DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okubo (EP 2263639 A2, Dec. 22, 2010) (hereinafter Okubo) in view of Kaida et al., (EP 2742930 A1, June 18, 2014) (hereinafter Kaida) and Kaizu et al., (US 2014/0194522 A1, July 10, 2014) (hereinafter Kaizu).
Okubo discloses a water-in-oil emulsified cosmetic comprising components (A) to (E).
(A) an oil that is a liquid at 25°C, (B) an oil that is a solid at 25°C, (C) a hydrophobic powder, (D) a surfactant having an HLB of no greater than 8, and (E) water (Claim 1). Component (B) is a ceramide such as N-(hexadecyloxyhydroxypropyl)-N-hydroxyethylhexadecanamide (i.e., an oil component having a melting point of from 50 to 150°C) ([0023]). From the viewpoint of controlling the liquid properties of a cosmetic and improving stability, the content of component (B) is 0.5 to 15 wt% in the water-in-oil emulsified cosmetic ([0026]). Component (A) is an oil that is normally used in a cosmetic, may be used singly or in a combination of two or more types and among them, a hydrocarbon oil and a silicone oil are preferable ([0013]). From the viewpoint of enhancing the dispersibility of a powder or a solid fat, component (A) is contained at 10 to 50 wt% in the water-in-oil emulsified cosmetic ([0014]). Component (D) is PEG-12 Dimethicone (i.e., a non-ionic silicone-based surfactant having a hydrophilic-lipophilic balance (HLB) of from 1 to 7) ([0036]).
Okubo differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises octamethyltrisiloxane.
However, Kaida discloses an emulsified cosmetic comprising volatile silicone oils (Abstract). The volatile silicone oil used may be any of those generally used for cosmetics, such as octamethyltrisiloxane ([0025]). The emulsion system of the emulsified cosmetic for eyebrows and eyelashes of the present invention can be selected from the W/O type ([0031]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Okubo discloses wherein the composition comprises a silicone oil. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated octamethyltrisiloxane into the composition of Okubo since it is a known and effective silicone oil for cosmetics as taught by Kaida.
The combined teachings of Okubo and Kaida do not disclose wherein the composition comprises an α-olefin oligomer.
However, Kaizu discloses an emulsion composition stably containing a ceramide, having an excellent moisturizing effect ([0014]). The emulsion composition may further comprise an oil including hydrocarbon oils such hydrogenated polydecene (i.e., an α-olefin oligomer) ([0056]). The emulsion composition is a cosmetic emulsion ([0070]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Okubo discloses wherein the composition comprises hydrocarbon oils. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated hydrogenated polydecene (i.e., an a-olefin oligomer) into the composition of Okubo since it is a known and effective hydrocarbon oil for cosmetics as taught by Kaizu.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, the composition of Okubo comprises N-(hexadecyloxyhydroxypropyl)-N-hydroxyethylhexadecanamide (i.e., Component (A)) in 0.5 to 15 wt% and a hydrocarbon oil at 10 to 50 wt% and Kaizu teaches hydrogenated polydecene (i.e., Component C)) is a known and effective hydrocarbon oil. Thus, the claimed ratio would have been obvious since after selecting an amount of N-(hexadecyloxyhydroxypropyl)-N-hydroxyethylhexadecanamide (i.e., Component (A)) and an amount of hydrogenated polydecene (i.e., Component (C)) one would have arrived at a mass ratio of the component (A) to the component (C), (A)/(C), that overlaps with the claimed ratio of from 0.1 to 10. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, the composition of Okubo comprises N-(hexadecyloxyhydroxypropyl)-N-hydroxyethylhexadecanamide (i.e., Component (A)) in 0.5 to 15 wt% and a silicone oil at 10 to 50 wt% and Kaida teaches octamethyltrisiloxane (i.e., Component (B)) is a known and effective silicone oil. Thus, the claimed ratio would have been obvious since after selecting an amount of N-(hexadecyloxyhydroxypropyl)-N-hydroxyethylhexadecanamide (i.e., Component (A)) and an amount of octamethyltrisiloxane (i.e., Component (B)) one would have arrived at a mass ratio of the component (A) to the component (B), (A)/(B), that overlaps with the claimed ratio of from 0.1 to 10. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 are rejected.
No claims are allowable.
/S.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614