DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-11, 14, 16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perez (US Patent No. 4,822,685).
Regarding claim 1, Perez teaches an example formulation for a basecoat composition for a multilayered article, which exhibits improved characteristics versus a comparative formulation (col. 18-19, Example IX) wherein said inventive basecoat composition contains a pigment paste containing a neutralized phosphatized epoxy resin, ethylene glycol monohexyl ether, aluminum pigment, water, and an aqueous acrylic resin (col. 18, lines 16-25). The pigment paste reads on the claimed limitation requiring a “waterborne” formulation because the instant specification indicates that “waterborne” described a composition wherein at least 50% of the solvent(s) is/are water (c.f. Instant Specification at [0014]). In this pigment paste, the solvents include 30 parts of water and 20 parts of ethylene glycol monohexyl ether -- equivalent to 60% water. The composition reads on the claimed “aluminum formulation” because it contains aluminum pigment (powder), a passivation agent which is the neutralized phosphatized epoxy resin, and an acrylic resin.
Regarding claim 2, the paste taught by Perez, above, does not contain a crosslinking material nor does it contain a crosslinking agent; therefore, the paste reads on the claimed limitation requiring that the formulation is not curable.
Regarding claim 3, The aqueous acrylic resin within the aforementioned formulation is indicated as having a total solids content of 26.83 percent (col. 20, lines 1-3). The paste contains 143.3 parts by mass in total, and contains a total of 93.3 parts by mass of solids (7.4 parts of the neutralized phosphatized epoxy resin, 30.8 parts of aluminum pigment, and 55.1 x 0.2683 = 14.78 parts of acrylic resin solids), equivalent to an overall solids content of about 36.99%, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of “≥22 wt%.”
Regarding claim 5, as described above, the paste taught by Perez contains 143.3 parts by mass in total, 30.8 parts of which is aluminum pigment. This is equivalent to about 21.5 wt% of aluminum pigment, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of “> 6 wt%.”
Regarding claim 10, as described above, Perez teaches the incorporation of a neutralized phosphatized epoxy resin within the pigment paste (col. 19, lines 5-25), which reads on the claimed “phosphate modified passivation agent” because Perez specifically teaches that phosphate acrylic polymers prepared by reacting phosphoric acid with an epoxy-functional acrylic polymer is added as an antigassing (i.e., passivation) additive (col. 9, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, Perez teaches the use of an aluminum pigment in the composition described above and does not require any form of surface modification present on the aluminum powder prior to addition to the aluminum pigment paste (col. 19, lines 5-25), which reads on the claimed limitation requiring that the aluminum powder is not surface modified.
Regarding claim 14, Perez is silent with regard to the claimed VOC characteristic; nevertheless, Perez teaches an aluminum paste having the same composition as claimed, which meets the definition of waterborne contemplated by the instant Specification (c.f. the rejection of claim 1, above) which imposes a practical limitation on the amount of volatile organic compounds within the composition. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed VOC characteristic will therefore necessarily be present in Perez as applied above.
Regarding claim 16, Perez teaches that the aluminum paste is produced by premixing the neutralized phosphatized epoxy resin and ethylene glycol monohexyl ether, followed by the addition of the aluminum pigment, mixing until the pigment is well wetted, and then finally adding water and the aqueous acrylic resin which had together been premixed (col. 19, lines 63-67). The premixing of the phosphatized epoxy resin and ethylene glycol monohexyl ether, followed by the addition and mixing of aluminum powder reads on the claimed step “(1),” while the premixing of water and the acrylic resin reads on the claimed step “(2).” Finally, the incorporation of the water/acrylic premix to the aluminum premix reads on the claimed step “(3).”
Regarding claim 21, Perez teaches the formation of a basecoating composition using the aforementioned pigment paste (e.g., col. 19, lines 5-15 described a basecoating formulation containing the said pigment paste).
Regarding claim 22, the basecoating composition described in the rejection of claim 21, above, contains at 50:50 addition of ethylene glycol monohexyl ether and water, alongside waterborne/aqueous components. The overall water content of the basecoating composition therefore comprises more water than ethylene glycol monohexyl ether (the organic solvent), which meets the claimed limitation requiring a “waterborne” composition because the instant Specification states that “waterborne” compositions are meant to refer to those wherein at least 50% of the solvent is water (c.f. instant Specification at [0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US Patent No. 4,822,685) in view of Jakubauskas (US Patent No. 3,980,602).
Regarding claim 4, Perez teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Perez differs from claim 1 because it is silent with regard to the claimed ratio of aluminum powder to acrylic resin.
In the same field of endeavor, Jakubauskas teaches an acrylic polymer dispersant useful for preparing pigment dispersions utilized in aqueous coating compositions (Abstract), wherein the polymer dispersant is particularly useful for forming stable dispersions of aluminum flake (col. 2, lines 65-67). Jakubauskas teaches that the weight ratio of pigment to acrylic polymer dispersant in the dispersion may range from 1:100 to about 100:1 (col. 2, lines 60-64).
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the acrylic polymer dispersant of Jakubauskas into the formulation of Perez (described above), alongside the aluminum pigment therein, in a ratio range of 1:100 to 100:1, as Jakubauskas teaches said ratio as suitable for stabilized aqueous dispersions containing an acrylic dispersion aid and aluminum pigment. In so doing, the composition of Perez as modified by Jakubauskas would contain the same range of 1:100 to 100:1, which overlaps the claimed ratio of “≥ 2,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claims 7-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US Patent No. 4,822,685) in view of Taylor (US Patent No. 8,008,405 B2).
Regarding claims 7-8, Perez teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Perez differs from claim 1 because, while Perez teaches the use of an acrylic resin within the example formulation, Perez is silent with regard to the particularly claimed combination of monomers.
In the same field of endeavor, Taylor teaches coating compositions containing diluent media, a film-forming polymer, and at least one metal pigment particle treated with a passivating material (col. 2, lines 32-35), wherein the coating composition may be a basecoat formulation (col. 1, lines 27-35), which may be formed from an aluminum paste and the remaining ingredients (e.g., col. 7, lines 54-62). Taylor exemplifies the film forming polymer as an acrylic dispersion formed from inter alia butyl acrylate, methacrylic acid, methyl methacrylate, hydroxyethyl acrylate, hydroxyethyl methacrylate, and ethylene glycol dimethacrylate (col. 16, Polymer Example 12 – col. 17, Table 7). Taylor specifically teaches the use of this polymer in basecoatings which comprise aluminum paste (c.f. col. 21, Basecoat Examples BC11 to BC13 – col. 22, Table 13). Furthermore, it is prima facie obvious to select any order of mixing (MPEP 2144.04.IV.C.), and therefore it would have been obvious to incorporate the acrylic resin taught by Taylor into a pigment paste (as Perez indicates) as opposed to adding it to the formulation separately therefrom. Finally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (See MPEP 2144.06). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the acrylic resin of Taylor in place of the acrylic resin of Perez, within the aluminum paste of Perez, as Taylor teaches said polymer is suitable for substantially similar basecoat formulations. Perez and Taylor both contemplate the usage of these basecoats for automotive applications (c.f. Perez col. 1, lines 22-25 and Taylor col. 1, lines 24-26).
The acrylic resin of Taylor contains the aforementioned monomers in the following amounts:
Butyl acrylate – 213 grams in total
Methacrylic acid – 34.6 grams in total
Methyl methacrylate – 595.9 grams in total
Hydroxyethyl acrylate – 6.9 grams
Hydroxyethyl methacrylate – 40.2 grams
Ethylene glycol dimethacrylate – 34.5 grams
“Monomer I” is therefore included in the acrylic resin of Taylor in an amount of 213 grams; “Monomer II” (methacrylic acid and methyl methacrylate) is included in a total amount of 630.5 grams; the “functional monomer” (hydroxyethyl acrylate, hydroxyethyl methacrylate, and ethylene glycol dimethacrylate) is included in a total amount of 81.6 grams.
The claim requires each of the aforementioned monomer categories in amounts based on ranges of “parts;” however the term “parts” is a generic term which is not specifically limited in terms of mass, volume, or any other particular quantity – thus, the term “parts” serves to indicate the relative ranges of each component but does not specify a scale thereof (further, the claim does not establish a value by which the parts are described relative to).
The ranges taught by Taylor overlap and therefore anticipate the claimed ranges when the term “part” is equivalent to a range of about 8.16 – 12.61 grams.
The aluminum paste formulation of Perez which contains the acrylic polymer of Taylor meets all of the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 9, Taylor is silent regarding the claimed hydroxyl number, acid number, and glass transition characteristics. Nevertheless, Taylor teaches a polymer which is structurally identical to the claimed polymer, containing all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts (including the compositional ranges of claim 7 and all of the particular monomers of claim 8). Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed hydroxyl number, acid number, and glass transition characteristics will therefore necessarily be present in the acrylic polymer of Taylor, as applied above.
Regarding claim 12, as described in the rejection of claims 7-8 above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the acrylic polymer of Taylor within the aluminum paste composition of Perez. The acrylic polymer of Taylor additionally includes surfactant (dioctylsulfosuccinate), and does not describe the removal thereof in the preparation of said polymer (c.f. col. 16, line 65 – col. 17, line 54). The pigment paste formulation of Perez as modified by Taylor will therefore include a surfactant alongside the acrylic polymer.
Claims 6 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US Patent No. 4,822,685).
Regarding claim 6, Perez teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. As described in the rejection of claim 5 above, the aluminum content of the pigment paste is about 21.5 wt%. Given that the pigment paste is included at 143.3 parts within the basecoating composition (c.f. col. 19, line 8), the basecoating composition of Perez therefore includes about 30.81 parts of aluminum. The overall composition contains 399.2 parts by mass (col. 19, lines 8-15), and therefore the aluminum content of the basecoat is approximately 7.7 wt%. This value falls below the claimed range of “8-16 wt%,” however Perez also specifically states that pigments are generally employed in amounts ranging from about 0.5 to 25 weight percent of the overall (aggregated) composition weight (col. 8, lines 44-46). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the aforementioned composition to have between 0.5 and 25 wt% of aluminum, which encompasses the claimed range of “8-16 wt%,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 23, Perez teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as described above. Furthermore, as described in the rejection of claim 5, above, the pigment paste of Perez contains about 21.5 wt% of aluminum pigment. Given that the pigment paste is included at 143.3 parts within the basecoating composition (c.f. col. 19, line 8), the basecoating composition of Perez therefore includes about 30.81 parts of aluminum. The overall composition contains 399.2 parts by mass (col. 19, lines 8-15), and therefore the aluminum content of the basecoat is approximately 7.7 wt%. This value falls above the claimed range of “<6 wt%,” however Perez also specifically states that pigments are generally employed in amounts ranging from about 0.5 to 25 weight percent of the overall (aggregated) composition weight (col. 8, lines 44-46). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the aforementioned composition to have between 0.5 and 25 wt% of aluminum, which overlaps the claimed range of “<6 wt%,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 24, Perez teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 as described above. Perez specifically teaches that aluminum-containing basecoats can be coated onto automotive surfaces to produce a desirable glossy and lustrous appearance (col. 1, lines 22-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to spray the formulation of Perez, which reads on the claimed formulation, onto an automotive part, for the purpose of achieving a desirable glossy and lustrous appearance thereon.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US Patent No. 4,822,685) in view of Gertzmann (US 2003/0094592 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Perez teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 as described above. Perez differs from claim 13 because it is silent with regard to the incorporation of a silicon-free wetting agent.
In the same field of endeavor, Gertzmann teaches an aqueous coating composition (abstract), comprising an acrylic emulsion polymer ([0029]) and a pigment (Abstract), which also includes additives such as wetting agents, wherein the preferred wetting agents are silicone-free ([0044]). Gertzmann exemplifies the use of Hydropalat 110 ([0084]), which is a silicone/silicon-free substrate wetting agent.
It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its art-recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP 2144.07), and Perez contemplates that the incorporation of additives is suitable for basecoat compositions (col. 8, lines 47-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the silicone-free wetting agents of Gertzmann, including Hydropalat 110, into the formulation of Perez as Gertzmann teaches the same as suitable for basecoating compositions.
The combined composition thereby meets all of the limitations of the claimed composition.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez (US Patent No. 4,822,685) in view of Tye (WO 01/25352).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Perez teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 16, as described above. Perez differs from claims 15 and 20 because it is silent with regard to the claimed Hegman fineness characteristic.
In the same field of endeavor, Tye teaches a method of dispersing a pigment, a pigment dispersion, and a coating composition comprising said pigment dispersion (Abstract), wherein the coating may specifically be a basecoat formulation (p. 12, line 26 – p. 13, line 2). The pigment may specifically be aluminum (p. 1, line 25) and acrylic resins may be included (p. 12, lines 3-5).
Tye teaches that the pigment desired to be dispersed is subject to grinding to assist dispersion (p. 6, lines 5-11) and exemplifies a Hegman grind of 8 (p. 14, lines 22-24).
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to grind the formulation(s) of Perez to a Hegman fineness of 8, as Tye teaches this fineness as suitable for substantially similar basecoating formulations containing aluminum and acrylic. This value falls within the claimed range of “7.0 or more,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
In so doing, the formulation of Perez as modified meets the claimed Heman fineness characteristic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to disclose the additional incorporation of water after mixing the components of the composition to bring the composition(s) to the claimed viscosity range.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762