DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's Remarks filed on April 24, 2026 has been entered. Any previous objection/ rejection not repeated herein has been withdrawn. New and/or modified grounds for rejection, necessitated by the amendments, are discussed.
Claim Interpretation
In the patentability analysis of system claims, aspects or limitations the examiner interprets as functional/process or not positively recited elements are generally italicized whereas aspects interpreted as structural components are normally bolded. The bold font and italics are shown when the structure and function are initially introduced though not necessarily repeated, particularly in dependent claims. Examiner applies this formatting for both the examiner and applicant’s convenience. However, absent the referenced typestyles, the patentability analysis will still be clear regarding which limitations the examiner interprets as structural versus functional.
The claims are apparatus/device/system claims requiring only the recited structural components, although structured with physical features that can perform the stated functions or the intended uses. Functional limitations state either an intended use or operation, a manner of operating a device/apparatus/system (i.e., process limitations), or what the device/apparatus/system does. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Of course, in the patentability analysis of these apparatus/system claims, functional/process features are not ignored and applicant can and should employ such language where appropriate and helpful. However, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, or if such apparatus can operate in the manner described, then it meets the claim limitation (MPEP §§ 2114, 2173.05(g)).
In summary, while features of an apparatus/system claim may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus or system must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Note: the examiner's referral to applicant's specification will generally pertain to the corresponding PG published application, if available, otherwise the original specification. The below patentability analysis provides one or more interpretations and claim mappings of the claimed structures and/or limitations although other interpretations may be possible. In the patentability analysis, the Office applies the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the specification. However, specific limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP §§2111, 2173.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 12-15, and 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lipkens et al., (US 2015/0252317; hereinafter “Lipkens”-already of record) in view of Greller et al., (US 2009/0275121; hereinafter “Greller”-already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Lipkens teaches bioreactor for cell culturing 100, the bioreactor comprising:
a container (corresponds to bag 102) having a base 112 and a compressible bellow side wall (corrugations 122; see Figs. 1-2 and para [0056] et seq.) defining an internal volume, and a lid (the bag is shaped to include one or more neck portions 118 with a closure (cuff no reference no. but shown and discloses Lipkens), wherein the base is moveable toward and away from the lid and the compressible bellows side wall compresses and extends at the base is moved relative to the lid via actuating member 104 operatively connected to the bottom side 112 of the bag 102 (see Figs 1-2 para [0061] et seq.) ; and
a baffle member (reads on agitator 124 used to circulate the liquid permeate 128 and cells 130 disposed within the interior volume 116 of the bag, one example is depicted as an impeller with a set of rotating blades extending parallel to the lid in Fig. 1, though any type of system that causes circulation is contemplated in Lipkens (which would include a baffle); see para [0059] et seq.) Lipkens teaches the agitator 124 can be simply connected to a jack on a side of the bag (para [0059] et seq., of Lipkens).
While the baffle connection between the lid or base of the container is not shown specifically in Lipkens, it logically follows attaching the rod of the agitator 124 to a sidewall with compressible bellows corrugations 122 would be more difficult than using a side of the container that does not move (i.e., lid) when compressed and expanded, as shown in Lipkens. Lipkens teaches that the corrugations 122 allow the bag 102 to collapse on itself and fold more easily, which would make it difficult to attach the agitator to the compressible bellows sidewall as the base is moved relative to the lid (see Fig. 2). However, should the attachment location of the baffle on the lid location be considered as not taught by Lipkens, then looking in the art of providing mixing in a bioreactor, it would have been obvious to modify the Lipkens bioreactor in the manner disclosed in the bioreactor of Greller.
Greller teaches a bioreactor, system and method comprising:
a container 1 having a base and a side wall defining an internal volume 6, and a lid (reads on cover part 7), wherein the base is moveable toward and away from the lid (the disposable bioreactor having flexible wall 5 which surrounds a reactor interior 6, see para [0024] et seq.) That is, the flexible walls of Greller include a flexible base wall which by being flexible the base wall would be capable of moving relative to the lid); and a baffle member 3/9/11 mounted to the lid 7 and positioned in the internal volume of the container and wherein the baffle member extends parallel to the lid (para [0024] et seq., of Greller recites, in this case, the mixer stem 2 penetrates a cover part 7 of the bioreactor 4, which cover part is arranged at the top in the vertical direction. The mixer stem 2 is sealed in relation to the cover part 7). Greller recognizes that bioreactor containers having flexible walls and mixing device arranged in the interior of the container at one end and led through the outside of the container wall into the interior of the container in a sealed manner are well known. Greller teaches these types of bioreactors have several disadvantages. That is, Greller teaches that it is known in bioreactor system like Lipkens that a fixed and sealed connection must be produced between container wall and mixer shaft. Greller recognizes this configuration is relatively complicated and costly and can constitute a weak point during use. For example, specific welding apparatus and molds have to be created, which makes fabrication more expensive. Greller recognizes this configuration also results in a cost effective way to introduce reciprocating and rotational movements to create additional vortices that considerably improve the mixing effect in the cell culture liquid in the bioreactor (see para [0004]-[0025] et seq.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to mount the jack with the attached baffle onto the Lipkens lid, as taught by Greller, since Greller recognizes the configuration is shown to create a tumbling movement, reciprocating movement and/or rotational component resulting in expected introduction of additional vortices into the movement of the liquid to be mixed in the bag which would improve the mixing effect (see para [0004]-[0025] et seq.)
Moreover, figuring out the optimum location of attachment of the mixing element to a side of a flexible bioreactor includes a finite number of identified and predictable solutions. One of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp, which is obvious as it does no more than yield predictable results, (see MPEP 2143). In this case, it would have been obvious to determine the most effective location to attach the baffle in Lipkens without having to penetrate any container wall in order to provide expected benefit of creating the desired amount of liquid circulation in the bioreactor without. Also determining the optimum location of the baffle would require the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, which is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04.
Lipkens is silent to the size of the baffle member relative to the cross-section area of the bioreactor container. However, the baffle member 124 in Lipkens appears to extend across at least 50 percent of the cross-sectional area of the container (see Fig. 1). Prior art drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2125 I). Moreover, the description of the baffle as pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art (see § MPEP 2125 II). As with the claimed device, the Lipkens baffle appears to extend across the cross-section relative to the longitudinal axis of the container to create mixing in the liquid when the bag is expended and contracted (Figs. 1-2, e.g., longitudinal movements, see para [0064] et seq.).
However, should the size of the baffle be considered not taught by Lipkens, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was effectivity filed determine the optimum length of the baffle relative to the cross-section of the Lipkens bioreactor since there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. The use of a baffle extending across at least 50 percent of the cross-sectional area of the container in Lipkens is obvious since it does no more than yield predictable results. (see MPEP 2143). The size of the baffle produces the predictable result of creating the desired amount of mixing/circulation inside the bioreactor. Also, the determination of the size of the baffle relative to the cross-section of the container would have been an obvious choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Lipkens teaches the baffle member 124 comprises a planar member extending across the internal volume of the container (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Lipkens teaches the baffle member 124 comprises a sloped surface arranged to face the lid (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Greller teaches the baffle member 3 comprises one or more holes or openings 10 for passage of fluid through the baffle member as the base is moved relative to the lid (see para [0024] et seq.).
Regarding claim 8, Greller teaches one or more of the holes or openings comprises an angled surface (reads on sloped conically tapered holes 10 in the baffle 3, see para [0024] et seq.).
Regarding claim 9, Greller teaches the baffle member comprises one or more ribs (conically tapered holes 10 in the baffle 3, see para [0024] et seq. which in between the holes 10 are ribs).
Regarding claim 10, Lipkens and Greller teach an outer edge of the baffle member 124 is circular (see the circular outer edge of the baffle in Fig. 1).
Claims 12-14, are directed to functional/process/intended use limitations. Nevertheless, the combination of Lipkens and Greller disclose the baffle member is movably (i.e., slidably and rotatably) along the longitudinal axis and mounted to the lid through an aperture (Greller-see para [0015] et seq.)
Regarding claim 15, Greller teaches a second baffle member 3, 3’ mounted to the lid (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Greller teaches a mounting portion attached to the lid and supporting the baffle member mounted (i.e., reads on seal provided the sealed relationship between the to the cover part 7 and the baffle member 2) see para [0024] et seq. and Figs. 1-2) and a fluid path (tube 11) formed in the baffle member and the mounting portion, the fluid path extending from an opening in the baffle member through the mounting portion and to an opening via tubes 14 on the external of the container for convey fluid into and/or out of the container (see para [0025] et seq.)
Regarding claim 18, Greller teaches the tube 11 (considered part of the baffle member) includes a gas-injection unit 15 has a porous structure which is suitable for filtering gas supplied via the lateral inlet 14 and arranged to filter fluid passing through the fluid path, see para [0042] et seq.
Regarding claims 19 and 25, Lipkens teaches, the bioreactor system and method of using a bioreactor for cell culturing 100 comprising:
a container (corresponds to bag 102) having a base 112 and a compressible bellow side wall (corrugations 122; see Figs. 1-2 and para [0056] et seq.) defining an internal volume, and a lid (the bag is shaped to include one or more neck portions 118 with a closure (cuff no reference no. but shown and discloses Lipkens), wherein the base is moveable toward and away from the lid and the compressible bellows side wall compresses and extends at the base is moved relative to the lid via actuating member 104 operatively connected to the bottom side 112 of the bag 102 (see Figs 1-2 para [0061] et seq.);
a baffle member (reads on agitator 124 used to circulate the liquid permeate 128 and cells 130 disposed within the interior volume 116 of the bag, one example is depicted as an impeller with a set of rotating blades extending parallel to the lid in Fig. 1, though any type of system that causes circulation is contemplated in Lipkens (which would include a baffle); see para [0059] et seq.) Lipkens teaches the agitator 124 can be made of a disposable material (e.g. plastic) which is sealed inside the bag and simply connected to a jack on a side of the bag (para [0059] et seq., of Lipkens); and
an agitator arranged to move the base of the bioreactor such that during the use of the baffle member mixes the contents of the bioreactor (Lipkens teaches at FIG. 2, upon rotation of the screw member 132, the threaded portion 138 moves the member body 140 longitudinally (i.e., in an up and down direction). This rotation can be induced at a distal end of the threaded portion 138, or where the head portion 136 rotates the threaded portion 138 by an electronic controller, see para [0064] et seq.
While the baffle connection between the lid or base of the container is not shown specifically in Lipkens, logically it would be difficult to attach the rod to the compressible bellows (corrugations 122) sidewall or the base since both are moved relative to the lid (see Fig. 2) and a sealed configuration would be difficult due to this movement. However, should the attachment location of the baffle on the lid location be considered not taught by Lipkens, then looking within the art of providing mixing in a bioreactor, it would have been obvious to modify the Lipkens bioreactor in the manner disclosed in bioreactor of cell culturing of Greller.
Greller teaches a bioreactor comprising:
a container 1 having a base and a side wall defining an internal volume 6, and a lid (reads on cover part 7), wherein the base is moveable toward and away from the lid (the disposable bioreactor having flexible wall 5 which surrounds a reactor interior 6, see para [0024] et seq.,. That is, the flexible walls of Greller include a flexible base wall which by being flexible the base wall would be capable of moving relative to the lid); and a baffle member 3/9/11 mounted to the lid 7 and positioned in the internal volume of the container and wherein the baffle member extends parallel to the lid (para [0024] et seq., of Greller recites, in this case, the mixer stem 2 penetrates a cover part 7 of the bioreactor 4, which cover part is arranged at the top in the vertical direction. The mixer stem 2 is sealed in relation to the cover part 7). Greller recognizes that the bioreactor containers having flexible walls which is formed as a flexible disposable container and has a mixing device for liquids located in flexible disposable containers, providing a mixing element formed as a mixing plate is arranged in the interior of the container at one end of a mixer shaft, which is led through the container wall and, outside the interior of the container is well known. Furthermore Greller teaches these known bioreactors in which the mixer shaft has to be led through the wall of the container in a sealed manner has several disadvantages. Greller teaches that to this end, a fixed, sealed connection must be produced between container wall and mixer shaft. This is relatively complicated and costly and can constitute a weak point during use. In addition, specific welding apparatus and molds have to be created, which make fabrication more expensive. Greller also teaches locating the mixing element on a lid as shown creates with a tumbling movement in addition to a reciprocating movement. It is also possible to act on the mixing element with a rotational component. Therefore, additional vortices can be introduced into the movement of the liquid to be mixed in the bag, which considerably improves the mixing effect (see para [0004]-[0025] et seq.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to mount the jack with the agitator onto the lid in Lipkens, as taught by Greller, since Greller recognizes that locating the mixing element on a lid as shown creates with a tumbling movement and reciprocating movement as well as possible a rotational component in the culture container that introduces additional vortices into the movement of the culture liquid in the bag, which considerably improves the mixing effect (see para [0004]-[0025] et seq.)
Moreover, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions and a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp is obvious since it does no more than yield predictable results. (see MPEP 2143). In this case, it would have been obvious to determine the most effective location to attach the baffle on the container in Lipkens for the expected benefit of creating the desired amount of liquid circulation in the bioreactor. Determining the optimum location to attach the baffle in Lipkens is merely a rearrangement of parts and without any new or unexpected results, within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04.
Lipkens is silent to the size of the baffle member relative to the cross-section area of the bioreactor container however it is noted that the baffle member 124 in Lipkens appears to extend across at least 50 percent of the cross-sectional area of the container (see Fig. 1), the prior art drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2125 I). Moreover, the description of the baffle as pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art (see § MPEP 2125 II). As with the claimed device, the Lipkens baffle would necessarily create mixing in the liquid along the longitudinal axis when the bag is expended and contracted (Figs. 1-2, e.g., longitudinal movements, see para [0064] et seq.).
However, should the size of the baffle be considered not taught by Lipkens, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was effectivity filed determine the optimum length of the baffle in the bioreactor of Lipkens such that the baffle extends across at least 50 percent of the cross-sectional area of the container, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within the skilled person’s technical grasp. The use of a baffle extending across at least 50 percent of the cross-sectional area of the container in Lipkens is obvious since it does no more than yield predictable results of more efficient mixing therein (see MPEP 2143). The size of the baffle produces the predictable result of creating the desired amount of mixing/circulation inside the bioreactor. Also, the determination of the size of the baffle relative to the cross-section of the container would have been an obvious choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP 2144.04.
Note: claims 20-24, 26 and 27 are apparatus type claims. For the reasons delineated above these functional/process/intended use recitations do not further limit the structure of the bioreactor system. However, in a case in which these limitations are not considered functional/process/intended use language, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was effectively filed to determine in the combination of Lipkens the desired stroke length, frequency, angle, tilt of the base relative to the baffle member necessary to adequately suspend the cells so as to prevent adhesion of the cells to the inner surfaces of the container. The applicant is advised that the Supreme Court has clarified that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that “[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.” An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formal disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. See MPEP 2143.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipkens in view of Greller, as set forth above with respect to claim 15, and in further view of Mennenga et al., (US 2007/0253288; hereinafter “Mennenga”).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Lipkens and Greller teaches the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combination of Lipkens and Greller is silent to arranging the second baffle such that is not be parallel to the other baffle member or is angled with respect to the baffle member. In the related art of mixing a cell culture in a flexible bioreactor, Mennenga teaches at least two baffle members 5’’, 5’’ attached to the lid; see para [0042] et seq. and Fig. 8). Mennenga also teaches according to the exemplary embodiment of FIG. 7, two mixers 3''' arranged at right angles in relation to each other are arranged in the interior 2 of the container (see para [0046] et seq.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to have arranged the second baffle in the combination of Lipkens and Greller at an angle relative to the first baffle, as taught by Mennenga for the predictable result of providing the desired mixing inside the flexible container based on considerations such as desired mixing relative to the longitudinal size of the container.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 24, 2026 have been considered. In so much that applicant’s arguments apply to the instant rejections above, the examiner respectfully does not agree that applicant’s claim limitations are not obvious over the prior art of mixing a cell culture in a bioreactor. Applicant argues that Greller does not disclose a “base is movable toward and way from a lid” or “a compressible bellows side wall that compresses and extends as the base is movable toward and away from the lid”. However, as discussed above, the claimed elements are obvious considering the combination of Lipkens and Greller. Lipkens teaches the claimed features in which the base of a flexible container mixes the contents therein using a compressible bellows side wall and an attached baffle. Lipkens recognizes that using a compressible bellows in a bioreactor allows the flexible container wall to easily collapse on itself to provide enhanced longitudinal mixing.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include:
Morrissey et al., (US 2012/0027324) teach a closed bag having a disposable mixing element within it, a drive mechanism outside of the bag for rotating the mixing element without voiding sterility and a vortex breaker in the form of one or more plastic sheet materials that are attached to various inner surfaces of the bag which disrupt the formation of vortices within the bag. Preferably the sheet materials are formed of the same material as the bag and are sealed to the bag surfaces. More preferably, the sheet(s) extend across a diameter of the bag. Most preferably, the sheet(s) are perforated with one or more slits or openings to allow for good flow and mixing without a vortex being formed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/P. Kathryn Wright/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798