of recovering metal from lithium-ion battery and discloses that producing lithium hydroxide from lithium sulfate by hydroxylation is beneficial in lowering production cost ([0017]; [0018]; [0030] to [0065]). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce lithium hydroxide from lithium sulfate by hydroxylation as taught by Ariyoshi in the process of JP’950 in view of Ito in order to lower production cost as disclosed by Ariyoshi.
JP’950 discloses that part of the lithium sulfate solution is used in forming lithium hydroxide and a reminder is used in the acid leaching step (Page 7, 1st to 6th paragraphs), which meets the limitation recited in claim 8.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’950 (JP 2020-132950) in view of Ito (US 2019/0106768), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 111519031; IDS dated 05/24/2024).
Regarding claim 11, JP’950 in view of Ito discloses using solvent extraction method to extract Co and Ni. JP’950 in view of Ito does not disclose that the cobalt extraction step and the nickel extraction step each comprise extracting metal ions in the metal-containing solution into a solvent and back-extracting the metal ions in the solvent with a sulfuric acid solution, and the cobalt extraction step and the nickel extraction step are each followed by a crystallization step to crystallize the metal ions in the back-extracted solution to obtain a sulfate. Zhang teaches a method of recovering metal from lithium-ion battery that is analogous to the method of JP’950 (Claim 1). Zhang discloses that that the cobalt extraction step and the nickel extraction step each comprise extracting metal ions in the metal-containing solution into a solvent and back-extracting the metal ions in the solvent with a sulfuric acid solution, and the cobalt extraction step and the nickel extraction step are each followed by a crystallization step to crystallize the metal ions in the back-extracted solution to obtain a sulfate and the method has improved production rate of nickel sulfate and cobalt sulfate (Abstract; Claim 1). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to extract Co and Ni in solvent with back-extracting the metal ions in the solvent with a sulfuric acid solution, and to crystallize the metal ions in the back-extracted solution as taught by Zhang in the process of JP’950 in view of Ito in order to improve the production rate of nickel sulfate and cobalt sulfate as disclosed by Zhang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733