DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 06/03/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the proposed example of 10% silicone resin film forming agent (A) and 5% polysilicone polymer (B) does not exist in Allard et al. This is not found persuasive because Allard et al. disclose about 0.5 to about 60% silicone resin film forming agent and 0.1-80% polysilicone polymer, thus 10% silicone resin film forming agent and 5% polysilicone polymer is within the scope of the teachings of Allard et al.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allard et al. (US 2009/0074702, Mar. 19, 2009) (hereinafter Allard) in view of Pike (GB 2,105,754 A, Mar. 30, 1983), as evidenced by Nishizawa et al. (US 2006/0123564, Jun. 15, 2006) (hereinafter Nishizawa).
Allard discloses a method of preserving (i.e., treating) artificial color on keratin materials comprising applying to artificially colored keratin materials a composition containing at least one silicone film forming resin (i.e., component (A)) and at least one polysilicone polymer (i.e., component (B)) (abstract). Keratin material includes hair (¶ [0015]). The at least one silicone resin filing forming agent is present in an amount ranging from about 0.5% to about 60% (¶ [0163]). The silicone film former may be a polymethylsilsesquioxane film former. The polymethylsilsesquioxane film former is a polymer comprising polymerized repeating units of CH3SiO3/2 (T units) (i.e., component (A1)) (¶ [0158]). Suitable polysilicone polymers include polysiloxane liquids (¶ [0165]). Suitable polysiloxane liquids include dimethiconol (¶ [0166]). The polysiloxane liquids typically have a viscosity ranging from 200 to about 450,000 centipoise at 25°C (¶ [0168]). The polysilicone polymers are present in an amount of 0.1-80 percent by weight (¶ [0331]). The composition may be in any form, such as a solid (i.e., dry state) (¶ [0029]).
Allard differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the method is for the keratin material of a head decoration product.
However, Pike discloses a composition for use in the dyeing of keratinous fibres, particularly human hair (abstract). The composition is applicable to wigs and hair pieces made from human hair (page 1, lines 38-40).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the method of Allard on the keratin material for a head decoration product since the method would applicable since the method preserves artificial color on keratin materials and head decoration products, such as wigs, were known in the art to be made of dyed human hair (i.e.., keratin material) as taught by Pike.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting wherein a mass content of the component (A) to a total mass content of the component (A) and the component (B) [(A)/{(A)+(B)}] is 10% or more, this limitation would have been obvious from Allard disclosing about 0.5% to about 60% silicone film forming resin (i.e., component (A)) and 0.1-80 polysilicone polymer (i.e., component (B)) and deriving at a mass content of component (A) to a total mass content of the component (A) and the component (B) that overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A. In regards to instant claim 1 reciting an organopolysiloxane having a degree of polymerization of 100 or more, as evidenced by Nishizawa, dimethiconol has a degree of polymerization of 1000 or greater (¶ [0012]).
In regards to instant claim 3 reciting wherein component (B) has a viscosity at 25°C of 120 mm2/s or more and 100,000,000 mm2/s or less, Allard discloses wherein the polysiloxane liquids may have a viscosity ranging from 200 to about 450,000 centipoise. Thus, assuming a viscosity of 5,000 centipoise, dimethiconol would have a kinematic viscosity of 5,225 mm2/s (5000 (dynamic viscosity)/0.957 (specific gravity) = 5,225).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application Nos. 17/999,905 and 18/872,603 (reference applications) in view of Allard et al. (US 2009/0074702, Mar. 19, 2009) (hereinafter Allard) and Pike (GB 2,105,754 A, Mar. 30, 1983).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as reciting a method for treating an artificially colored or decolored keratin substance or fiber for a head decoration product. However, Allard discloses a method of preserving (i.e., treating) artificial color on keratin materials comprising applying to artificially colored keratin materials a composition containing at least one silicone film forming resin (i.e., component (A)) and at least one polysilicone polymer (i.e., component (B)) (abstract). Suitable polysilicone polymers include polysiloxane liquids (¶ [0165]). Suitable polysiloxane liquids include dimethiconol (¶ [0166]). The at least one silicone resin filing forming agent is present in an amount ranging from about 0.5% to about 60% (¶ [0163]). The polysilicone polymers are present in an amount of 0.1-80 percent by weight (¶ [0331]). Pike discloses a composition for use in the dyeing of keratinous fibres, particularly human hair (abstract). The composition is applicable to wigs and hair pieces made from human hair (page 1, lines 38-40).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have used the copending claimed composition in a method for treating an artificially colored or decolored keratin substance or fiber for a head decoration product since the copending claims recite a composition comprising a silicone film forming agent and an organopolysiloxane and such ingredients are used for preserving (i.e., treating) artificial color on keratin materials as taught by Allard. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the method on the keratin material for a head decoration product since the method preserves artificial color on keratin materials and head decoration products, such as wigs, were known in the art to made of dyed human hair (i.e.., keratin material) as taught by Pike.
In regards to the claimed mass content of component (A) to a total mass content of component (A) and component (B) [(A)/{(A)+(B)}] of 10% or more, this limitation would have been obvious from Allard disclosing about 0.5% to about 60% silicone film forming resin (i.e., component (A)) and 0.1-80 polysilicone polymer (i.e., component (B)) and deriving at a mass content of component (A) to a total mass content of the component (A) and the component (B) that overlaps with the claimed range.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 12,144,883 and 12,064,505 in view of Allard et al. (US 2009/0074702, Mar. 19, 2009) (hereinafter Allard) and Pike (GB 2,105,754 A, Mar. 30, 1983).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as reciting a method for treating an artificially colored or decolored keratin substance or fiber for a head decoration product. However, Allard discloses a method of preserving (i.e., treating) artificial color on keratin materials comprising applying to artificially colored keratin materials a composition containing at least one silicone film forming resin (i.e., component (A)) and at least one polysilicone polymer (i.e., component (B)) (abstract). Suitable polysilicone polymers include polysiloxane liquids (¶ [0165]). Suitable polysiloxane liquids include dimethiconol (¶ [0166]). The at least one silicone resin filing forming agent is present in an amount ranging from about 0.5% to about 60% (¶ [0163]). The polysilicone polymers are present in an amount of 0.1-80 percent by weight (¶ [0331]). Pike discloses a composition for use in the dyeing of keratinous fibres, particularly human hair (abstract). The composition is applicable to wigs and hair pieces made from human hair (page 1, lines 38-40).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have used the copending claimed composition in a method for treating an artificially colored or decolored keratin substance or fiber for a head decoration product since the copending claims recite a composition comprising a silicone film forming agent and an organopolysiloxane and such ingredients are used for preserving (i.e., treating) artificial color on keratin materials as taught by Allard. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the method on the keratin material for a head decoration product since the method preserves artificial color on keratin materials and head decoration products, such as wigs, were known in the art to made of dyed human hair (i.e.., keratin material) as taught by Pike.
In regards to the claimed mass content of component (A) to a total mass content of component (A) and component (B) [(A)/{(A)+(B)}] of 10% or more, this limitation would have been obvious from Allard disclosing about 0.5% to about 60% silicone film forming resin (i.e., component (A)) and 0.1-80 polysilicone polymer (i.e., component (B)) and deriving at a mass content of component (A) to a total mass content of the component (A) and the component (B) that overlaps with the claimed range.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 are rejected.
Claim 6 is withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614