DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings submitted with the present application fail to include Figures 5-7. Applicant should submit drawings from the original application which include Figures 5-7. For purposes of examination, the figures from the Certified Copy of the Foreign Priority Application were used for reference.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4, the recitation “front site” appears it should read –front side--.
Claim 4, line 4, the recitation “front site” appears it should read –front side--.
Claim 5, line 1, the recitation “according to claim 5” appears it should read –according to claim 4--.
Claim 7, line 4, the recitation “front site” appears it should read –front side--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 4, 8, 10, the recitation “plate like” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how “plate like” is being defined. What does the phrase “plate like” encapsulate?
The rejections above also applied to all mentions of “plate like” in claims 2, 4, 5, and 7.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “the two bars” renders the claim indefinite since claim 1 from which claim 3 depends recites “horizontal bars” but never defines “two” bars.
Regarding claim 3, lines 3-4, the recitation “the concerning corner” renders the claim indefinite since a corner of the panels were not previously recited, therefore the claim lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the outer surface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/102452 A1 to Stassen in view of US 2013/0037082 A1 to Grant.
Regarding claim 1, Stassen discloses a system (Fig.1) comprising a rectangular panel (10, 11, Fig.3, 4) being installed against the outer surface of a building (inclined roof; Page 7, lines 4-5), wherein oblong support elements (4) are attached against said outer surface and wherein said support elements are provided with horizontal bars (8, 9), wherein said panel comprises a rectangular plate like portion (10, 11) at its front site and comprises along two opposite edges of said plate like portion a backwards directed portion (14; Page 7, lines 16-18), wherein each backwards directed portion is provided with a first recess (recess in connection member 12) and a second recess (recess in connection member 13), wherein each recess engages one of said horizontal bars (12 engages 8; 13 engages 9) and wherein at least a part of each first recess extend in a direction parallel with respect to said rectangular plate like portion (recess of 12), characterized in that the bars engaged by said second recess are provided with two locking members (17) being rotatable around that bar between a locking position (Fig.4) wherein the panel cannot move in the direction perpendicular with respect to the bar (Fig.4) and an unlocked position wherein the panel can move away from the bar (Page 8, lines 31-36).
Stassen does not disclose wherein each second recess extends in a direction perpendicular with respect to said rectangular plate like portion.
Grant discloses providing second recesses (9, Fig.6) of a rectangular panel (2) that extend in a direction perpendicular with respect to said rectangular plate like portion (recess 9 extends perpendicular to 2, Fig.6) in connection with a rotatable locking member (18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the second recesses of the panels of Stassen in a perpendicular orientation to the panels as taught by Grant so to allow the panels to be installed by insertion of the first groove, and rotation and locking of the bars within the second recesses, thereby only needing to prevent movement of the bar and second recess in a single direction, making the locking more secure.
Regarding claim 2, Stassen discloses wherein said panel comprise a rectangular plate like element (10, 11) at the frontside of the panel and each backwards directed portion is an oblong holder member (14) attached against the back side of said plate like element (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 4, Stassen discloses a rectangular panel (10, 11) to be installed against oblong support elements (4) being attached to the outer surface of a building (inclined roof), wherein said support elements are provided with horizontal bars (8, 9), and wherein said panel comprises a rectangular plate like portion (10, 11) at its front site and comprises along two opposite edges of said plate like portion a backwards directed portion (14; Page 7, lines 16-18), wherein each backwards directed portion is provided with a first recess (recess in connection member 12) and a second recess (recess in connection member 13), wherein each recess can engage one of said horizontal bars (12 engages 8; 13 engages 9; Fig.4), wherein at least a part of each first recess extend in a direction parallel with respect to said rectangular plate like portion (recess 12, Fig.4), characterized in that the bars engaged by said second recess are provided with two locking members (17) being rotatable around that bar between a locking position wherein the panel cannot move in the direction perpendicular with respect to the bar (Fig.4) and an unlocked position wherein the panel can move away from the bar (Page 8, lines 31-36).
Stassen does not disclose wherein each second recess extends in a direction perpendicular with respect to said rectangular plate like portion.
Grant discloses providing second recesses (9, Fig.6) of a rectangular panel (2) that extend in a direction perpendicular with respect to said rectangular plate like portion (recess 9 extends perpendicular to 2, Fig.6) in connection with a rotatable locking member (18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the second recesses of the panels of Stassen in a perpendicular orientation to the panels as taught by Grant so to allow the panels to be installed by insertion of the first groove, and rotation and locking of the bars within the second recesses, thereby only needing to prevent movement of the bar and second recess in a single direction, making the locking more secure.
Regarding claim 5, Stassen discloses wherein said plate like portion is a rectangular plate like element (10, 11) at the frontside of the panel and each backwards directed portion is an oblong holder member attached against the back side of said plate like element (14).
Regarding claim 6, Stassen discloses wherein the panel is a solar panel provided with photovoltaic cells (Page 6, lines 33-36).
Regarding claim 7, Stassen discloses a method for installing a rectangular panel (10, 11) against the outer surface of a building (inclined roof), whereby oblong support elements (4) being provided with bars (8, 9) in transverse direction are attached against said outer surface so that said bars are horizontal directed (Fig. 1 and 3), whereby said panel (10, 11) comprises a rectangular plate like portion at its front site (Fig.4) and comprises along two opposite edges of said plate like portion a backwards directed portion (14; Page 7, lines 16-18), whereby each backwards directed portion is provided with a first recess (recess of 12, Fig.4) and a second recess (recess of 13), whereby each recess engages one of said horizontal bars (12 engages 8; 13 engages 9), whereby at least a part of each first recess extend in a direction parallel with respect to said rectangular plate like portion (recess 12), characterized in that a locking member (17) is rotated around one of the bars in such way that said bar cannot remove from said second recess (Fig.4).
Stassen does not disclose wherein each second recess extends in a direction perpendicular with respect to said rectangular plate like portion.
Grant discloses providing second recesses (9, Fig.6) of a rectangular panel (2) that extend in a direction perpendicular with respect to said rectangular plate like portion (recess 9 extends perpendicular to 2, Fig.6) in connection with a rotatable locking member (18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the second recesses of the panels of Stassen in a perpendicular orientation to the panels as taught by Grant so to allow the panels to be installed by insertion of the first groove, and rotation and locking of the bars within the second recesses, thereby only needing to prevent movement of the bar and second recess in a single direction, making the locking more secure.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/102452 A1 to Stassen in view of US 2013/0037082 A1 to Grant in view of EP 2 309 072 A1 to Parpinelli.
Regarding claim 3, Stassen does not disclose wherein one of the two bars engaged by said second recess is provided with a fixation member being fixed to that bar, in such way that the concerning corner of the panel cannot move in a direction parallel with the bar.
Parpinelli discloses one of the two bars (bar of 12, Fig.1) engaged by a recess is provided with a fixation member (68) being fixed to that bar, in such way that the concerning corner of the panel cannot move in a direction parallel with the bar (Paragraph [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the horizontal bar of Stassen with a fixation member as taught by Parpinelli so to provide control and stability in directions both parallel to the bar and perpendicular to the bar, thereby ensuring the panels stay in the desired position.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635